Seben Extreme

Avg. Score: 3 stars 3.23
Based on 22 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Seben Extreme

Compare to ▼

Seben extreme target

December 06, 2015
My summary on this sub-par detector. A cheap, plasticky piece of junk that I had to glue to keep together so it wouldn't thrash itself apart while swing the detector. EVERYTHING about this detector personifies 'cheap'. Nice looking but not made to last more than about ten swings before you have the plastic pieces either breaking or coming apart.
As far as the (RIDICULOUS) depth claims someone was touting about this machine, I (highly) doubt it and couldn't even find out for myself as I was too busy trying to adjust this complicated detector and was distracted by the worry it caused me that it was going to fall apart in my hand. Folks, that's how cheaply made this machine is. Shame on the Chinese. They have made better which is a lot to say for their workmanship as many things they put together are not built to last. Very disappointed with my $150 purchase.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
34

Awesome first detector

July 19, 2015
Read a lot of reviews over quite a few months as to which detector to buy. Money wasn't a problem so I went for a detector with the best all round reviews and ratings and the Seben Deep Target kept grabbing my attention.

I've found things from an inch deep to over a 36 inches deep in woodlands and I found an object over a meter down on a mixed sand/stoney beach. This detector is so easy to use an untrained monkey could use it. I have found everything from ring pulls to old pennies and I've only been three times, each time for only 15-30mins. Waiting for my mini roundhead spade to arrive then I can go digging properly as all I have is one of those fold away pick/spades so mini spade will be less effort and quicker.

This wee light weighted machine will pay for itself but that doesn't bother me as I bought it for a hobby to get me out and about. You won't be disappointed with a Seben Deep Target, not the extreme model.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
49

Will find air gun pellet

March 25, 2014
Just tested my seben deep target detector to see if it will detect an air gun pellet, it did both 177 and 22, tried my other detectors that cost many times more, no joy, even with no discrim, then tried my old c scope cs2mx it picked up the 22 pellet but not the 177.

Summary, for a low frequency machine it has fantastic sensitivity, and lightning recovery speeds amongst trash, what a dark horse, I would like to keep this one a secret but new for 80 pounds, every one should try one, picked up my first one at a boot sale for 13 pounds second hand, paid for its self many many times, what a result, I now leave my other machines at home or in the boot of my cay, you try the air gun pellet test on your machines see how they perform.
Remember this is the seben deep target machine, not the extreme, which is a world apart.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
814

Seben one good one bad

March 20, 2014
Seben deep target brilliant, seben extreme poor and unstable.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
48

Bald trucker

July 28, 2012
I brought the "seben deep target" also known as the md3009
For £50 plus a tenner postage from seben, Germany and found it to be unbeatable for the money, only two control knobs sensitivity and discrimination, worked great any where, saltwater beach you name it.

Sold it to my mate for £40, he used it for 3 years and then sold it on for £55, to some old boy, just the other day. He recently see him down the beach, he told him hes only been here 20 mins and foun £4 already.
So sounds like this machine is worlds apart from the "seben extreem".
So for those just dipping there toe in and un shore, seeben deep target yes yes, the one with the white polo coil. Seben extreem nooooo!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

119

Pretty good

June 29, 2012
Hey everybody is knocking this detector well I've found Gold nuggets a few times now at about a foot deep hey its already payed for itself so hows that for a recommendation and by way the unit I've got seben deepsearch is automatic no need for adjustments where ever you are.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

85

MR jim oram

May 04, 2012
I bought a Seben Xtreme detector, at first was not impressed, with in an hour, and some help from a M/D member I was finding things after things,??I've been detecting couple of years, plus I am a voluntary archaeologist with a local society, and bought a few detectors over the years, and loves my Seben,, For £149. 00, what do you want?? You can pay£600 or £700, but then I would expect a big return. . jim

Overall Rating 5 stars!

56

End-user

April 20, 2012
I have a seben deep target detector and am very happy with it. Sometimes a little tempermental about what set of 9 volt batteries its wants but once up and running seems fine.
It seems to have very good depth of finds and mine paid for itself in the first two outing. I run discriminator on 5 and sensitivity wide open. It takes a little time to identify a coin sound from other noise but once you practice I am sure you will be able to determine good from unwanted metal junk.
The pin pointer works really well if you lift coil for best target alignment. The unit is nice and light and I like the battery case and the out of the way coil wires. Adjustments are easy and it recovers objects very quickly. It pulled numerous coins out of highly mineralized soil that usually stops other detectors in there tracks. Its been pulling relics out as fast as I can dig.
Its been pulling coins out as fast as I can dig.
Of course there is the usual trash digs but it comes with the territory. When in doubt dig.
A low price for a improved machine what more could you want?

Overall Rating 5 stars!

173

Vicky

April 12, 2011
It is a great Metal detector if you collect bottle tops and crap made from metal. Its poor quality and the instructions would be better wrote in Chinese.

Buy something else.

Overall Rating 1 star

249

Seben detector falls apart

January 27, 2011
My wife bought me a Seben Metal Detector for Christmas. It was not my choice but I decided to make the best of it. The instructions are really poor and the quality of the machine itself is also poor at best. I don't think you can ground balance the thing. It is constantly making all sorts of noise.

When you finally get the thing tuned enough to use it, it somehow gets out of tune by itself. I had only used it a couple of times when the arm brace fell off. Can't put it back on because the small little plastic track it fits on broke. I will admit after some practice I was able to find objects, but mostly trash. I can't return the thing, but I have already ordered a new one of a different brand. My suggestion would be to never, ever buy one of these. Good luck if you do!

Overall Rating 2 stars

353

Submit your review for Seben Extreme

Submit your tip for Seben Extreme