Fisher F-70

Fisher F-70 Price: $650
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.18
Based on 17 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.00
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher F-70

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Nokta Velox One $629

Fisher f70

March 25, 2015
This is the third metal detector I've owned. I started with a Garrett 250 and then a Fisher Gold Bug. I had high hopes for the F70 but I am baffled by it. After 2 weeks at playgrounds parks and school grounds I have yet to find so much as a penny. I have tried numerous discrimination levels, and all I seem to pull up is rusted iron. I am beginning to wonder if all I am left with is a very expensive door stopper.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
819

Take your time and learn your machine

March 01, 2014
The F70 is a fine machine very capable of finding anything, will keep up with the "Big Boys" just fine. I have had mine for a little over 6 months now and it has completely paid for itself in gold finds alone. This detector loves gold, and with the 11DD coil it goes deep. I find coins with mine as deep as 10-12 inches in deep sand.

The biggest problem I see people having with this machine is that they don't take time to learn what it will do and what it won't. This machine has a ton of power, to much for most people, they complain about it being noisy, well it is, if you turn it up all the way. I can't hardly find a place where I can max this machine out, but with that being said if you operate it in a reasonable manner it still goes very deep.

We have done air test on it and it seems to perform best around these settings: disc 4 sens 60-75 thres 0-1 Of course if your environment will let you go higher on the setting then do it, just don't blame the machine because it was engineered to have the ability to "hunt into the noise". Fisher designed it that way so you would have all the power you wanted available to you, then you could set up the machine however you wanted for your hunting style and soil.
I have been hunting for around 20 or more years and have used many different detectors and brands, and I will say this is my favorite detector I have ever owned. It is so versatile and capable of almost anything.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
197

Great for BEGINNERS !!!

March 27, 2013
I must say it was my first machine and I was very satisfied with it! I find lots of stuff with it for about 2 years, rings, coins, relics, etc. It's a good detector ! Also I must say this, sometimes you'll find something but sometimes you won't, it's not the detector, neither than you!!! Peace

Overall Rating 4 stars

79

Excellent machine

May 20, 2012
I have owned my F70 for almost 2-1/2 years. In that time, I can say this machine meets all my hunting needs. I have found very deep coin targets. With the 11"DD, this machine can be quite a weapon. I find that most new users of the F70 want to run the machine too hot - 95 sens and 0 or -1 threshold is just too wide open for most places - why? The F70s sensitivity is sooo great. Even in heavy EMI areas, if you need to run the sens at 65 or 70 and -4 or even -6 thresh. you'll still get excellent depth. Just how deep do you realllly need to dig, anyhow?

Machine gives excellent battery life, esp. w headphones. Comfortable, well-balanced, and lightweight. Large display. I have been detecting for 36 years, and have owned many machines. . . . this is my favorite. For the price point, a very hard machine to beat.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3028

My Settings (hope this helps)

September 04, 2011
The F-70 is my second metal detector. My first is a Garrett 250 which paid for itself in two months. Though I love the 250 it's my belief that I was leaving gold in the ground due to the low frequency. So I bought the F-70 that uses 13 kHz.

Getting used to the F-70 has been quite a challenge for me and maybe so for others. So before anyone puts theirs on Ebay please read the following trains of thought.

The best place to start is double checking the F-70 against established benchmarks. In the 80's they called it, “Trust but Verify”. I looked up a chart (highly recommended) at metaldetectingworld.com that shows the conductive order of metals. Then I bench tested the F-70 with these very items. The F-70 results were VERY similar. So my machine is running correctly.

With confidence in the F-70 I kindly asked my wife to test any gold rings she my have. Eight of the ten read between 21-25. The two others were 28 & 29. Men's class rings are 58 by the way. I figure men's rings are so huge they would be hard to loose so I set about notching out everything except 16 though 25. Then set DISC to 20. So between the two I was only looking at 21-25 and anything above 65 (silver, dimes and quarters). This could also similarly done with other gold sections if you want to focus. You need to run very hot though.

