Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000

Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.25
Based on 12 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000

Compare to ▼

Finds sub gram size gold!!!!!!

August 17, 2015
This detector is seriously messing with my head.... I got it at a yard sale for $40 with the stock 7" and a 4" BH Sniper coil. It is labeled Radio Shack but it is made by Bounty Hunter. First time using it I found a tiny gold flower earring that "just" weighs .2 gram. The earring is super tiny and my F4, 1280x or 705 (stock coils, all metal, full power) will not pick it up... The 2000 does it at aprox 1" repeatedly, loud and clear (Full power, 14 Disc, 7" coil).

After some testing, The BH Sniper hits it at 2". My AX777 also picks it up at .5". With the 2000 I get about 6-7" on coins. ID is not very accurate but repeatable enough to learn. Looks cheap and Discrimination is a bit touchy, but the Radio Shack - Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000 is a great Shallow machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Like it as much as twice cost models

July 04, 2011
Let's do cons first. The detector can in some albeit limited circumstances become unstable and a little erratic, this is just small annoyance considering all the benefits of using the discovery 2000. For a detector is only as good as its operator, you must master it thoroughly to appreciate it.
The signal on a gold coin sounds like a zinc penny and a regular penny fighting each other, my rule if its a solid signal and repeats real solid, I'll dig it. The detector shines in trashy areas and is quiet until it finds something major like a coin ring pulltab etc. This detector will go deep for the old coins if you go slowly and listen for faint repeating signals. I've found gold, silver, and rings with it, more than I found with my more expensive detectors too.
The erratic behavior difficulty pinpointing can be annoying but just let this detector loose and it will shine!

Overall Rating 4 stars

313

My Bounty Hunter Legacy 2500 Metal Detector Review

March 10, 2011
Just got the new Bounty Hunter Legacy 2500 detector. I was excited to see this new version, as I was just about to order the older Discovery 2200 model. My 2nd time out with it, I found a small gold ring (10k), an Indian Head Penny and several modern coins. All of this in a wooded area that I know many detectors have been over time and time again.

The Legacy 2500 features a very large display that shows a target id number. This is what sold me on this unit as other detectors around this same price did not have this feature. I found a quarter that showed right on the display accurately as a quarter. I picked this unit up with a package that included a decent set of headphones and carry bag. This is my first real detector and I expect to spend a good amount of time hunting fields and at the beach. I think this unit is a great value for the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

69

Good machine for the $$$

September 27, 2009
The only drawback to this thing is you have no way of knowing the depth. I have found lots of clad and some nice wheaties. I'll give it to my son whenever I get a new one.

Overall Rating 4 stars

111

BH 2000

July 25, 2009
My experience has been close to what others have written, this will find things when buying a digging tool for this unit go big because this unit will pick up a penny 8 inches easily. What it will not do is pinpoint the target so you just pop it out ,and it will not tell you how deep you have to dig and it can be off some 6 inches. My unit may have some factory defect but it really is far too difficult to pinpoint, add that to the potential to find a penny at 8 inches you may end up with a hole that will fit a soccer ball, not cool.

I dig holes in stages with this unit first I use the pocket pin pointer to see if
the target is above ground if not I flip a plug with the shouvel test that still in hole I get the shovel and begin laboring if still in hole after digging as deep as 1/2 the shovel handle I quit and cover the hole it is not worth that much effort to find a 70's circa can.
Another drawback is portability had they allowed the handle to break down one more level it would easily fit almost anywhere in a car but with the s part of the handle unremoveable the unit pokes out anywhere you try to stow it. I would hate to have my window busted out my car by a crook because it would not stow well while I was inside eating a burger.

For that reason I wish to move to another detector the Garrett ace 250 I want an idea how deep the target is so If it is deep I can mark it and come back with a long handled shovel.

Overall Rating 3 stars

144

Discovery 2000 metal detector

March 14, 2009
I bought this for my wife a few years ago. I tried it a few times, and put it away. When I got interested in Prospecting and treasure hunting I got it out, and went to the instructions. Amazing how good it got after I knew what I was doing. It does a great job, and I have founds coins and other stuff. In a park, it is as good as any other.

Overall Rating 4 stars

122

Discovery Detectors

February 05, 2006
There is no way to describe this other than it is a TOY !!!! This is not a machine for anyone serious about detecting, it is the entry level of entrylevel machines. It will find metal objects to shallow depths of 6" or less. It will not work in highly mineralized soil or wet sand at saltwater beaches. It does perform somewhat well for a low cost unit, however there are better make machines out there in the same price range that will perform much better. I am a serious detectorist who owns one of the "Rolls Royce" models. I was given the Discovery as a gift a few years ago. It was unuseable half the time due to soil mineral content. I did find lots of coins at the beach in the dry sand. If you just want an occasional beach toy, then this will suffice.

Overall Rating 1 star

2620

DISCOVERY 2000

December 23, 2005
I have owned this machine for many years and it has been alright. I have noticed it seems to become unstable at times which confuses the unit and myself. It seems to have a hard time Discriminating even with the knob turn up all the way, it still sounds off on junk metal. Even still it is a capable machine and I have found many coins and such at ok depths. I have since moved on to an ACE250 which is much an improvement. The Discovery 2000 is OK for beginners and you're not out alot if this hobby isn't for you!!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

174

Good detector

August 28, 2005
i barely got it today. (8.28.05) I bought it off the wholesale outlet radio shack @ garden grove, California for $20.00. Great deal. Usually cost around $120. I tried to today for about 20 minutes in my front yard and found 12 pennies.. I think thats a good start.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

92

Excellent detector / value detector

August 05, 2005
Bounty hunter makes this same detector and calls it the lone star. I just purchased this as a backup / loaner for friends to join a hunt. I took it out to the test garden and it performed surprisingly well. It ID'd zinc pennies on 5 of the 6 zincs I had buried. I had the sensitivity at half and searched in all metal mode. It Id'd old copper and silver very well. Coins signalled withn the center 3" of the coil. cons, if any: Not bad at all, but it didn't seem as senstive as high end / more expensive detectors. It seems like you have to really be on the target with a steady swing to detect it. Other that its great !!! Its very light. You can't beat the price on these. you can get the BH Lone star for about $150 new. its as good as some other detectors costing over $300 (garrett) :-)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

150

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Discovery 2000