Falcon Gold Probe MD20

Falcon Gold Probe MD20 Price: $220
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.73
Based on 11 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars3.71
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Falcon Gold Probe MD20

Compare to ▼
Vibra-Quatic 2 Pinpointer $169.95
Detectorpro Pistol Probe $170
Treasure Mate Pinpointer $170
Pocket UniProbe $300
Sun Ray X-1 Probe $220
Minelab Pro-Find 25 Pinpointer $170

Works great

November 11, 2015
Adjust the copper ring for the mode you want. Ground balance knob to 1:00 Sensitivity knob to 1:00 Make small adjustment to stop buzzing. Use test card to make sure. Done Can detect very small specs of gold!!! What is not to like? No volume control for speaker. Awesome!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Falcon md 20

September 07, 2015
I got my falcon 20 about a year from now. This device is an excellent tool for people that need to find fine gold on rocks that metal detectors will not detect. I got some very small pieces of gold flares and tested with falcon that confirm loud and clear the presence of gold, that of course was not detected with Fisher Gold Bug II and Whites TDI. Sorry for my English.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Disappointed

June 23, 2015
I had very high hopes for the Falcon MD20, after reading all the mostly terrific reviews. But after spending $285 on the whole setup (extended handle set, holster) I feel like I wasted my money. At home I get mostly false positives (single beeps that don't repeat), and in the field I get nothing but noise (I turn it on and nothing I do will make it stop blaring). It's been completely useless. Even when it's not giving me non-stop noise, the settings are constantly changing. Frustrating.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 1 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
32

Not pleased

March 26, 2015
I "had" one of these units and it was less than a year old but was falsing constantly so I got in touch with the supplier who in turn asked me to contact Wally DeShon. After getting me to change the pot settings and voiding the warranty he asked me to send it in. Once it got there it took 2 weeks to access the problem and finally after 2 weeks he answered and said that it needed a new probe and it would be $100 plus $17 USD for shipping. The unit at this time was less than one year old so I asked if warranty covered it and he asked to see the warranty card. The supplier never did include a warranty card so Wally would not honour the warranty on the product.
I sent him the bill of sale with the serial Number and store info with it but it made no difference as he wanted the warranty card. I then asked him to send the detector back and it took a long time for him to respond back so after many attempts at trying to get in touch with him, I contacted the BBB and filed a report.

After this, he no longer responded back to me and after 1 year he still has the MD20 that I shipped to him and he no longer answers my emails. To potential buyers, BEWARE of this company. The probe has been the weak point of this detector and the problem has never been addressed. I want my MD20 back but he will not respond back to my requests. I shouldn't have to contact the police to get him to return my product.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 2 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Handy thing to have around.

October 21, 2014
I have lots of birds and got this after freaking out about a missing staple. My thoughts went to: Did somebody eat it? Should I take 20 birds to the vet for xrays? Everybody looked fine, so I found this gadget on the internet and purchased it. BTW I found the staple, on a table, after ordering the md20.

Anyway, even though there is a bit of a learning curve and I didn't get any instructions, this detector has helped me many times around the house. Including checking a pvc trap, from the outside, for a missing metal object. That would have been a yucky job otherwise. Though it's very pricey for a household metal detector, the sensitivity is phenomenal. You can actually detect the iron in your blood. If you have one of these, adjust the sensitivity and place it near a major artery... You'll hear a beep. Since I don't use it often, I can't comment on the battery life. I've had it a few years and changed the batteries once. I gave it 5 stars for durability, however I don't bang it around a lot so I can't really comment.
If it came with easy instructions, I would have given it 5 stars overall.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
23

The best of two

May 25, 2014
I used to own the old MD10 and I will tell anyone that would listen that its the best thing going in the detection of fine gold and very fine gold as in DUST. Now I had that detector right after they introduced and used it on a dry claim for about three years and never had a real problem with it, I knew as I went from one area to another that the settings would change but it is not hard to reset or set up this detector.

Now here we are about 12 years later and I have bought my second MD20 and I have found out that adjusting it to run well is just as easy as the old style and if anything I have found out that it is more sensitive than the MD10 I have used it around the Deadwood area and it has done well and now I will turn it lose on a claim that I own in Rockerville there the gold is mostly DUST and small particles so it will be exciting to see if it does as well as its old partner the WD10.

This is truly the best in the locating of fine gold and those of us who have spent a day or so looking for gold know that there is more fine gold dust than there is nuggets. This and a Minelab make a pair of detectors that can not be beat by the others they rate Hands Down as a number 1 choice in Gold Detection.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
40

Unstable setting

June 17, 2013
I have not long received a new falcon MD 20 I have found it to be very unstable, you get the setting right then they seem to alter without adjusting, it does pick up small pieces of gold if the setting could be set and locked in would be a better unit.

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
25

Miner

March 30, 2012
Unbelievable . . . this is a great product. when I first got it I ran the probe over some blond sand concentrate I had that I knew had gold bingo it detected it. I set both the setting at 12:30 when running screenings and down to -50 100. depending on were I am mining the setting change. my wife made me a chest holster out of a blue jean pants leg, with elastic straps. looks like a radio vest that wild land fire fighters use or a real small front baby caring thing

Overall Rating 5 stars!

176

Knob adjustment fix

October 27, 2010
I love mine. I also had a problem with the knobs being too easy to bump off setting. I tried the trick suggested by Falcon and used 2 fat 1/4 O-Rings I got from ACE Hardware .49 each, put them under the knobs. Great Fix

Overall Rating 5 stars!

775

Falcon MD20

January 04, 2010
I bought the Falcon MD20 last month to sample material I remove from bedrock and also while dry washing. It is very accurate and will pick up tiny pieces of gold in the gold pan. It is easy to distinguish between black sand and gold. Sensitivity is great, and when you dial it in, very accurate. Its very easy to use. I have the belt holster and it seems to work best if placed BEHIND you. That way you wont accidentally adjust the knobs and lose your setting.

A really neat little unit and well worth the money. I also classify and screen my cons when drywashing. I then run it through the pebble sized cons in the pan, then check the fines as well. Some "experts" will tell you a good pinpointer will find the same gold. I'm not buying it. I have compared it to a couple of different ones and it the Falcon blows them away on the small stuff. The only thing I would add are switch covers to prevent the knobs from being moved accidentally during use.

Overall Rating 4 stars

902

Submit your review for Falcon Gold Probe MD20

Submit your tip for Falcon Gold Probe MD20