Aquavision Pro

Avg. Score: 2 stars 2.27
Based on 30 reviews

Avg. Durability: 2 stars2.50
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00

Submit your review for Aquavision Pro

Compare to ▼

Aquvision is a RIP OFF

April 07, 2007
I bought one of those aquavision detectors to try scuba diving , to be honest, it was junk ,,i had issues with the detector,when it came time to inform that person, i got a run-around bs story. i had been dealing with 2 different addresses, 3 different people, finally ,they sent me another,guess what!! the same crap, they really suck as a detector goes, i highly recommend,DO NOT BUY a Aquavision, they are cheap junk.. do yourself a favor ,,---go spend the $$ on a real good dectector,,and do your homework first before jumping in,,I do own 3 detectors (whites are good).

Overall Rating 1 star

392

Aquavision from eBay - Dissapointing

March 25, 2007
I bought one of these specifically for a dive trip I took in the Cayman's. Not knowing too much about water detectors I figured I would give it a try and the price was right. I am an experienced land detectorist and have been detecting land sites for over 10 years. Right out of the box the AqauVision looks quite nice. Once it gets near water it is a whole different story. The earphones are cheaply made and sound out of one of the ear pieces went out within two hours. The amount of false signals were extremely fristrating. I think the discrimination knob is just there for show because I tried in the water and out of the water and the knob doesn't do anything at all. I put a nail and a gold ring on the ground and could not get the discrimination to differentiate between the two. I would not recommend that anyone purchase this detector, or atleast for the price that they are going for on eBay, 228.00 USD. You have to ask yourself, why is this unit being sold ONLY on eBay and not through other major metal detector distributors. I knew it was too good to be true in the back of my mind and after using the unit I felt taken advantage of. I am going to buy a water detector for use in the future but will steer clear of the "eBay Specials" from now on.

Overall Rating 1 star

300

Aquavision Pro, Good for a Doorstop

March 20, 2007
I purchasd this thing from eBay and it is a waste of time and money. It is cheap in price and even cheaper in quality. Do yourself a favor and do not buy this unit unless you pay 20.00 for it because that is about what it is worth. It does not perform well in salt water or even on the shore-line drop off near the water. False signals, horrible discrimination at best, and the construction is very very poor. I wish I couls state differently but this thing is useless. Save your money and buy a real underwater metal detector like Fisher, Whites, Minelab etc.

Overall Rating 1 star

160

Ive found tons of treasure with my aquavision in the ocean

January 18, 2007
Hello,

I bought an aquavision from ebay for the price of about $228 including shipping. The detector is really nicely packaged and works great right out of the box. I live in Sebastian Inlet, FL and go underwater detecting with a buddy that has a Whites underwater detector that he paid $1,200 for. I find more stuff almost every time with the Aquavision. The machine has paid for itself many times over and it's just lots of fun. I have read some of the other reviews and to say that this is not a great detector for the money is not fair. I think for the money you won't find a better detector that is waterproof - period. I love my aquavision, and see no reason to upgrade at the moment.

Sincerely,
Surf_master

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1012

IT'S OK

December 10, 2006
I SPENT $150.00 AND TOOK IT WITH ME ON A CRUISE TO HAWAII AND IT STARTED MAKING ALL KINDS OF NOISE'S WHEN THE WATER FROM THE BEACH HIT THE COIL. IT'S JUST OK

Overall Rating 3 stars

54

Aquavision Pro - Not Worth a Dollar!!!

September 13, 2006
After reading the reviews on this site I decided to take the "Plunge" and I bought an Aquavision Pro off of eBay for a little over 200 dollars. It arrived promptly and looked nice right out of the box. However, once I actually put it into water my opinion has changed dramatically. Who made this thing??? It is basically an expensive toy that doesn't discriminate, gets poor depth, and the headphones stopped working inside of about 6 hours useage. I am extremely dissapointed now that I have figured out I wasted my money on a detector that basically does not work under water. I can't believe that people would recommend purchasing this model detector. I did a little bit of investigating on the model and where it comes from. The person who wrote in this forum about it being from China is right. It is in fact made in China and sold under three names; "Aquavision", "Viper" and "Trident", all of these models are the same detector with different stickers on them. Go ahead and check out the pictures on eBay and you will see what I mean. Upon further investigation I found out that these detectors are being sold on eBay via a very reputable detector dealership which I won't name on this message board, shame on you! It seems this detector is being mass purchased and then sold on eBay at cheap prices to dupe people into purchasing what they think is a quality underwater metal detector when it is anything but a quality metal detector. As for buying it and then once you find good "finds" trading up to get a better model, good luck. There is no way this detector will stand the test of time to be able to find decent water finds with the way it is made. I hate getting ripped off and I hate seeing people get ripped off. DO NOT buy this detector!

