Fisher CZ 21

Fisher CZ 21 Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.40
Based on 10 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.75
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.75
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 21

Compare to ▼
Whites Beach Hunter 300 $1000
Minelab Excalibur II $1200
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 1000 $1000
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800

Pinpoint button

July 07, 2016
I'm a old time cz20 user. I loved that machine and I also like the new cz21 except for the new pinpoint button. I hate this button. I never know if it turns on or off. Sometimes it activates and sometimes it don't.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
50

One solid machine

June 28, 2016
I picked up a used CZ21 Aug of 2015, and as of July 2016 I have used it for both land and water hunts. It is a great water machine, and easily hits coins 10 to 12 inches in the water and on the beach(fresh water). On land, it hits deep, but I only dig strong signals. It will easily hit coins at 8-10 inches. I have a number of machines that have digital screens for target IDs but I still have to say that the CZ21 is my favorite all around machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Right choice for me!

August 05, 2015
There are only two VLF water detectors to consider, the fisher CZ 21 or the Minelab Excalibur. These are the two top dogs. Performance wise they are comparable. I went with the CZ21 because it's built like a tank and is less prone to breakage. Only having 3 tones makes it easy to use. I generally run it on auto tune all metal mode for maximum depth then switch to discrimination to identify target. Use fisher chess harness and just swing a bare pole with a coil. Works for me.

Also, fisher labs service is outstanding! Fast turn around time and located in the USA if you should ever need it. If it sounds like I love this detector and company it's because I do.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
160

Cz 21

May 15, 2013
I bought the CZ 21 detector with the 10.5 inch coil and soon after acquired the same detector with the 8 inch coil. To my surprise, the 8 inch coil hit a buried quarter in a test garden deeper than the 10.5 inch coil. The 10.5 inch coil could only hit a quarter at between 8 and 9 inches whereas the 8 inch coil hit the quarter at 11 to 12 inches.

I called Fisher Research Labs in El Paso and was told by two technicians in the repair department that this was normal for the larger coil and that if I sent the unit in for repair it would be sent back to me as being normal. I asked to speak to someone with more knowledge and was given the designer of the coils to talk with. After two calls not being returned, I posted online about the incident. The engineer quickly responded online but still did not return my 2 calls.

He dismissed the problem stating that he was only an engineer and had nothing to do with other departments even though he stated that the larger coil should have hit deeper than the smaller coil and that there must be something wrong with the unit with the larger coil.

He refused to help with getting the unit fixed and referred me to call customer service without adding an extension or number to call. Obviously, service with this company is not good and when buying a product, service can be as important as the product itself.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1421

Cz-21...better, easier than pi machine

September 20, 2012
This machine works great and is silent in the saltwater or the wet sand. IMPORTANT.. .. . digging a lot less, is an excellent and easy to use metal detector. Once you learn to use it, you will do very well.
Is fantastic beach hunter that I am going to keep forever.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

164

My 3rd detector and I like it.

July 15, 2011
After using a PI for half year I purchased the CZ 21 with 8" coil. I really like the discrimination ability. This machine seems to go as deep as my PI. My PI has a 12" coil which is very hard to pinpoint and control in the surf. I am finding more with the CZ 21 and digging a lot less.

The CZ 21 also finds the small gold and silver. I found one small silver ring maybe 20" down in dry sand at a well worked site. This machine works great and is silent in the saltwater or the wet sand. The battery life is long. The three different tones are easy to here and always correct.
The pin pointing button takes a little time to get the hang of it, but works nice after you learn how to tap it and it pinpoints very well. Easy to ground balance. I really think it will be the only MD I use from now on. Nice shaft and headphones come with it so no extras to buy.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

659

Fisher cz great detector

September 15, 2010
I previously owned a whites dfx for seven years paid $1200 for it and I never grasped the complex and difficult settings on it. The fisher is a much better detector and easer to use.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3811

CZ-21, an excellent land and water machine

June 15, 2010
The CZ-21 is an excellent and easy to use metal detector. Once you learn to use it, you will do very well. It is easy to ground balance and it can be rod, chest, or hip mounted with no problems. It is waterproof down to 250 feet and comes with a straight rod mount that can also be used for diving. The detector, when used in the AutoTune (a wide scan all metal mode) setting is very sensitive, and its 3 tone ID makes detecting a pleasure.
If you want gold, dig the mid tones.
If you are hunting for coins, dig the high tones. If you hear a low tone - it is probably iron.

A low/medium means a possible gold target next to iron. The detector will have trouble finding tiny gold necklaces or tiny chain link bracelets unless they have a clasp, but then the other brands of water detectors also have difficulty in finding such targets.

Be sure to swing the detector coil slow in the water and you will have great success. The pinpoint button takes some getting used to, but after a while in the water you will not even bother using it. Overall, the CZ-21 is an excellent and well built detector that can be used on land or in the water. And, it is proficient in both ocean and fresh water as well as on dry or wet sand.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

749

Cz 21 very easy

November 02, 2009
The cz21 is a very easy machine never disc mode more then 3, then you will mis to much. It works always good in water at land at coast just wonderful. The pinpoint button is not easy you must learn to use it. I have always the ground and sensetifeti on 10, never have problems .
Very small gold you will not find, but for that you will have no problem with ground control.
I rebuild the chest belt, wear it without neck belt just around the middle. The depth is OK but not very good but good enough.

Overall Rating 4 stars

2534

Good but not see gold chain and small gold ornaments.

June 03, 2009
I have selfmade VLF 2 freq 7 and 14 khz micropocessor MD. Sensitivity CZ-21 in all metal mode is much better my MD, but selfmade MD see small gold ornaments and chain at 14 khz, CZ-21 dont see.

Overall Rating 4 stars

3679

Submit your review for Fisher CZ 21

Submit your tip for Fisher CZ 21