Fisher ID Edge

Fisher ID Edge Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.64
Based on 14 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher ID Edge

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Id edge

August 12, 2015
After owning a Sovereign GT, Garrett 2500 and Explorer II for years, I needed something lighter. My arm was just getting too tired after swinging for more than 30 minutes. My two choices were F75 or ID edge. Since ID Edge was less expensive and the reviews were very positive, I decided to take a chance and purchase a used ID Edge.

After reading the instructions, which by the way were not very detailed, I decided to drive a bit east, just outside the Iroquois National Wildlife Refuge Park and give it a try. To test its capabilities, I set the "disc" to minimal, "sens" to 10, "all metal" mode ON. I balanced the ground (which is VERY easy) and off I went. I started sweeping. Nothing. Not a single beep.
The detector was either not working properly or it was just that good and not providing any false alerts. After sweeping for a few minutes it went off. HOORAY!!! I then used the "pinpoint" mode to better ID the exact location and depth. After digging approx 10" and going through a pile of soil, I dug-out a gib screw just a bit smaller than a dime. WOW!!! I asked myself. Can I detector really be that good? Apparently yes it can.

My next question was, what the hell was a gib screw doing 10" below the ground near the park? ID Edge is not only VERY light, but also VERY accurate and it goes DEEP. You can swing this all day long, without missing a target. Too bad you can't say this about other detectors. It is by far the BEST detector that I ever owned AND will ever own. Too bad I cannot get another one for my wife.

I believe that they were discontinued because the technology is way ahead of its time. For now, I will only use my ID Edge and will always keep my eyes open for another one, two, ..... It is highly recommended. I don't think that not too many other detectors can come even close to the ID Edge. WOW!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
92

Fisher 1266 with an id

September 11, 2014
I love my Id Edge its like my 1266x with an Id and it can see good targets through iron like a tesoro in bad soil. Its a true work horse in the field and loves to hit on deep silver coins. My 1266 is my back up detector to my Edge. It will also hit deep and hard on nickles. If you are hitting nickles than sooner or later it will hit gold. Ground balance is easy,easy,easy!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
81

Just ok at best

August 30, 2014
I read the review (ok at best) and found it very funny at best. The guy from the midwest cant even spell. I do not even think he could operate a metal detector with basic instructions. That joker even put in his post that the Ace250 is better. The Ace250 or the Garretts top dog gti2500 could not beat the Id Edge in any ground conditions. My Id Edge will take on any garrett green machine or yellow machine in disc or all metal mode.
I know because I have owned and used those mentioned machines plus many other brands like wilsons, Tesoros, and Minelabs in my test garden. I sell the ones that do not pass the nail, coin, and on how deep the unit can hit the targets. The Wilson relicand coin, Compass RM7 and the Id Edge are my keepers. I still would like to purchase a minelab etrac to see how it would respond in my test garden.

The guy from the midwest needs to keep the mighty Ace250 so I can go behind him to pick up the good targets while he takes out the trash targets that read good on the crappy ace. No garrett of any kind will hit a 10+ inch deep quarter in my test garden like the Wilson or the Id Edge. The relic RM7 can reach it in (mid disc. Mode tuned). HH

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
81

Another look at the edge

August 23, 2014
I had posted negative reviews on the Id Edge until I picked up the instructions that the unit come with and then I realized I was wrong about this fine unit. Now that I learned how to ground balance plus set the settings properly the detector is very impressive in depth 9 inches on a freshly buried quarter with a solid Id Wow! It even id a freshly buried nickel at 7+ inches. I had mentioned the volume was low but realized it can be adjusted also to blow you ears off. If I could delete my earlier posts I would for I am human and learn by trial and error. Happy Hunting.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
91

Fisher id edge is a winner

July 14, 2014
Had two back in 2010-11, one was a back-up. A great machine, a real sleeper, too bad First Texas discontinued this model when they bought out fisher. Regret selling the two to buy a Fisher F5 and Tek Omega. Should have kept the Edge. It is deep, and a real clad magnet with the 6" search coil. Extra deep with the 10" coil.

Here's how I compare the Edge, it's like a Tesoro Golden Sabre, Bandido, Cortes rolled into one unit. Recently bought another and found a 6" search coil for it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
111

What a machine

June 24, 2014
I have owned a Minelab gt, Garrett Gti1500, Fisher 1265x, Compass RM7, and many tesoros but when I got a hold of the Fisher ID Edge what a detector. I was mind blown at the performance. The Compass RM7 was the deepest until I got the ID Egde saying I can nail a freshly buried quarter 10+ inches and get a reliable ID. In my test bed the fisher has put all my other detectors on ebay for sale. I will keep the Compass RM7 but the Id edge is staying.

