Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300

Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.31
Based on 29 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.33
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300

Compare to ▼

Trureview.

September 05, 2014
I have had my " D33 " the older model, bought it for $99. For about 7 years. Even though the manual gb is a bit hinki in that as soon as you hit pinpoint your disc settings reset. However, the amount of treasure I found more than made up for it. Using the preset depth setting I pulled out a silver dime at 5in. A qtr at 7in. Using the 8in coil the dirt was almost clay. In hunting from may till end of oct, between the beaches and other places, I had free laundry and parking meter quarters for a long time.

The best investment I could have made. Soon I added a 4in and a 10.5 in coil. Over the years between I have found 9 gold rings, many gold earrings, sterling silver tl. Just under 4oz. Many silver coins, thousands in current coin. Bullets, war buttons. Once you truly learn this machine you won't be disappointed.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
85

Great little machine.

June 23, 2014
I bought this machine after my AT PRO died about 3 months ago and was too expensive to fix. I liked the idea of the four tones, pin point and target ID, the zap sounded interesting and all those features for a reasonable price.

I also had a Tracker IV so could swap coils especially the sniper. First hunt was good though I couldn't get the hang of the pin pointer or ground balance so just used the auto ground balance. I now love the ground balance and find I can tell the depth of the target with it as it sounds strangled when the target is deep. It took a bit of working out on the wet sand but I found that if I used one bar of discrimination only it worked fine.

It has found silver where both the Tracker and PRO had been before and the $2 coins are mounting up. I don't use the zap much but is because I am one of those that wonders what he is missing.
Battery life is reasonable with headphones. Depth seems good.

Cons... Battery compartment lid is fussy to fit back on and a bit light but I have yet to find a battery door I do like. It is not water proof. I am using this to get enough coin so I can get a diving or waterproof machine. Not a learners machine but easy to get the hang of if you have a little experience under your belt.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
52

Ground balance on bh3300

September 04, 2013
Once I set the ground balance knob it always goes back down, I tried taping it in place and it is bothersome, thats a downfall for this detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
73

Great Detector for any price

March 03, 2011
I have four other detectors along with the Bounty hunter 3300. I find myself using it more than any other detector. It is easy to swing and has a extremely accurate discrimination mode. The Ground balance work well and is quite easy to use when you get use to it. Battery life is good and the the display is easy to read. If I could only have one detector that cost under $500 this would be the one, and when you can find the 3300 for under $250 it becomes the best machine value on the market.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1038

BOUNTY HUNTER 3300 VS GARRETT ACE 250

February 08, 2011
I have a bounty hunter 3300 and a garrett ace 250.
The bounty hunter 3300 is way better and the garrett ace 250 don't even come close to the bounty hunter, the garrett is for sale because it is not being used because it gives me a headache every time i use it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

379

Great detector

October 30, 2010
This is a great detector for the money, it picks up almost anything even the smallest bits of metal that you can barely see, I have had trouble sorting objects from the soil because of their small size. I find it to be accurate and have had no false readings yet. All in all very happy with this device.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

402

What a great detector !

April 10, 2010
After useing a Garrett Ace 250 I bought the Discovery 3300. ( New model in all black 2010 )

After just a few hours with the Discovery 3300 I sold the Garrett. The Discovery has so much more to offer (Ground balance, VDI numbers).
The stability even with full sensitivity was perfect in the woods. Coins at up to 10 inches can be found. The depth meter on the screen tells right away how deep to dig on coins. Some really deep coins (+8 inches) show up as iron, but the depth meter told me to "dig that deep target".
It is sooo lightweight and fun to swing all day.

The pinpoint mode is sticky and can be used as a search non motion mode. Just retune by pressing the pinpoint buttom every minute.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

614

Bounty Hunter 3300

November 12, 2009
I bought one of these 4 years ago. To date, I have found over $400 worth of coins, not to mention jewlery...including some gold jewlery.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

263

Super Star For The Money!

March 13, 2008
This detector has been super for the money. I bought it new from Radio Shack to see how I would like detecting. The descrimination, pin-pointing and target identification are all very good. It does eat batteries if you don't use head-phones and the depth reading tends to be off by a little but overall it is a nice detector. So far, with it I have found an 1854 large cent, an 1897 barber dime (in great shape), a 38th infantry civil war button, a revolutionary war artillary button, an 1866 shield nickel, an 1867 shield nickel, an 1868 indian cent, an 1886 indian cent, an 1890 indian cent, an 1893 indian cent, (2) 1907 indian cents, an 1894 V Nickel, a 1920-D Mercury Dime, a 1962 dime, many wheat cents, musket balls,several "good for tokens", 14 rings, several bracelets and several thousand clad and common coins. This has been over 5 years of searching with this detector. The results that I have had with this detector have been better than the results I have had with more expensive machines. If you want a great machine to start out detecting, this one is a good choice.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

943

Nice features but lacking some in performance...

January 30, 2008
I bought mine some years back for about $100 when Radio-Shack was closing them out.

I was excited about getting a new machine with so many features for so little coin!

Quickly found some shortcomings that prompted me to sell:

Depth - Mediocre, used it side-by-side with an old Garrett Freedom Ace Plus (not a depth demon by any stretch) in the bark-chips... the FA+, an average at best depth machine, hit harder on every target.

Missed alot of test-plot targets that most of my other 11 machines hit just fine.

Target Separation: Poor. Testing with a nickel among nails and a dime/pulltabs showed inferior target separation to pretty much every other machine I tested it against... The Garretts beat it in aluminum junk and my Tesoros smoked it in iron.

This was the main reason I decided not to keep it. I can live with average depth, but I GOTS to have decent target separation. I don't want to be using a machine and worrying about what I've left behind! (When I tested the 3300 for target separation against other machines, I compared the machines with similar-sized coils).

Also, I found the TID numbers to bounce around too much... difficult to get a solid lock-in on targets. Felt like I was wasting alot of time on this.

Good-looking machine, decent balance/ergonomics, just not for me.

Overall Rating 2 stars

4230

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300