Whites Surf PI Dual Field

Whites Surf PI Dual Field Price: $900
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.62
Based on 13 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.75
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.75
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Surf PI Dual Field

Compare to ▼
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro $700
Garrett Infinium LS $1200
Garrett Sea Hunter Mark II $750
Tesoro Sand Shark $679
Fisher Impulse $700
Headhunter Pulse $700

Fantastic machine

September 20, 2017
I have used this machine a full year and it is Really the best water detector I have ever owned. I have owned a excalibur by minelab, and a Tesoro Sand shark.. both are great machines. BUT the Dual Field is by far the best value. I have found gold rings 12 inches down in the Sand..Being a pulse machine it sounds off on The smallest of metal targets. By having to dig every target increases your chances of finding the gold.
You will need a strong scoop and a strong back because this machine goes deep. I don't know how you could improve this machine WHITES HAS A WINNER FOR THE SURF AND BEACH.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Wow!!!

August 01, 2017
Wow! WHAT a machine...It is a workhorse for me... I have been detecting for many years and had A lot of different detectors...But I can honestly say.. this is the best water and beach detector out there in my opinion. Its very deep.. Only problem.. You can Get exhausted digging deep targets.. I have only been water detecting for about 18 months and I paid for my machine with my finds. I have had an EXCALIBUR and I personally like the dual field better.
Remember, its a pulse machine with no discrimination so you dig everything, and by doing that your gold recovery will increase.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Beachcomber dream come true

April 21, 2017
I've owned my Whites PI over a year now and I will tell you that this machine is a workhorse. My primary use is at the South Florida beaches. I find everything with it, from pennies to 18kt gold chains and everything in between.

DEPTHS: My suggestion is get the biggest damn scoop you can find because your going to need it. I have dug down in knee high surf for 15-20 minutes until I hit my target (a cellphone). I can truly say if this detector had a price tag of $1500.00 you would have no problem recouping your investment but it's around 800 to 900 bucks so go and get it. You can't go wrong.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
41

Broken back

October 13, 2015
Amazing machine, as others say it will give you a good workout, finding small pieces of wire and brass .22 cal bullet at 20+ inches, old coins from late 1800 early 1900 on beaches that have been 'cleaned' by other detectorists, even ring pulls go deep. After 3 hours have to stop as back cant take no more punishment. Starting to be able to discriminate some tones now after about 12hrs of use. Highly recommend this machine and easy to use, well done and thanks to whites.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
83

Sweetness

June 10, 2012
I am just thinking about getting into this and I am definitely going for the big boy. It will be the first time I live right across the street from the beach. I think I should get water one I am dying to get to it by the way awesome website I am glad u all are doing this if u were not I would've bought the cheap one and probably broke it over my knee lol

Overall Rating 2 stars

967

AWESOME Deep!

April 08, 2012
This machine goes deep. . . no, it goes darned deep! I have dug holes a foot plus deep multiple times to get my targets. I can not say that about any of my VLF detectors. The Whites Dual Field having headphone hardwired is just remarkable in helping to hear faint whispers for deep items, and they boom loud for shallow finds.

This Pulse Induction machine makes my Minelab Sovereign seem like it just scratches the surface by comparison. The controls are straight forward and easy to use. Being around sand and going into the water is never problem. The elements have no effect on this solid design by Whites Electronics.

Clean up is simple, all it takes is just a freshwater wash down and dry it up. Batteries are easy to replace/install after about 20+ hours of use. Re-assembly of the control box is fast with 2 quick snaps, and your are ready to go again. No fancy chargers and expensive power pack to mess with make it very nice.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

674

Get a big scoop for deep digging!

January 28, 2012
I got my White's Surf Dual Field PI metal detector after reading about it on several sites and the good reviews.

One thing I do not like about it is the factory shaft. I prefer straight shafts with the control box rearward of my elbow so I immediately changed that. Much better for sure!

I took it to several beaches down in Florida and found it to be a very different machine than a VLF machine to use. It took a little bit of use to get used to it but I am now beginning to see the advantages of PI machines in the salt water and salt beaches.

It is a dig all machine but, after a while I am now hearing the differences that certain types of targets and can sort of kind of ID the targets. I still dig all but that can be a good thing depending on the beach.

You will need to choose your beaches and areas wisely as trashy beaches are not for this machine. Best to use it near or in the water as the salt water corrodes the trash to make it disappear making for better hunting conditions with a PI.

