Minelab Explorer XS

Minelab Explorer XS Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.12
Based on 34 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Explorer XS

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Oldie still cikin!

October 17, 2015
Picked up an XS several months ago. It takes a long time to get used to, but I am glad I didn't give up on it. With the right settings, it is a DEEP MACHINE. Great on the beaches and in parks.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
21

Explorer xs

October 17, 2015
I liked it until I bought my Sov Elite, wow. I then traded my mint XS for a Sov GT, wow!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
28

Still worthy machine!

September 22, 2015
Picked up a used one for a really good price, to use as a backup, and on the first day, found a 1889 seated dime. It was found in my own yard, which I have hunted pretty extensively over the years. I have to say the explorer will still compete with the best of them.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
11

Xs is BRILLIANT

December 01, 2012
Having paid a pittence for an old XS I didnt expect very much. On my local beach it was fantastic. Depth is the best I have come across. I need to learn the machine better but so far Im really impressed!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

83

Explorer xs

September 28, 2012
I have used several makes and models of detectors from the cheapest to the most expensive and have found that each one has its own advantages and disadvantages. The explorer is a learning machine when first using it is very daunting with all the beeps and squeaks and the high tones which you think are good targets that turn out to be large iron. So for all those people out there that have this machine and are getting down hearted over it this will make you more positive over using it.

Firstly do not use factory settings.
2:Setup your machine which is very straight forward using settings available on the web.
3:Only use a small amount of iron mask.
4:Air test your machine with various items and listen to the sounds it makes depending on the audio settings used Low tones are trash and high tones are good targets.
5:When detecting GO SLOW these machines are highly sensitive but have a slow response time so the slower you go the more you find.
Last of all always be a responsible detectorist filling in your holes and taking away your trash.
Good luck and happy detecting

Overall Rating 5 stars!

82

Minelab xs

June 29, 2012
Minelab xs very deep detector 100 percent if you have the right settings you can go down very deep on small items, used several detectors but xs is the best ever. I'm getting a hoard hunter built that will go 30ft down but ill still keep xs as its very good on land and beach.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

83

Minelab xs, pure class!

January 24, 2012
Have you ever got permission for a (never been done ) bootsale field and thought "what machine to use ? " with only a couple of hours permission, I opted for my explorer xs! using the learn/accept and learn/reject modes earlier at home, I programmed in, £2 coin, £1 coin, 50p, and 20p. I also scanned in some 9 ct gold rings just in case! I then rejected numerous pull tabs! the following hunt and results were done in just three hours! 14 two pound coins, 133 pound coins, 22 fifty pences, 1 9ct gold ring and 11 items and bits of jewellry, and virtually no trash whatsoever! A few aching limbs mind, but boy, was it worth it! I reckon the explorers are the only detectors capable of this type of hunt in such a short time! Pure class!

Overall Rating 4 stars

116

Explorer xs creme de la creme

January 24, 2011
Just had the xs for nearly two weeks and the machine is absolutely superb great deph, many programs available and perform well if you take your time, its a learning machine or switch and go on factory mode so if anyone got issue with their xs buy a ace 250 instead. If my English is bad is because I am a French native so hope you understand two word is superb machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

204

Minelab Explorer XS

June 07, 2010
I have 30 years of detecting under my belt I hunt only farm fields for old coins and relic's and have used all the brands of metal detectors. The Explorer is the worst metal detector of the lot, poorly made awkward to use heavy, pinpointing is a joke, the learning curve is huge, the display is not even close to what it is supposed to be. I have owned this thing for close to five years and learned the tricks, read the book played withe the programs It's not any deeper or even more sensitive than any of the others, White's XLT will blow it away. I have walked the same area in my foot steps with both, minelab stinks and way over rated and priced. Never again will I buy one of their products it's been sent back twice for repairs My white's never.

Overall Rating 1 star

4436

Excellent choice !!

March 05, 2010
Hi, I have too say I've used almost every top model/brand detector on the market and they all have there spot in the field of metal detecting.

The Explorer XS is a top notch contender if you swing it slow but for me thats perfect! The FBS technology is fantastic just need too take the time too learn it. But there are some small issues I have with it one being the 1/8 inch head phone jack ( fixed it put in a 1/4 inch jack) thats a bad idea ML. Also the lower rod should be made out of something a little stronger and the cam locks get week and don't hold upper shaft from slipping down, all these things can be fixed so thats a plus!
Also Minelab you need too get better customer service via E-Mail. Besides that I'm more than happy with mine and I would buy another Explorer XS tomorrow. Excellent, excellent performance!! Minelab you have my vote!!

Overall Rating 4 stars

244

Submit your review for Minelab Explorer XS

Submit your tip for Minelab Explorer XS