Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100

Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 24 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.00
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100

Compare to ▼

Batteries don't fit

February 11, 2017
I purchased the Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100 for my granddaughter. Unfortunately the 9v batteries don't fit at all.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Reply to jack in florida

April 03, 2015
TO: "You get what you pay for" Jack in Florida... Well, sir, I beg to differ. We bought the 1100 discovery metal detector this last summer and our first day out 11" deep we got a 1912 silver dollar and many, many, more coins as well as very old jewellery. What surprised us was it says that it has a detection radius of approximately 8" and yet this coin was around a foot deep with 3" of mixed clay and very thick grass. So maybe your friend should have checked his batteries. I love this and wouldn't buy any other.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
154

Over priced in canada?

September 03, 2014
I am about to buy one today because it went on sale at our local Canadian Tire store here in Thunder Bay Ontario, CA. I thought I'd come on here and read the reviews first before buying it, but I'm beginning to think that it's still over priced even on sale up in our lake of the woods. So regular price states $229. On sale for $89.99. I'm a newbie on using one of these, but I've wanted to get into this hobby for a long time. I'm debating now if I should buy a better more expensive model.

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
318

Discover 1100, first metal detector

December 29, 2012
This is my first metal detector. I'm sure those out there with more experience can tell you more. I used this metal detector for the first time today, only for about an hour. I was amazed at how sensitive it could be!
I am still learning how to use the thing, but right away I started finding pieces of aluminum from the kids fireworks last summer. I was only detecting a strip across the yard about 6 feet wide, but I kept finding nails, staples, and pieces of wire.

I don't have any amazing stories about finding gold rings or valuable coins, but the thing was finding tiny pieces of foil paper from cigarette packs. One was so tiny that I barely saw it. After digging up nails and screws for a while to get used to using it I quit stopping every time it signaled iron and just started digging up hits on other metals.
After a few pieces of aluminum in a half hour I started heading to the house and had a good hit on something that wasn't iron. About 2 1/2" down I separated out a dirt clod that kept registering a hit. After searching all through I finally realized one little chunk was a lead bullet that I researched to be from the '20s or '30s.
Enjoyable hour or so of metal detecting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

154

Discovery 1100

October 31, 2012
After watching some youtube videos I thought I'd give metal detecting a try I brought home my 1100 on a Friday after just 1 hours in my back yard I was kneeling down laughing and dumb founded to hold my 1st silver coin 1943 walking liberty so this detector works like a gem and id recommend it to any and every one!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

170

Age 42 and sharing knowledge

May 28, 2012
I picked up this brand in Vegas at a pawn shop for 25 bucks and I am happy. I asked myself where does gold come from and how can I get it? I found black rocks are more less compressed mud that has gold in them. My method is, find these rocks in rivers, crack them open with a rock hammer if I see glitter dust I take them home. I heat up the rocks on a BBQ grill and dump them in a bucket of vinegar, an ancient method of dissolving rock into sand. I then dry the bulk of the sand on a sheet pan and save the vinegar.
When its dry I run a strong magnet over the sand, Gold is not a magnetic metal so if anything attaches to the magnet then its copper which is a magnetic metal. Well I am saving my gold so that I can take it to OXFORD REFINERY in Alaska because they give you MARKET PRICE for Gold. Right now I have almost 8 troy ounces and I am a happy camper. When I cash it in, well I will be a lot happier. I want to take up 6 LBS to Alaska.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2750

Technician

May 28, 2012
I owned this detector for one year and I have owned several detectors made by Whites, Garrett, Bounty Hunter and other major manufactures over the years.

What can I say about the Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100? It is not a bad detector (or a very good detector) and it is priced decently as well. Having said that, I would not recommend this detector to others. It has fairly poor sensitivity and does not do well at all in mineralized soil. I dug many "hot" rocks that should have been discriminated out. I don't think I found a single coin deeper than 4" after a whole summer of using it. Original 7" coil failed after one month and I replaced it with the optional 4" coil. Overall build quality gives the impression it was not built to last long. This detector is only good for finding modern clad coins in parks and that's about it.

I would highly recommend people pay just a little more money and get something by Tesoro or Whites. The Discovery 1100 will quickly leave you wanting more depth, more features, more sensitivity all of which are available from the competitors for another $100 spent.

Overall Rating 3 stars

372

You get what you pay for

April 16, 2012
I have a friend I picked up who owns one of these. I am one of the one's you guys hate with my $1,500 metal detector. Yes his will find some coins, however, I walked behind him and he went over a patch of ground. Went I went over the same ground I called him back after I got a good signal and asked him to re-check the area with his Discovery. He got nothing even in 100 percent all metal mode. I went ahead and dug the signal I got with my more expensive detector and his eyes popped when he saw me pull out a bright shiny 1956 D Silver quarter. You get what you pay for. If you want just loose surface change 1-3" then the cheap ones are ok. If you are serious about the hobby and old coins, don't complain when you do not find them with a cheapy model.

Overall Rating 2 stars

3222

Bounty hunter discovery

January 03, 2012
I received the Bounty Hunter Discovery Metal Detector for Christmas and I am 110 percent Satisfied With it. I have only been out 3 times and already found enough money/items to pay for it twice. The detector is lightweight and so easy to use. I LOVE IT..I look at other detectors and they are "way" over priced and do the same thing this one here does. Thank you from a very satisfied customer!!!!:):)10 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4911

Happy Customer

December 26, 2011
I've told many people this story, but yet to put it on a review. About 3 years ago I had purchased a Bounty Hunter 501, bought it at Walmart while home on leave. About six months after purchase, I had problems with it, of course I couldn't find the receipt, so my last ditch effort was to call the Bounty Hunter Company in Texas.
The lady was very friendly and told me to mail it (Unit and disk) to them.

In less that 30 days, the unit had been repaired, calibrated w/ a note that they were sorry for my inconvenience. This company has really made a believer out of me. 4 years later, I'm still have the detector and it's working fine. Of course I need to upgrade, maybe Santa will be good to me next year.. Thanks again!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

217

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Discovery 1100