Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX

Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.90
Based on 20 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX

Compare to ▼

So far, pretty good

October 04, 2006
I used a lost wedding ring as an excuse to buy a metal detector. I couldn't justify spending more on the detector thatn a replacement band, so I went the cheap route with the Pioneer EX. I found the ring in the yard pretty quickly and spent the next few hours getting addicted to metal detecting. I'd agree with other posts that it is a good entry level, but it is hard to pinpoint the signal. You have to decide if it is worth putting a huge hole in the yard. My biggest complaint is that the arm is too short. I'm 5'10" and i have to walk hunched over to get it close to the ground.
All in all, I think for my purposes, it was a good purchase.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

211

2 months and 455 coins !

September 29, 2006
I decided I needed to get back in to metal detecting in order to get outdoors more ( 49 and need to lose the spare tire :-).

I went down to the local walmart , and had in mind to spend 100 bucks, and sure enough, they had the BH Pioneer EX .. Wasnt long before I had cleaned out the yard, then my neighbors yard, then all the schools and parks in 25 mile radius.

In less than 2 months of weekend detecting, have found 2 silver rings , 1942 walking liberty half , some silver quarters , and over 55 dollars in clad coins..

The 4 discrimating modes and the three levels of sensitivity are ideal for simplicity. 6 inch depth is common on most finds, and when a coin beep occurs, 95 % of the time, yep, its a coin. Highly recommend this detector for those who want to get their feet wet yet have a very tight budget to work with.

Overall Rating 4 stars

501

Bounty Hunter EX

June 07, 2006
I took my Bounty Hunter down to the local elementary school yard to try it out. I set it on coin mode and shallow depth. Within the hour I found 4 quarters, 5 dimes, 3 nickles, and 4 pennies. I only got one false hit which was some type of large metal grill burried about 1". It felt very nice to know that pretty much everytime it went off it was a coin. For $100 I can't complain at all.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

151

Good detector by far!

April 22, 2006
Well ive handled many metal detectors. I first started with a bounty Hunter Traker id-505 (thats a decriminator). Then I got the pioneer ex and loved it. Yes the pinpointing is kinda bad but after you get used to it its not too bad. I would suggest getting a pinpointer. I made on out of the little wizard 2 and extended the antenna down a pvc pipe and it worked very well. But other trhan that its a great detector for the price, it has very accurate decrimination, good depth, nice sized coil, and a proce tag to put the icing on the cake! I would definetly say its worth its weight in gold.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

140

Update to review posted 1 Aug 2005

August 10, 2005
I kept the EX for a week and decided that I could do better. Found the Lone Star for a great price and returned the EX. Just to let everyone know, the EX was a good machine but after using the Lone Star, I quickly realized how much nicer the lone star was. I hit the same area with the Lone Star as I did the EX, and the Lone Star found tons of stuff the EX missed. My suggestion is to spend the extra $50 or so and get the Lone Star. If your on a tight budget, the EX is fine, but you'll miss more treasure! targeting with the Lone Star is a little more difficult but with practice, it gets pretty accurate reads. I'm considering buying a pinpointing detector ( the little wizard II) to compliment the lone star. Hope this helps

Overall Rating 4 stars

308

Great entry level detector

August 01, 2005
Bought this for my 12 yr old son. We had a blast using it in our backyard. Found about 7 pennys ( 2 wheat)10 clad dimes, and 2 clad quarters. Targeting took us about 30 Min and 10 targets to master. Figured out targets and only dug holes about 6 in in diameter. Discrimination worked great, as did the sensitivity adjustment. Even figured out tone variances to key in on coins. Not the most feature packed detector, but we couldn't beat it for the price. Wanted to get the garret ace 150 or 250, but because I was unsure of how long my sons interest would last I settled on this unit. Glad I did, and if his interest lasts, will upgrade as needed. I highly recomend this to beginning metal detectorists.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

160

Pleased

June 14, 2005
I PURCHASED THIS DETECTOR FOR MY GIRLFRIEND BECAUSE OF IT'S LIGHT WEIGHT AND SIMPLE TO USE QUALITIES . I WAS PLEASED W/ THE RESULTS. 25 COINS AND 1 NICE SILVER RING THE FIRST TIME OUT.

Overall Rating 3 stars

152

It does what you'd expect

May 03, 2005
I am totally new to this and have no biases, but this machine was easy to use and set up, and I started finding coins right away. As far as the "pinpoint" issues, I read that if you move any detector too slowly or in an arc vs. straight back and forth, its hard to pin down the spot...using these recommended methods I had no trouble pinpointing the spots. So, this is a budget machine for fun and recreational use, and it works. It does a good job distinguishing different metals. As a beginner, I recommend this because it seems to work just fine. If I get serious about treasure hunting, I will invest more money insomething better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

This is a great entry detector

April 26, 2005
I was looking for something for my grandson to use when we go detecting, I use a great machine the TrackerIV, my wife uses the 1100 (Radio Shack) which is made by Bounty Hunter. Once my grandson understood how the beeps and the digital readouts worked he has passed grandma on finds per trip. Now she wants a new one. O'lordy. The EX is a very good machine.

Overall Rating 4 stars

180

Save your money !!!!!!!Don't buy this one.

January 06, 2005
I bought one for my daughter at walmart (99$).It looked nice but thats all.I put a coin on the ground and this detector gave a sound AFTER i passed the coin, not over the coin like it shound be.Since this detector has no pinpoint mode you have to dig real large holes to find the coin.I was glad i could bring it back to walmart and get my money back.If you want an entry level detector that really works by the Garrett Ace 250.You will be happy you spend a little more money.
HH,
Andy

Overall Rating 1 star

4128

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pioneer EX