Whites Eagle Spectrum

Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.82
Based on 17 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.33
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Eagle Spectrum

Compare to ▼

Great machine.

August 02, 2016
I've had an Eagle Spectrum since 1992. It's a great machine, I've found coin sized objects as far down as 10 inches. I will continue to use it. Lovely machine to use and the ID is spot on. Only down sides - haven't found any gold yet and Whites don't make the battery packs for it anymore so have to use normal batteries which can get a little expensive.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
13

White's eagle spectrum

July 13, 2016
Just got one paid 250 with original headphones. Tried in 2 places frustrated at a local school football field. Found a few pennies and a dime in hard packed clay gravel. At work the yard around the office good old Mississippi sandy clay which turns all coins brown. Due to mineralization pennies, dimes, and a quarters. All were 3 to 6 inches deep. Can't wait till this weekend gonna hit a old football field near me.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
04

The eragle has landed.

July 25, 2013
The Eagle Spectrum was the first high end detector that I bought, it will be the last I sell. The secret to depth (as others have said) is to adjust your pre-amp gain as high as the conditions will allow. I have the CTX 3030, V3i and XP Deus. I still like to get the Eagle Spectrum out with the Blue Max 600 coil and head to the iron patch and sniff out silver. It is one of the classic detectors.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
131

Whites Eagle Spectrum. THE BEST

April 05, 2012
There is a test done by some guy on YouTube of the XLT V. Garrett 250. ROFLMAO. The person doing this has NO idea how to set up the XLT. I have the old Eagle Spectrum and I can pick up a Dime sized coin at about 18" in air with a good signal. The Garrett can just about manage 10" before it sounds off due to poor design and internal noise by having set the sensitivity control too high.

Trick with the XLT AND Spectrum is set the preamp gain as high as you can and still get a good ground balance, then set the AC gain until the machine is JUST chattering with the search head at waist height. Now, ground balance and lower the head to the ground, lower the AC sens. by about two points and you NOW have a machine that is about as deep and ANY Lamebin Exploder and MUCH more sensitive to silver coins!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

265

Eagle Spectrum 1992

February 24, 2012
In 1992 I bought the Eagle Spectrum after beying in doubt to buy a C-scope (VLF1220?).
Still glad to have chosen the Eagle.
I use it still today and it is as good as allmost 20 years ago. Good hardware, good software!
Only negative to mention: it did not find gold yet!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

181

Like xlt

January 08, 2012
So well-balanced it's painless to swing. It's just fun to use. Basically an XLT. If on a budget get the Eagle. The vdi graph is priceless. Created my own program with a little research and its fun and lucky, ) too. First outing found huge silver full figure pendant.

It has been superseded by the xlt and dfx - however for the money- sometimes under $200 on feeBay- its 5 stars.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

112

Whites eagle spectrum

July 15, 2010
I have a 1991 eagle spectrum, I bought it from a friend. Still use it today and it works as good as ever.
Prefer it over my two other detectors because of the VCO and the spectrum graph. Use coins and jewelery and have found the full spectrum of targets from rings to tokens and silver. There may be better detectors out there, but I prefer a proven performer.

Overall Rating 4 stars

474

20 bucks at the flea market

April 03, 2010
I'm running an old bounty hunter w/analog meter, so when came across this spectrum, I threw a twenty at em' and ran. operates, looks pristine, so I guess my next trip to FLA, will be more productive... see you in Daytona!!!Mark

Overall Rating 4 stars

630

Great machine, miss mine.

August 07, 2009
I found alot of good things with the spectrum. I must say it is a little complex once you get into the pro-settings. Use the beach mode for preset the jewelry/coin mode sucks. I had a awesome silver program. Hit a small Canadian 5 cent piece at 10" in bad soil. Once you learn the machine and know how to adjust it, it can search in almost any soil type. I did have a hard time in mineralized soil, until I learned how adjust the auto-matic ground tracking.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

344

Update on Spectrum review

April 10, 2008
Recently I bought a Bigfoot Coil for my 18 year old Spectrum and all I can say is WOW!!!!

The Spectrum really shines with this coil. I have used the Spectrum on beaches with the factory coil and it worked really well. With the Bigfoot coil, it became a coin and jewelry monster picking up things so fast and furious that I was wondering why I waited so long to get this coil. Just remember to use the Bigfoot on smooth areas of the beach like right near the water line or just after the beach machines rake out the sand.. At bumpy areas of the sand, it will false to some degree, but that can be overcome with careful listening to the sounds of the Spectrum. Once I figured that out, any beach is not safe from this monster combo.

The Spectrum can be as deep as any other newer machine out there. I would recommend the hip mount and you can swing all day without getting tired.

At a grass schoolyard playground, the Bigfoot and Spectrum combo picked up over $35.00 in clads in just a couple of hours.

At another older schoolyard, several Buffalo Nickels and many Mercury head dimes were found. Most were found 5 to 10 inches down. All with the Spectrum and Bigfoot coil.

The Spectrum is a great machine for those who are lucky enough to find one for sale. Most people who have one keep them because they are a classic and still performs. Get the Bigfoot coil and have a great combo with the Spectrum.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

756

Submit your review for Whites Eagle Spectrum

Submit your tip for Whites Eagle Spectrum