I also recommend getting a good strong big scoop because I have noticed that it is a deeper machine than even the great Minelab Excalibur even when used in pin point!

Bobby pins and nails give double beeps most of the time and rings, nickels and aluminum pull tabs usually give a real strong signal. Buried beer cans down to three feet or more.

Yeah you dig it all. But you don't miss much!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

453

Dig Dig and Dig, after you Dig, Dig some more! lol

November 21, 2010
Without a doubt, the best on the beach. However if you plan on using it on a dirty beach, you might try turning down your gain and T hold a little below the preset and add a little delay. It will reduce the garbage signals and allow the strong good stuf to come through.
My most amazing find was junk and drove me crazy. A 1" strand of 14 gauge copper wire that was down just over 20". Just imagine digging that in the surf. Was hoping for at least an earring for my efforts, I was determined to see what was so elusive.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

517

Be careful what you wish for!!!

August 16, 2010
Everyone in the metal Detecting world wants a machine that "Goes Deep" including myself, well The White's Dual Field PI Pro was more than I bargained for!

Ultra sensitive and Goes SUPER DEEP! I've abandoned about 5 holes cause my leg was 7"-8"deep in sand while standing on the back of my scoop still digging a signal!!! Do the math LOL.
This Detector is not for everyone, you will get a serious work out with this detector for sure. If you're in good health and no back problems, this is your detector. This detector DOESN'T MISS ANYTHING! Hair pins @ 12" & pull tabs @ 12"+, that's a lot of work for junk but boy when you start finding deep rings and coins you'll be glad you own this machine!

Although it's a PI machine you will be able to tell junk with practice. You must bench test this detector to see how deep junk targets and good targets will take you.

Some jewelery I tested like chains and hoop ear rings would give a "double beep" so would a nail! So bench testing is very important don't think just because it's a PI it's going to just "beep' the same way on all metal.

Tip: In the water you must be aggressive and precise with your digging. Try to get the target centered in the smaller coil(x sweep) then put your scoop on the spot where the bottom of the small coil was to get under the target. always try to get "loud" target in one scoop, pussy footing around will cause fatigue and frustration especially if the target is small.
I hunt full sensitivity, no "pulse" and slightly below recommended T-hold. With "pulse" on I notice a drop in my "depth".
I wouldn't recommend you use this detector for "Dry sand" or Land unless one of your goal in life is to end up in a mental hospital LOL. On wet sand and Surf this Detector IS KING!



P.S. I am finding rings and coins on beaches that have been "Raped" by Minelab Excals !!! Happy hunting!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

875

Amazing machine - not for everyone

April 22, 2010
The last week I was out with the whites surfmaster dual field: (before I only had minelab xterra 705)

To keep a long story short:

This is a turn on and go machine, it works on every beach without any disturbance, also on black sand beaches, doesn't need ground balance at all, it goes incredibly deep, I had to dig wholes 20 minutes till I disappeared in the water and still target was deeper.

Excalibur and others don't come even close to this easy and deep finds!

No discrimination so this machine is not for everyone, and definitely not the first detector someone should buy, its a good second machine for someone who has a land machine with good discrimination.

You will dig till your back breaks because surfmaster dualfield finds everything and has no discrimination, so if someone is not really fit its not the right machine - shallow water digging is exhausting and as well as to swing the coil under water, I go into shallow water till water is at my neck, it can really be a problem that this machine goes so deep as you have to dig to find out ...

After 2 hours I was really tired and some wholes I left because after 30 minutes of digging and being in the water up to the neck the target still was deeper ....

so

deeper than any other machine
works under any conditions
easy to use

but

no discrimination (u might be able to interpret signal after a while ..... how deep and what kind of target)

after some days now I even can interpret signal and know at least sometimes if it is an aluminum box, bottle tub and how deep it could be.

Also improved my digging style and often I just "touch/feel" with my leg into the whole to see if its aluminum box or something smaller.

Found 2 silver rings, iphone and lots of coins AND tons of trash within the first 3 days ...

5 stars, this machine is a beast for the advanced beach rat ;-)

This machine is for someone who wants to work on difficult beaches or someone who doesn't mind to dig everything to find jewelry underwater.

Definitely NOT for dry sand / land!

erwin
www.treasureseeker.info

Overall Rating 5 stars!

677

Submit your review for Whites Surf PI Dual Field

Submit your tip for Whites Surf PI Dual Field