Bounty Hunter Time Ranger

Price: $650
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.00
Based on 21 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Time Ranger

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

Time ranger

February 09, 2016
I've had my Time Ranger for over 10 years and still works like it's brand new!! Once you get the controls down it is wonderful!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Great bargain

October 07, 2015
I was reading another review that said the tracker IV was faster than the TimeRanger nothing could be further from the truth the TR is fast and deep and the Tracker IV is a detector made for children on it's best day, the BH Pioneer 505 works a lot better than the Tracker IV it goes much deeper and is much faster, I own both of these detectors the 505 and TR, I actually found a hub cap at almost 3 feet deep with the 505 and the TR goes deeper and is more accurate, I think people are just making up stories about the TR to get posted online, the TR has a ton of features and I put a 10 inch concentric coil on my unit, I get a few more inches of depth on targets and it ground balances very well, it would be perfect for relic hunting and coins, jewelry, I have tested it on placer gold and it hit the target, that was a big surprise, I purchased mine at a big discount with a 5 year warranty it is and was a real bargain!!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
106

Great company

October 23, 2014
First of all let me start off by saying I am a fan of Bounty Hunter detectors, I recently purchased a Time Ranger at a good discount but sadly after 5 months it had a battery problem they kept on discharging without use an the machine turned off! So I got a hold of First Texas these guys replaced my unit under warranty no questions asked, once I received it back I really like a lot of the features on this machine the sniff and blanker features all metal mode can be ground balanced, this is a very good little detector for what I paid for it and the 5 year warranty this is a real keeper.

I own about 8 other detectors in different brands and I am impressed with this Time Ranger it is very light and when it is in coin mode it discriminates out iron completely I like the display, depth and target are fairly correct, I will have to spend more time learning the machine but so far I really like it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1311

Bounty hunter time ranger

July 09, 2013
My assessment of the the Bounty Hunter Time Ranger is that, like many other digital display machines, it's just not quick enough to i.D. One target against another right beside it. In other words, the recovery time is way to slow. This can cause serious problems in recognizing a good target right next to a trash target. Sometimes the good target is overpowered and grounded out by a strongly conductive trash target in the same range right beside it and consequently, the good target is not recognized by the machine and ultimately the user.

The whole idea of identifying targets digitally should be scrapped until they can design quicker circuitry to deal with the masking problem. Go back to relying on your hearing as they did in the past. I've ALWAYS found more that way. And all the depth in the world is NOTHING if the machine can't distinguish individual targets. When I bought my first screen i.D. Detector in 1990 (Garrett GTA 1000), I hated it so much, I traded up to another detector, the Fisher 1266X and found a LOT of good stuff.

I would have thought in all these years since then, they would have ironed out the problems but they haven't with the Bounty Hunter Time Ranger. I would NOT recommend this machine to any one along with some other brand and/or models as well. I have heard good things about White's detectors though (Eg, White's DFX, M6, Coinmaster Pro, SST, etc.)

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1620

Review for the bounty hunter time ranger

June 21, 2013
The Bounty Hunter Time Ranger is not all it's cracked up to be. It's recovery time on multiple side-by-side targets is way too slow which makes manual pinpointing very difficult. I don't like to rely on it's all-metals pinpoint mode because if you have multiple targets, it fools the detector(in all-metals pinpointing mode) (and user) into thinking the target is bigger than it actually is. But once again, it's recovery time per individual target is far too long and the technicians at First Texas should have designed the circuitry to handle the increase in sensitivity and depth with quicker response times to individual targets.

My Bounty Hunter Tracker IV is much quicker and more precise at a fraction of the price. The lag time is kind of like the lag on older-generation sports cars which used turbos. I'm really disappointed. Very deep but slow response.
Also, you have to back off the sensitivity to eliminate the false signals to ground minerals. Kind of defeats the purpose of a deep-seeking detector. Now if only the Tracker IV could go 12" on a single quarter. Would be nice. Oh well, I'm dreaming.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
108

7 years on

July 18, 2012
Well I'm still impressed with my time ranger after 7 years, I use it mainly at beaches and parks when it's too hot to go bush with my mine lab, but I still take it with me to search old homesteads when I come across them, it's never faltered or let me down ever. It's still my no1 detector for relic and coin hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

166

YES! IT'S WATERPROOF?

March 20, 2012
I can't believe it! finally, a versatile, very good underwater metal detector! The entire coil and shaft are water tight, and I love going to the beach with it, like hunter J said, You'd better buy it if you don't have it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

98

Awsome, Awesome, and more Asome.

March 19, 2012
I absolutely love it! within minutes I was picking up coins, relics and more. my advice to you : buy it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

95

A very versatile metal detector !

May 12, 2011
Owning two other BH units, I was very pleased to notice an ad for a 2nd hand, almost unused, Time Ranger, as these units are thin on the ground here in Europe. I am the kind of hunter that uses both (and equally) motion and no motion circuitry, plus I never used a "real" prospecting mode, so no suspense here, I bought it !

I hunt mainly for modern coinage/jewelry on beaches, and, considering some humble experience with various brands/models over the years, I was luckily able to use the very full capacities of this unit after only a few hours of use.

So far, it seems that when the unit starts up at "average" settings, it is, using the same search coils, more powerful than my two other BH models. It also IDs much better, the three digit number is clearly an advantage here.

There are, to me, no drawbacks to this detector. I always buy detectors that suit my needs, be they as humble as a Tesoro Compadre or BH Lone star, this one not only does the job very well, (6/8 cm on a 18K thin gold chain in prospecting mode with the 4" coil and a good ability to signal coins and other valuables with a correct ID process), but its versatility, that is the possibility of engaging different treasure hunting tasks with this same unit, deserves the 5 stars I rated it, and makes it, just as many finds it already did, a "keeper".

My "general experience" with 3 BH units is that they will find treasure as well, and sometimes better than any other detector.

HH

Overall Rating 5 stars!

325

Diferent

November 21, 2010
I used this metal detector for one year. My advice is do not trust this unit ID system. 10K gold objects can not be detected with discrimination on. Silver Morgan dollar (90% siver) was ID as iron. So the best choice is to use all metal program (P4) and dig everything.
The owner of this machine do not need fitness club membership only a good shovel.

Overall Rating 3 stars

2319

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Time Ranger

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Time Ranger