Settings

DISC 20
Notch out everything but 15 though 25
Speed = dE
Sensitivity = 85 or up to 99
Threshold = 6 to 9

THIS SHOULD HAVE BEEN A KILLER SETUP. I bench tested and the readings came out perfectly at about 5 inches. In the field though it didn't work out as good as I wanted. Ground testing showed that a number of inches are lost due to the ground as opposed to air. So I was only getting accurate numbers on a 14K gold ring at 2 inches but new something was there at 4 inches. The farther aways from the target the higher the number got. At 3 inches it read about 32 and 4 inches a 36. Not satisfied with this outcome I had to switch to All Metal mode. There you gain back an inch or two but loose the DISC. For some reason All Metal Mode just has more power.

Settings

DISC = 0 = All Metal Mode
Speed = dE
Sensitivity = 85 (don't go lower)
Threshold = 6 Gold rings are a good size but there's a lot more gold earrings and charms.

If the display reads anything under 16 I don't dig because it's either foil or iron. If it's above 16 then I dig. I try to average some find every two to three minutes.(most will still be trash tough). Remember I'm going for gold, coins and silver (not relics).

I don't want anyone to loose heart and give up too early. Try these settings and modify if needed.

What's down there you ask? Let's go find out!

Patrick

PS. The best places to dig are local swimming pools (kids, teens, parents) and apartment complexes (people moving in and out every weekend) with plenty of earth around them. Both will need permission but O' the finds. Also remember drought conditions tend to help us.

Overall Rating 4 stars

2922

Take Your Time...

April 06, 2011
...and learn your machine...

This Fisher F70 is proving to be an excellent finder. Deep, 10", hits on things that I couldn't get to with my two dollar garden trowel because of hard ground...snapped the handle right off of it...and, the machine is very light and well balanced in hand...it seems to discriminate very well...I'm just overall happy with the F70...but, it DOES take a little time to learn...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2213

Fisher f 70

March 29, 2011
I have had this f70 for a year and I don't like it much.It has a long learning curve. It does a lot of different things,it will even work on a mineralized beach. It is not as easy as a Garrett thats for sure! At least I could ground balance with it. The depth is unimpressive. My ace 250 is just as good!

Overall Rating 3 stars

1951

Better and better!

September 20, 2010
This is my fourth review now on the fisher f-70. I must say the reports are only getting better. Since my last report I have unearthed six more silver coins in the same old trashy "worked out area" This time I scored a Half reales 1779,.... 1909, 1912-D , 1937, 1943, 1950, SILVER DIMES. Not bad! This with a 11-inch dd coil, discrimination on 52, threshold -2, sensitivity 90 , Dp tone. I also dug up a silver spoon, skeleton key, colonial button .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

2927

More practice and faith

September 15, 2010
This is my third review with the fisher f-50. Its getting better. I went over the hunted out spot which I reported on about two weeks ago. This time I hunted for an hour and unearthed a 1905 barber dime, 1902 barber dime, and 1944 merc. two wheats, and one corroded indian cent.
All were 5 inches and more. I am convinced THAT THIS MACHINE IS REALLY HOT IN TRASHY AREAS WHEN SEARCHING SLOWLY WITH AN 11 INCH COIL. Persistence and practice with a little patients pays off. Oh, by the way my settings were 54 discrimination, 90 sensitivity, -3 threshold, dp tone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

922

Practice, practice, and a little luck

August 31, 2010
I have an update since my last review. I've been hunting an area where I always believed there was coins in between the trash.

Well I have been rewarded Three hunts, slowly moving in this area with an 11 inch dd coil produced an 1876 seated dime, a 43 merc. two indian cents 1908 and one unreadable, 4 wheat cents 1909, 1913, 1928 1943, a 1946 rosey, silver. Not bad for a coil that large. I hunted with good ground balance, -3 threshold, 90 sensitivity, 54 discrimination. I'm very satisfied. Oh, all coins were 5 inches or better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1022

Submit your review for Fisher F-70

Submit your tip for Fisher F-70