Newforce R1

Price: $600
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.43
Based on 7 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Newforce R1

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

R for rocks and 1 for the best.

May 27, 2014
Got my R1 and it rocks, a week ago now, so happy I opted for it. It is a belter of a machine, and is a doddle to set up and use. It has everything, manual ground balance, auto ground balance, tone id, two search coils, set programs and create your programms with a memory storage, contrast adjustment.., back light with brightness adjustment, ground on screen Radar, change settings on the go without stopping detecting, number ID AND TONE ID, accurate pin point, turn on and go programs.

Looking forward to going out again once I get a rain cover for it, it is water proof I'm just over protective for sunny Scotland lol..I cant speak highly enough of C-SCOPE, THEY ARE AN ABSOLUTLEY BRILLIANT COMPANY WITH A1 CUSTOMER SERVICE, WELL DONE TO THEM FOR DEVELOPING THIS BRILLIANT MACHINE. I have already found a very large 15th century Fede ring worn over a glove, about ten hammered and loads more fot TT Scotland to examine.

Check out Staffs metal detecting test and you will see it goes 10 inches, very good as most on average only go 8".

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
70

C-scope r1

October 25, 2012
So glad bazza (top post) didn't take the time to learn how to use this machine and sold it to me via ebay! Great machine got to admit took some time getting used to it including phoneing c-scope for advice, which I must state were very helpful indeed. I think the more professional guy/gal would figure it out in no time. I jumped in at the deep end a bit with this being my first machine but glad I did - love it. Oh and thanks baz - bargain!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

60

Newforce R1

August 12, 2012
Used a c-scpoe for years and decided to upgrade to an R1, after a couple of outings it now sits in the corner gathering dust, couldn't stand the machine, overly complicated and that bloody cursor bouncing all over the place, tried many ways of balancing the machine to no avail.. . treated myself to a minelab gt, what a difference! Simple to set up and use giving you plenty of time to detect and not stand scratching your head fiddling with stupid menu's...
If your looking for an upgrade steer well clear of the R1 and buy a minelab.

Overall Rating 1 star

14

My first, I made the right choice.

October 05, 2009
This heavy machine can not be compared to other machines by me, because it's my first detector. I looked at youtube for information. I saw a man for minutes changing the settings on a F75 from Fisher, while the machine was beeping along.
I thought that one, isn't for me. Turn the volume knob and it's turned on, press enter and again enter and you're searching (set manual on in settings and you only have to use the volume knob). Download the manual before buying from cscope.co.uk site.
On ebay I payed 466 euros for a new one, in the Netherlands they cost 1099 euros.
Battery consumption is very good, although I never use headphones.
It's heavy but well made, it is resistent to rain. Pin pointing is right in the center of the coil, but when I'm digging I use a Sherlock DTS-PRO pointer. I then don't have to pick up de R1 for a sweep.
It has a adjustable backlight for the LCD in steps.
Other detectors I was/am interested in are:
Garrett 1350-GTP and GTI-1500
Minelab Safari

5 stars for build quality, rain resistant, it actually does where it's made for, the programms in memory give stable readings, everything is adjustable if you choose for it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

296

One of my favorite detectors

November 14, 2007
I have been detecting since the early 80s and have used many units thru the years, this r 1 is the most sensitive unit I have ever used. I picked up a piece of a cut up penny about a fourth of the penny 4 inches deep no problem, unit rejects iron very well is light as a feather and the batts last forever. Depth is excellent even with the 5 inch coil, the unit has tone id even in pinpoint mode and in disc mode also you can make adjustments even while the unit is operational, cant do that with my dfx, unit has many great features and easy to scroll through the menu, it has a radar that gives a signal wave of the target, the only neg thing I can say about the unit is the numbers on the screen are hard to see but you can see where the notch bar lands on top of screen which also determines number that makes up for the number of object. It is also a great beach machine very sensitive and it has a beach mode, you can run in all metal and still get tone id, its a great very well balanced unit I will keep this one in my arsenal..

Overall Rating 5 stars!

332

So simple to use and avoids Iron

September 18, 2007
I have had a C Scope 'Newforce' R1 for 2 years now and I love it.Enough adjustability to suit the user without over complicating matters.I NEVER dig iron with this machine as the discrimination is superb.The small graph on the display gives you information and the depth and size/shape of the target so even if iron does get through the discrimination, you can see that it is a large piece and ignore it.

Pinpointing is spot on also as it gives you Audio discrimiation on pinpoint (to further reject iron) and you can place the coil centre directly over the target (unlike my Vaquro). Great for searching gardens or other sensitive areas as you can remove the smallest of turf to retrieve the target and leave the area looking pristine.

It is deep and sensitive and often detects items so small I can hardly see them.

I sometimes take non detectorists out with me to try the hobby and the R1 is the machine I give them whilst I use my Tesoro Vaquero. The reason being I just set the R1 up and tell them "it beeps, you pinpoint, you dig", its that simple as the machine itself does all the thinking for you.

Another bonus is that C Scope customer service is truly outstanding and helpful.

OK, so now the negatives........it is a heavy machine BUT it is well balanced with the battery box up under the elbow but in normal use the weight is not an issue, only when detecting up/down slopes do you notice it.The plus side of this extra weight is the R1 is well made and robust.

A much under rated machine In my opinion and it does the job it was intended to do and does it very well.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

383

Newforce R1

October 23, 2005
got my R1 around a year ago and have been VERY happy with it (Or at least i was until i got my minelab Quattro, But more of that later !)Over the last 12 months i have had some good finds with the R1, None that where/are very valuble (A couple of half sovereigns and several hammereds(I also found my first couple of musket balls with my R1!))but enough to keep me eager to get out detecting.
The ground radar type display has been very helpfull especially when also using a descent pair of earphones to listen for those elusive targets, Over the months i have learned to be able to reconize many targets just by there trace/peaks on the radar display,
So overall i can say that if you are willing to take the time to get to know the R1 it is a very capable detector, And i will be keeping mine as a back-up for my minelab quattro (Which by the way within 2 hours of turning the unit on had pointed me to my first 22 carrat gold ring, which was valued at around 280 UK pounds (May not be a huge find to some, But to me it is !!!))

Overall Rating 5 stars!

658

Submit your review for Newforce R1

Submit your tip for Newforce R1