Fisher F2

Fisher F2 Price: $200
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.11
Based on 47 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.25
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher F2

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Fisher F22 $230
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199

Fisher f2

November 25, 2015
Just got it 2weeks ago after reading all the reviews my first mach, tried the whites 800 but I'll take the Fisher finding quarters with no problem, works very well glad I bought it over some other models.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
81

Not canadian coin friendly

April 27, 2015
I'm not saying this isn't a good detector but it is geared for American coins. As far as Canadian coins are concerned it picks them up no problem but you don't have a clue what they are. The numbers are all over the place. I have read everything I could find on this unit, all the tips and tricks but it doesn't mean a thing because as I said the coins come in as whatever and gold and jewelry register as iron, foil, nickle. The point being you have to DIG EVERYTHING. If that's the case and it is you are better off buying a cheaper detector. One that beeps only.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
124

True coin hog

August 22, 2014
I've owned my F2 since it first came out. Believe it or not it's a very powerful detector especially for the money, it can be a real coin hog. It can go head to head against detectors costing far more. It's simplicity is it's greatest strength. It's hit on clad dimes at 9” in moist soil, loves zinc penny’s at any depth, locks on to high conductive targets and gives steady target ID numbers down to a good 6”.

As Far as nickels they can be a challenge but after a while you can learn to read their signature. Besides the sound they make, the target ID will bounce between 28-32 pretty consistent, If their deeper than say 5” the numbers will read 26, 27 – 30.
Pin pointing is spot on, I like to detune the coil for even greater accuracy. With one exception though, zinc penny’s pin point the size of a dinner plate when their on the surface, that's when you really need to detune the coil.

I have the 4” sniper coil that is amazing in high trash areas, the 8” coil is my preferred coil of choice, and the 10” DD which for all the bragging about on web forums I don't care for. It thinks bottle caps and rusted washers are quarters, but it does get better depth. It has a lighting fast recovery which allows you to swing the coil a little faster and not miss anything, and with the 4” coil makes it a killer in trashy areas.

As far as it's construction, it may seem toy like because it's so light weight and all plastic, but it's very rugged. It has spent many a summers in the back of my car going back and forth to work and to hunt sights and anywhere else I went with my car. It even spent last winter in the garage at freezing temperatures. Still works like the day I got it, just dirty and scratched up. I've even hunted a few woods using it to push light brush out of the way as I hunted.
Fisher set the bar high for an entry level machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
221

F2 is great for the $

July 29, 2014
I have reviewed my F5, now for my newest detector. I bought the F2 as a second detector for my grandson as well as my "turn on and go" carry along. I'm not going to knock other detectors in this p-rice range, but the F2 delivers better than a few other $200-$250 units I have had. It is turn on and go simplicity.
I turn it on, crank the sensitivity up to max, notch iron out with one touch and I'm off. It has separate tones for iron, nickles, tabs and silver (coins). It has a very fast recovery rate and kills anything in the 6-7" range. If you hold the PP down, the AM can hit a quarter/dime at 10". But if I want AM search, I use the F5.

This is really a disc machine. The ID numbers are fast and accurate. With the numbers and tone, it becomes easier to distinguish a tab from a nickel. If you just use the coin segments, it hits coins hard and brings almost no junk in. The PP can easily ID the difference between a can and silver by raising the coil as you pass the target. The PP numbers range from 00 to 12". It is a little off on depth by maybe an inch or so. It is very light and easy to swing.

I have two other coils for it, but find that the 8" stock concentric is perfect for my baseball field style hunting. I dug a 14K gold ring today that hit as a nickel. So don't notch nickels.
Hope this helps.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
220

Fisher F2

March 06, 2013
The fisher f2 is good metal detector. But if you live in different country and you have different coins then Americas coins it's not so good. You need to dig up every signal, except iron. (p. s. Latvia coins 1 and 2 santims reads like iron) the pintpoint is excellent. And sometimes the detector gives false signals. The recovery speed is perfect.

It would be better if the detector is not saying the dime, zinc but aluminum, silver, copper and so it would be great that it says what metal not what American coin. It would be great for me.
Sorry for my bad English.