Overall Rating 1 star

810

AquaVision Pro Metal Detector

July 23, 2006
I've been detecting with a freind who has a Bounty Hunter 2000 from Radio Shack. I bought the AqauVision from EBAY for $150, he paid $200 for his bounty hunter.

All in all, I like the BH for land hunting better, but the AquaVision does work, it even detects a little deeper. I've found small nails at 9" so to say this detector does not work is complete BS. It does work, it finds EVERYTHING! My buddies detector gives different pitched tones for different objects, and he dig 10 holes and finds 7 coins while I dig 10 holes and find 7 peices of trash, and 3 coins.

Underwater I love this detector, there is much less trash and the digging is much easier, so I prefer a detector that hits everything. In Saltwater and sand, I've found old coins 12" deep. In fresh water, i've done OK with it too.

In short, if you don't have the money to purchase a $700 underwater detector, get this one and go hunting. A few beach or gold coast finds with this will pay for that more expensive detector. If you want to detect on land, I's spend the same cash and get a top of the line Radio Shack detector or equivelant. Anything less than $200 for a land detector is a waste, $200 for the Aquavision for underwater is a good deal in my opinion.

Overall Rating 4 stars

236

Aquavision Pro is OK

June 16, 2006
I am using the Aquavision Pro to hunt in freshwater lakes. It seems to detect as well as the more expensive units but not deeper. It has a sensitivity and a discriminate control. I found that to get any depth at all you have to turn the disc off and turn sens to max. This is a cheap made in China unit. I got what I expected but I didnt want to shell out big bucks for a better one because I dont live where there are many places to hunt in water. Its Ok for the $100 spent for a used unit. If I lived near the ocean I would buy a Whites Beachhunter because the Aqauavision Pro seems to work only in low mineralized soils.

Overall Rating 3 stars

92

NEW AQUAVISION PRO UNDERWATER DIVING METAL DETECTOR

May 19, 2006
Found 17 gold pieces with in 40 days using this detector. "love it" anyone else?

Overall Rating 5 stars!

76

Aquavision Pro Underwater Diving Metal Detector

April 01, 2006
OK, so I have seen these products advertised on eBay for a little over a year now. I have been an avid metal detectorist for some time now and decided to take the "plung" and purchase one of these detectors. I have extensive knowledge and experience unting in and out of the water and have used a wide-range of detectors for both kinds of detecting over the years. In my honest opinion the Aquavision Pro is a COMPLETE piece of junk! Not only is the discrimination feature nothing more than a knob that you can turn right or left with little to no affect at all but this machine does not hold up to the mineralization of salt-water/black sand. Granted I have not tried it in a fresh water lake but I don't think I have to. The ear phones that come with it are a joke and you can barely hear target signal noises. Additionally, for each sweep you make with the Aquavision Pro you will get a false signal at the edge of each sweep motion. I thought if I didn't like the Aquavision Pro Metal Detector I could just sell it on eBay again but after using it there is no way I would jeapordize my eBay feedback rating by selling the Aquavision Pro to anyone on eBay. I did a bit of research online about where these units are coming from because there is a flood of exactly similiar units all over eBay, Yahoo Auctions, and related sites. China folks, mass produced in China at the Shanghai Institute of Microwave technology. People are just buying lots of these units and putting their own brand names on them and selling them as actual working under water metal detectors. If you don't believe me just do a search for Shanghai Institute of Microwave technology underwater metal detectors and you will see this exact generic detector available. Do yourself and your pocketbook a favor and don't waste your money. Save just a littlke more and buy a Whites, or Fisher, or Tesoro, or Minelab, in the end you will be happy you did.

Overall Rating 1 star

1463

Submit your review for Aquavision Pro

Submit your tip for Aquavision Pro