Treasure Mate Pinpointer

Price: $170
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.73
Based on 11 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00

Submit your review for Treasure Mate Pinpointer

Compare to ▼
Nokta Pointer $139
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Nokta RS Pinpointer $130
Garrett Pro Pointer $150
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170
Sun Ray X-1 Probe $220

Built like a brick

December 28, 2013
I love my Treasure Mate. I have had it for a few years now and it is built like a brick st house. I'm not easy on my detecting gear and this thing holds up to the abuse. The sensitivity and ease of use are great as well. As far as the battery goes, you don't have to replace it often and I just carry a spare in the pack and have a screw driver on my multi-tool, so it isn't a big deal... I mean, come on, how many guys are out wandering around without at least a basic multi-tool? Those guys are just asking for Murphy to stop by.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Professional

May 05, 2012
This probe shares a three way tie with the Detector pro pistol probe and the Garrett pro-pointer. Well worth the investment ! IMHO ~ Joe Dirt

Overall Rating 5 stars!

12

Treasure Mate for life!

March 31, 2010
A perfect pinpointer, well worth the money. Used by me mainly for coins and coin-sized relics and jewelry. A motion pinpointer, but it will "lock in" on the strongest signal and require no motion when it's closest to the target. Very deep and stable when set right. I haven't had the "loose knob" problem that some have, if the knobs did turn just make a mental note of where to set them; there are only 2 and it takes about 1/2 a second!
Who cares about having to "remove 4 screws" to replace the 9V battery? You only have to do that about once every 50 hours of use in tone mode (30 hrs. in vibrate). The carrying holster and pouch are of high quality, too.
Very impressed!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

221

A1 Pinpointer

August 27, 2009
Great little unit....very powerful!
The on/off switch is almost to easy to turn on....other then that I am a Very Happy Costomer!
A Great Bang for the Buck!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

81

Treasuremate Probe

August 27, 2009
As the other reviews have said this probe works great! The one thing I have learned is when the unit becomes unstable. I change the battery and the probe works again. I checked the Voltage on the old battery and it read 7.5 Volts. Put a fresh one in and the problem stopped.

Overall Rating 4 stars

90

Great performance, should be more user-friendly

October 27, 2008
As far as performance goes, this unit is a champ. It has really saved time and made my recoveries much neater. Before the Mate I used a cheapie Cen-Tech unit from Harbor Freight and the difference is like night and day.

Overall I think this unit is worth the price but it does have some features that are definite negatives to me and that's why I dropped the grade by a star.

First of all you have to use a jeweler's (or very small) screwdriver to remove the small screws holding down the battery cover. Also the 9 volt battery fits very tightly and it takes some effort to get the battery out when you are replacing it.

More annoying are the knobs on the unit. As someone else mentioned, the rocker style knob is prone to being accidentally turned off (or on) during use. But the worse thing is the knobs for tuning and ground balancing. They turn way to easily and constantly get accidentally changed during hunting. I put some o-rings on and that solved the problem, but when you spend almost $170 on a pinpointer you shouldn't have to do this to get it to work properly.



Overall Rating 4 stars

271

Great GB

October 22, 2008
This pinpointer leaves the others for dead in highly mineralized ground because of its ground balancing feature. The gold fields here in Australia are full of ironstone makes it tough on any detector, but this one shines. I modified the battery lid by fitting a small hinge and thumb screw, no need for screw driver or fear of losing tiny screw. Bought this unit 2 years ago and still on original battery. I love it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

130

The BEST PINPOINTER OUT!!!!

September 17, 2007
I had a garrett 2500 and just had to have the sunray probe on it,well then I bought a tesoro vaquero,well sunray does not have a probe for tesoro yet,So I bought a treasure mate,Man that is the deal,Dont waste your time or money on any other pinpointer go ahead buy the treasure mate you wont be sorry....SaltwaterMax

Overall Rating 5 stars!

174

Great pinpointer!

February 27, 2007
I have to agree with the other reviews on this one! It is a great unit and never fails to find that target. As the other reviews have stated, The need for a screw driver to change that battery is annoying. I also think the "rocker" style power switch is in a bad location, and too easy to accidentally turn on. I think it should be changed to a "push button" style switch like a MAG light! That would easily jump this unit to five stars and above all in my book. Don't let the minor drawbacks keep you from buying this unit. The benefits surely out weight the drawbacks.
HAPPY HUNTING!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

110

The Best So Far

May 01, 2006
I have been using a Treasure Mate pinpointer for a little over a month now and am very happy. It will pinpoint coins at greater depth than any similar device I have used. Pennies can be located at 1.5 to 1.75 inches and one half dollar was located a little over two inches in wet soil. The Treasure Mate is also quite useful with multiple targets. For instance I found where someone had lost 12 coins in one small area. After the area the coins were in was determined, I turned off the Minelab and used the Treasure Mate to locate the coins.
There are two small negatives. First I do get some interference when using the Treasure Mate in close proximity with my Minelab Explorer II. Second you need a small phillips head screw driver to change batteries. For me, these are small items when compared to the benefits this pinpointer is capable providing. I will not go coin hunting without it!!!

Overall Rating 4 stars

562

Submit your review for Treasure Mate Pinpointer

Submit your tip for Treasure Mate Pinpointer