Whites Eagle SL

Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.69
Based on 13 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Eagle SL

Compare to ▼

My white's eagle ii

September 03, 2014
I bought my White's Eagle II in 1989 and have used it ever since. It has never been in the shop but two years ago the stem finally snapped. No problem though....I took the stem off my modern White's Coinmaster and it works perfectly. The ID is right on and the depth readings are always accurate. It is a bit heavy and a load on the wrist so I bought a modern lightweight detector for comfort but I ended up going right back to the Eagle and the other unit is used as a backup only.

This detector has great depth capabilities because I once dug a Mercury dime at a measured 10 inches using the preset "Coin/Jewelry" mode. If it can detect a dime at 10 inches I'm sure that it could detect a quarter at that same depth or even deeper. I'll use this detector until it finally gives out.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
60

Eagle ii sl still holds its own

March 01, 2014
I've only been detecting a couple years and my first machine was a garage sale find Whites 6000D/GEB. I liked it but wanted ID and depth readouts, so I bought a Bounty Hunter Land Star (one of their high end units). I enjoyed the BH enough to decide on looking for a pro level used detector. After lots of review reading, I bought the Eagle II SL. The first time out in my own yard, I was hitting coins right and left. I couldn't believe it! I had already had 2 other detectors over my yard very thoroughly. I must have found over 20 coins in 2hrs.
I found a silver quarter and 2 silver dimes (one at 10") within 20 minutes of each other, and went on to find a Silver Kennedy half dollar as well.

This detector blows me away. I have gone on to buy a 15" Blue Max coil and a 5.3" Black Max coil. These detectors are fetching $250-350 on eBay right now and they are easily worth double that in my opinion. I would never recommend that anyone buy a new entry level detector if they can find an Eagle for just a little more. This thing sold for almost $1000 in 1990 and is still an outstanding machine. I will only give mine up when they pry it from my cold dead hands.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
110

Great Detector

March 17, 2012
I bought a White's Eagle in 1989 and it's been a fabulous detector for me. It's never been in the shop and still works as good as the day I got it. Last year the stem snapped but I crazy glued it and it's back to normal, finding coins and jewelry. Yes, it's a bit heavy and hard on the wrist but I still love this machine. The coin ID's are roght on and so are the depth readings. I don't think a better machine has ever been built.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

210

Eagle SL2

February 24, 2012
This detector of the late 80ties was far ahead of its time. The 950 coil is still in use on last models. I also own a eagle spectrum, but sometimes use the eagle 2. A pity that it takes a lot of force to handle eagle 2 because al force comes out of the wrist. Maybe transform it to hipmount it in future.

Overall Rating 4 stars

152

The best!

February 22, 2012
I have been relic hunting for over 25 years and the whites eagle 2 sl is the best relic machine I ever owned! Actually mine was an eagle that was upgraded. It would sniff out bullets over 10 inches deep and sound as though they were only 4 inches deep. 14 control pads yes! these new detectors you have to push the same button half a dozen times to get too a program and make changes. This puppy had all the buttons there and you just pushed what you wanted! This detector has never been serviced!

I did get a hip mount made up because it was a wrist breaker. As for these new plastic made pieces of over priced junk! Bring them on! Most of these new machines are over priced and you have to spend hundreds more on a coil to make it worth while. Even then I bet I could give them a run for their money!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

130

Oldie but goodie

September 15, 2010
Been detecting 5 yrs mostly relics. I've owned every American brands top of the line and a minelab se pro. The only detector that can hold a candle to my old eagle is my v3i by whites.
Every time my wife and I go out relic chasn we fight over the eagle. We have 5 coils that fit her including a light weight 17'' coil and a tiny 3'' coil. This unit is a relic hound!!!!IF IF IF you can find one get it whites still does all repairs on this older unit. I have only seen 2 in person one I got off ebay and the other is in whites museum. Both are in perfect condition. If you get a chance to own a piece of history get an eagle or eagle2 they will put the past in your hands 1 relic at a time......jmann

Overall Rating 5 stars!

403

What The??????

March 30, 2010
About a month ago I purchased a whites eagle 2 sl just for a back up detector for my mxt. I figured for $150 what the heck.
One day my buddies and I were detecting a field for some civil war relics and my mxt started running erratically so I took her back to the truck, grabbed the eagle and started hunting. I got a pretty good signal and started too dig, checked the hole still down there so I dug and dug at about 12 inches or so, I ran her over the hole still got a signal. The first thing I said to myself was what a piece of junk. But my friend had a garrett pinpointer and checked the hole. He said there is something dead center of that hole and after scrapping away about a quarter inch of dirt there she was a nice smoothie.
In case you don't know what that is it's an enfield bullet. Yes at around 13 inches that machine picked it up as if it were only a few inches deep!

I have demoted my mxt and the eagle took it's place. And if they made them today new I would not blink an eye if I had too pay a grand for one. Because I finally realized that newer stuff is junk!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

433

Paid for itself a thousand times over!!!

August 13, 2009
I purchased a used Whites Eagle II SL Metal Detector 13 years ago back in 1996. I have used it for at least a thousand hours since then. I have never had any problems with it. It has paid for itself time and time again with all of the great finds I have made with it.

I have owned several other detectors and eventually sold them all because this machine simply cannot be beat. It goes deep, it is extremely accurate (in all types of soil), and it is extremely reliable. What more can you ask for?

The technology of this detector was years ahead of its time way back in 1990 when it was first introduced. The way I see it, it is still ahead of its time. It is super easy for a beginner to use with its pre-set programs (which I still use 95% of the time), and it has a multitude of adjustable settings you can make the more familiar you become with it.
The bottom line is you will definatley not be disappointed with the Whites Eagle II SL.

**Good luck hunting**

Overall Rating 5 stars!

452

My First Machine Was An Eagle II SL

November 14, 2008
My very first machine was an Eagle II SL. I learned the machine, including the advanced adjustments, and could run it wide open in all but the worst conditions. It was a deep seeking, stable machine, and the pin pointing was dead on accurate. From the tone and numeric display I could tell the difference between a clad penny, a wheat, and zinc. With 99% accuracy I could tell what was in the ground before digging. I spent a tremendous amount of time with this detector, and part of the reason was it made me want to go detecting because it always rewarded me with some goodies.

I have used some Garrett's, White's Spectrum's, Minelabs, etc., and the machine I enjoy most is still that old Eagle. I own a Minelab Explorer ES now, and an Eagle II SL, and I still like the Eagle better. It doesn't go as deep as the Minelab, but I understand the Eagle, and I always know exactly what it's saying when it talks to me. After ayear and a half I'm still learning the Explorer.

If I had to pick only machine to be the only one for the rest of my life, it would be a Whites Eagle II SL.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

654

Detect the relic and artifact of our history here in the Phil

June 28, 2008
As a founder and director of a local museum here in Mariveles province of Bataan Philippines I used Whites Eagle II SL detector.

Overall Rating 2 stars

1044

Submit your review for Whites Eagle SL

Submit your tip for Whites Eagle SL