Overall Rating 4 stars

248

Right on target

July 31, 2012
I have used the F2 for (3) years now, and can say it's a dependable detecting unit. In the last 4 months, I have been keeping it in the car, and detect for an average of (5) days a week, one hour each day. When I head out, I set the sensitivity as high as possible without getting false signals, and set the discrimination to reject only "iron".

The pinpoint feature is helpful at retrieving targets without the need for digging a hole too wide (and I also use a pinpointer for faster target recovery).
The target identification is dead accurate. So when you get a target with the meter bouncing, say from "nickel" to "tab" to "zinc", it is a pull tab. I know its RIGHT ON TARGET, because I dig everything--I dig pull tabs to not pass up any opportunity at finding gold. What a nice feeling though, it is to have it give you a "repeatable" number while X-ing, because that is a good target--a coin or other valuable find !

Overall Rating 4 stars

292

F2 review

June 25, 2012
I purchased the f2 about three weeks ago. It came with the standard 8" coil. I have found 5 cavil war bullets all 6-7" deep and under roots. A colonial hammered ring under 6" of old foundation rocks. And the best and most recent was a silver 1 real dated 1778. Which was only 3" in the side of a bulldozers tailings. Not to mention the 30 or so coins dug from my front and back yard. All this was found in a combined 24 hours of run time with this machine.

The most impressive aspect is the recovery speed. You can swing as fast as you want and it will hit EVERYTHING in its field of view! It is truly an awesome machine for the price and the turn on and go aspect. If you're a weekender like me just out to dig something good, then this is the machine for you. Great for beginners. However if your looking to find gold or anything at 10+ inches the machine you want will be 10x the money. Thats the difference between $200 and $1200. Hey I love it full stars from me. Happy hunting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

310

Coin hunter

May 13, 2012
Been detecting on and off for years. have my first detector fisher 552. Bought an f2 about a year ago. Great machine. Practice and get to know it, I don't really look at the screen any more, may look at the depth indicator from time to time. Set my sens. at max and go sometimes around power lines or ground cond. I have to lower it.
Target id usually right on sometimes with max sens. and depth may be off have had deep pennies ring as dimes. Faint iron signals pulled mercury dimes at 7in. coins 2-7in easy. Found old tax token at 6in on edge faint but good signal. Have been using it for about a season 7 mercury dimes, 3 silver quarter. Liberty half, 4 silver rings, two necklaces one gold one silver, 4 silver rings, oldest 1835 large cent from a park thats been hunted since the 80's hard. Great machine. highly recommend.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

264

Nice machine

March 17, 2012
I bought a Fisher F-2 last year to have as a backup unit and have used it quite a bit. I love the machine and how simple it is to use and also love the light weight which allows me to hunt for hours with virtually no arm fatigue. The ID meter is very accurate as far as identification but I'm not all that crazy about the depth readings and the fact that it seems to LOVE cans. For the price, it's a nice little machine and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Overall Rating 4 stars

188

Fun to use but not perfect

October 30, 2011
The F2 was my first machine.
I found it an easy and above all a fun machine to use.
But in wet conditions, (early morning dew, after a rainshower) it didn't perform well. To many false signals when touching wet grass.
Later I heard the same complains from other F2 users. This something not to take lightly when you detect in an area/country where wet conditions are common.
But in dry conditions, with its multi tone, numeric readout and solid discrimination it is a delight to use.
Its depth depends on the amount of mineralization of the soil you are detecting on. Ground balance is preset and can't be altered.
This explains why there are so many different opinions about how deep this machine can go.

In short: I find the F2 a perfect beginners machine in dry conditions.
But when everything is wet it starts to behave very nervous.
Since a few months I have upgraded to a Golden Mask 1+ (18khz) and haven't used my F2 since.
Sometimes I miss the numeric readout, multi tone disc, the perfect pinpoint mode and the lightness of the F2, but overall the Golden Mask performs much better in all conditions.

Overall Rating 3 stars

4913

Submit your review for Fisher F2

Submit your tip for Fisher F2