I will buy another one if I see one on ebay. I think its so funny to see the posts on those jokers comparing an ace 250 to the Edge. The Ace 250 cant nail a quater at 3+ inches without falsing and barely hits it at best. That's why ebay is flooded by Aces. $1000.00 would not buy my edge. Don't buy the Ace 250 unless you lost your car plates or boat anchor.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
102

Fisher ID Edge

April 17, 2012
I have been detecting for over 30 years and have used many makes of machines including Minelab Sovereign and X-Terra’s, Whites MXT, Garrett GTP 1350 and Tesoro Vaquero.

I bought a used Fisher ID Edge about 5 years ago which came with the standard 8 inch coil and as with any detector it takes a little time to get used to it. I found the depth was very impressive even with the 8 inch coil. A while later I decided to buy a 10 + ½ inch coil to supplement it and was amazed at the extra depth. I could pull Victorian copper pennies from over 12 inches in pasture land and small Roman coins from up to 10 inches. I dug one target which was so deep I thought it was a large piece of iron and asked my colleague Martin to check the target with his Garrett Ace 250 but he couldn’t get a signal, I persevered and eventually found a small bronze Roman coin at a measured 15 inches, I just couldn’t believe it and neither could Martin.

Here in the UK the pull tab, coins, and jewellery modes are pretty useless so I didn’t use them. I set the machine up with no iron rejection as I like to hear everything that’s going on under the coil. Ignore the low beeps and dig everything over a target ID of about +10. You may dig pull tabs and thick foil but here in the UK this is where you find the medieval thin silver coins.

I could run the machine almost at full sensitivity without any falsing. It’s light and easy to set up and ground balance. The only drawback was the larger coil was fairly heavy and I had to stop and rest my arm every so often, but with the incredible depth, excellent discrimination and spot-on pinpointing it was well worth it.

The only draw back was it took 2 x PP3 9 volt batteries which here in the UK are very slightly larger than the US batteries and as such it’s a tight squeeze to get them in and difficult to extract them. Other than that it’s a brilliant detector.
I sold it after about 2 years as the battery compartment was getting a bit tatty after prizing the batteries in and out. I thought that Fisher had really cracked it with this machine and the newer machines would be at least as good or even better, I bought a Fisher F4 on the strength of the ID Edge, big mistake but that’s another story which is related on this web-site.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

151

ID Edge is my favorite

December 13, 2010
This detector has all of the desired features built in. Detects a dime at 7" with a high tone signal in mild soil. Pinpointing is precise too. For the price it is a winner. Takes two 9 volt batteries but will operate the same on just one battery. Great all-around detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

191

A very good all around detector

January 02, 2007
I was very happy to see that Fisher upped the performance ante of the ID Edge over the Excel. While a very good detector, I felt the Excel lacked a little in depth compared to other detectors in its price range. While not quite in the same league with top of the line units, the ID Edge has more than sufficient depth in most ground conditions to handle 90% of my hunting needs.

Considerable use at old and new sites proved it sufficiently deadly at picking up those iffy signals in trash/iron to put it in the upper echelon of coin detectors. While hot on coins, I was also pleased to see that Fishers engineers were able to tune it for above average sensitivity to small low conductive targets. This kind of sensitivity to small low conductors is seldom seen with lower frequency "coin" detectors. When compared against another new ID detector to come out recently, in ground useage showed the Edge to read the small bits solidly in the low numbers range without the bouncing readings from iron to foil that the other detector displayed despite its slightly higher operating frequency.

My hunting is split between land sites in spring/fall and shallow fresh water wading during the summer months so it was nice to see that Fisher made the Edge chest mountable, an ability the Excel lacked and was sorely missed by me.

Fresh water wading requires a detector that is able to handle a wide variety of conditions. Whether hunting on deep sand lake bottoms, mixed sand and gravel bottoms or sand/clay the Edge handled it with no apparent problems. On occasion I did find it necessary to reduce the sensitivity to 6 to enable the detector to ground balance in the water. However, after the auto ground balance procedure I was always able to increase the sensitivity to near maximum with the detector operating totally stable.

Fresh water wading requires a detector that is able to handle a tremendous amount of iron. This is an area where I found that the ID Edges big brother the Coins$trike faltered. Iron responses are amplified greatly in the water and the C$ circuits are unable to handle this increased signal strength. The Edge on the other hand handles the same conditions with seeming ease.

Others have pointed out some problems with the ID Edges control interface. The pushbuttons are a little odd in their tactile response I admit. That aside, IMO Fisher engineers did an excellent job where it counts. On land or shallow wading the ID Edge shows it has "the right stuff".

Tom

Overall Rating 5 stars!

765

Nice Job Fisher

December 12, 2006
Tone ID, depth readings and it's a typical Fisher

DEEP DEEP DEEP....Easy to operate, light and fun!

And the small ID EDGE coil is available now! Found two Mercs at about 6 inches first outing!

It's fun to use with only iron discriminated out and listen to the tones and not worry about the screen until you hear a high tone!

Relic hunting next...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

223

Submit your review for Fisher ID Edge

Submit your tip for Fisher ID Edge