Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.57
Based on 49 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.71
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.86
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

Compare to ▼

Review of the 202

May 02, 2006
I have had this unit only a week but I feel that I will be happy with it. I have found money an old relic, and a toy airplane, at about 8 to 10 inches. The unit is very comfortable, fancy looking, and has good features that I think are important. I have to get used to it, and learn the characteristic's of the unit to realize its full potential. I think it is well worth the money, and I would rate it 4 to 5 stars.

Overall Rating 4 stars

110

Great Bang for the Buck

April 07, 2006
I bought my Pioneer 202 at Walmart for $198. This price included the detector, a digging trowel, a finds pouch and a VHS instructional tape. Really, everything you need to get started in metal detecting except two 9-volt batteries for the detector

The detector was easy to set up and in no time I was out and using the machine. The target ID using LED's make ID of your finds easy though it is not 100% accurate but it does give you a good starting point. The machine also reads out the depth of the target in inches to give you an idea of how deep you are going to have to dig to get your find. Both of these digital readouts were very useful in using the detector. The three tones also will give you an idea of what the machine has picked up. A low tone for iron, a middle tone for nickels and some trash items (pull-tabs) and a high tone for silver (dimes, quarters, etc). It has a three-level iron discrimination for hunting without detecting small iron trash such as nails and touch-pad selection along with variable discrimination controls to eliminate unwanted metals. It has notch and auto-notch to manually notch out (eliminate) specific unwanted targets in manual notch and in auto notch the machine will automatically eliminate common unwanted objects such as pull-tabs

You pinpoint on what your machine has found by using the ?X? method where you sweep side-to-side over the target then move and sweep over it from another direction, making an ?X? over the target. With a little practice this becomes easier and pretty accurate. I found that I got better every time I went out with the 202.

For the price, this machine is a pretty deep seeking unit. It will challenge machines costing much more on an equal basis. This will make a great detector to learn the hobby as it has a very easy learning curve. A great ?grab and go? detector but with enough features that allow adjustment as you grow in your skills that the machine can grow with you. Automatic ground balance will allow you to use the machine in all kinds of terrain and the 202 has enough features that it places no limit on your growth as a detectorist. Add to all this Bounty Hunter's excellent five-year warranty and you have a ?best-in-class? winner.

A great machine at a great price. Great to learn on as you start detecting but with enough features to grow with you as you grow in skill. I recommend the 202 highly. Five stars easily.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

471

My first detector....and very happy

February 23, 2006
I have been detecting for a year and have found 20 silver rings, 6 toe rings,4 earrings,a few necklaces all on local beaches in the summer. I have also found a dozen meteorite fragments about golf ball size. Other finds have been 100+ year old axe heads and various shipwreck materials on the beach of lake michigan. So far I am very happy with the 202 and will go to michigan U.P. this summer to look for gold nuggets around old tailing piles of old gold mines.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

290

Best for the money.

February 03, 2006
If you're looking for a detector for the best price that has the most features and excellent sensing capability, this is the one. I live in Biloxi, Ms, and have had excellent results around my home in the Back Bay area. Since Hurricane Katrina, I'm planning some organized grid searches closer to the beach. For coin, gold and relic searching, as stated above, this is the one.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

170

Best dam metal detector

October 06, 2005
i have fond a gold nugget the first day i used it and i fond rare coins and gold rings u have to git a bounty hunter pioneer 202 metal detector

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4510

Awesome

September 24, 2005
This detector does a great job. I just returned from the Outer Banks today, it worked great at the beach, contrary to some info I have read. I ran into one fellow detecting with a lower level detector, he wasn't having any luck.

We ran a test, burried a penny about 4 inches in the sand, if he caught it just right he could pick it up. My 202 would get a solid signal holding the base around 8 inches above the sand. I also ran into a veteran hunter of 20 years who stopped to talk for a while. He had what appeared to be a pretty fancy unit with pictures and numbers, the whole nine yards. He had found a sinker and some other piece of junk. He had seen me out earlier and was kind enough to give me a tip about sweeping the base closer to the sand. I didn't have the heart to tell him I had found almost 3 dollars in change, a little tonka toy, a Hot Wheels car, a childâᅵᅵs ring(junk), and few unidentifiable pieces of metal. I noticed I would get a lot of false readings in the wet sand, so I had to turn the sensitivity down low and the false readings disappeared. I never found anything in the wet sand, but I did bury a penny about 4 inches to test the low sensitivity setting. It picked up the coin, no problem. The guy with the expensive machine said he also got a ton of false readings in the wet sand which made me feel better about the 202. The deepest coin I found was a quarter about a foot deep, luckily I had my 11 year old nephew with me digging. I'm sure the more expensive models are better, especially for the very experienced hunter, but if you're looking for a great machine at a great price, the 202 is a winner. Happy Hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

651

Great buy

June 28, 2005
THIS WAS A FATHERS DAY GIFT FROM MY 4 KIDS. I MUST SAY THIS WAS AMAZING. I HAVE FOUND PENNIES LITTLE NAILS 6 INCHES DOWN, AND SO MUCH OTHER STUFF.THIS IS A GREAT MACHINE EASY TO USE , NEVER A FALSE READING.
LOVE IT

Overall Rating 5 stars!

171

Worth the money.

June 24, 2005
Excellent detector for the money. Dont believe the negative toy comments. I hunt with friends that have Tesoros , Whites , and Garrets. Every one of them want mine.... only because it performs great, and the ability to identify depth and probability of the target is very very accurate if you know the machine well. I find myself swinging over their holes constantly after they call me over for a check :)

Overall Rating 4 stars

400

PIONEER 202

June 11, 2005
Exelent Detector. I puchased the Pioneer 202 in april 2005. Solid performer. It finds it all.Relics/Coins/Jewlery/Gold/Cashe etc. Easy to learn.

I do hunt alot. My finds in the past 2 months Using the Pioneer 202 are both Quantity and Quality. Just take the time to learn this detector, But most of all get out there and start hunting. You will be happly Rewarded.

The pioneer 202 is not exspensive and worth every penny spent.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

794

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 202