Home > Reviews > Bounty Hunter

Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

Number of Reviews: 45
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.58
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

Compare to ▼

Pioneer 202

May 14, 2014
I have owned my Pioneer 202 for 3 years. It is so easy to use. In fact I found 23.00 in Gold Nuggets. Also found several coins. Before I bought the Pioneer 202, I purchased the Bounty Hunter Tracker IV, then I purchased the Bounty Hunter Lone Star, then I purchased the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202. Now my friends don't have to purchase a metal detector, they can use one of mine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
Howard from Plymouth, Michigan

10

The best there is

December 26, 2013
I've been dying to buy a metal detector so much that driving my wife up a wall about it paid off :-)she had gotten me the pioneer 202 after reading the reviews about it for me for Christmas. And all I can say is WOW.... Easy to use and let's be honest after I got my first hit I felt like a little kid I could not of jumped on the floor and fasrer and dug up a 1922 penny.

The pinpointer is a must have makes life just so much easier. Only thing left is to purchase a good quality set of headphones and a "nector" bag for all the goodies. This is the second time I'm writing a review about any product I have ever used guess I'm stubborn like that lol. I promise you will love this product good luck and happy hunting!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!     Durability 5 stars!     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
Joe P from Queens NY

20

Pioneer 202 worth the price

November 11, 2013
I bought a Pioneer 202 8 years ago. I remembered the ease of using it. Finding coins and the like was right on target. Anyways, I was in need of a chainsaw and traded a fellow co-worker who said he needed a metal detector. What I thought was a fair trade turned out to be not so. I kicked myself in the rump for trading that detector off. So here lately I was on EBay and saw one up for bid. I waited till the last minute to place a bid on this detector. Low and behold I won the bid and I am happy. I missed using the one I had. This one is not going anywhere.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!     Durability 4 stars     Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
Jack Throckmorton from New Martinsville, WV

23

Retired

September 07, 2012
I just took my BH Pioneer 202 out to Lake Mead to a spot where I had seen tourist throw change for years in hopes that the lakes power as a wishing well might shine it's light on them during their gaming outings. Now that the lake is so low due to the drought I have been able to walk out to the areas that was recipient to these coins.
Yesterday morning we were able to locate 14 silver dollars and over eight dollars in change. I'll be going back soon after my aching bones feel they can manage another 6 hours of action on the detector and digging through the thick goo and washing the targets. I love this 202 !

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Phil C from Las Vegas, NV

91

The Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

August 28, 2012
I have owned the Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 for over 4 years and I absolutely LOVE IT! For the money I don't believe it can be beat. I was given the unit as a Christmas present and found the "good stuff" on my very first outing, my yard! In fact I paid for it within 6 months of using it and that was just hitting school play grounds. I can't even begin to tell how many coins, rings, collector toy cars, necklaces and things I have found with it.
It is so easy to use, the auto ground balancing feature, auto notch, and control panel have everything you need at a glance.
Now I have a big problem (a good one to have too!) I am addicted to metal detecting!!! I can't stop thinking about it, I get this huge rush with every hit and 9 of 10 times it's going to be something good.
Yes, I won't lie about the trash. I have certainly dug up my share of beer tops, aluminum cans, bottle caps and so forth, but still the excitement of the tone hit and digging up something is always exilerating!
So do yourself a favor. If you are new to metal detecting get this detector. I promise you if you follow the video, read the manual, practice with it (just a little) you won't be disappointed. I have certainly never once been disappointed with my detector!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Hugh Joiner from Bowling Green, Ky

51

Great Detector for newbies

August 02, 2012
I've had this metal detector for about 6 months and I have been pleased so far. It's very good at finding coins and targets relatively close to the surface. Its easy to use and the more I work with it the better I become at determining what will be junk and what will be valuable before I dig it up. My house was built in the 1920s and I was pretty surprised at the number of coins (20+) I was easily able to find in my own small Chicago lot. Several pennies, quarters and dimes but oddly no nickels.

After a rainfall the depth detection seems to get a lot better, and I find more targets. The best find so far with the 202 was a set of 1880s brass baggage tags found near an old railroad bridge. If anyone is interested in metal detecting but unsure about making a big investment on a complicated machine, I would definitely recommend the 202. It comes with an instructional DVD that was very helpful.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Rob from Chicago, Illinois

80

Great detector

July 09, 2012
I bought this detector 8 years ago and found 1000s of coins. I also found around 200 silver coins, 2 gold rings, 5 silver rings. This detector holds its own with the built-in microprocessor. It also works great at the beach. The pioneer 202 is a great investment and a lot of fun. My buddy with a whites DFX can't believe how well this detector works.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Mike Keller from Everett,wa

151

First time user

June 02, 2012
I just used my BH 202 in my mom's back yard and found a 1944 penny, a sterling silver ring , a silver donkey figurine, some nails, scrap metal and of course a pull tab. All in all it went great and who would have thought I would find a silver ring in my mom's back yard. . . . :o)

Also when I dug up the ring I happened to find an indian arrow head as well, sometimes you just get lucky!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Ron from Elgin, il

203

New at detecting

May 03, 2012
Have a 202 and used it a few times but with no luck. I tried it at Sebastian Inlet Beach and found nada after 4 hours. . . Hope to try again on my day off with better luck with some of the tips I got from this site. Thanks and good luck.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Bruce Cannon from Florida

27

Educator

March 23, 2012
Bought the Pioneer 202 a couple of yrs ago. Tried it and was quite disappointed. Placed a gold ring in the grass and tried to locate it and detector didn't hit on it. Took it to the beach and only hit on ring tabs.

Overall Rating 1 star
Rudy Lopez from Texas

313



 
Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202 Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202