Minelab Xterra 505

Minelab Xterra 505 Price: $600
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.50
Based on 8 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.20
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Xterra 505

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Nokta Velox One $629

Extera 505

July 19, 2017
Extera 505 is great detector in realy hard ground on medieval site I found a tiny peace of aluminium on 20cm whit 7.5 coil so the depth is realy good and detector have gound balnce and treshoold and couple of other things is realy good detector for that kind of money only stupid thing is 3 discrimination paterns only one is enough and it will be realy good thing that they put the noise cancel only on 0 because is okey ond that but there is no perfect detector but extera for me of 1 to 10 I will give some strong 7

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
00

Xterra 505

May 15, 2017
First detector I bought was a garrett 250 good machine banged off a lot though did a field with a friend for a year got lots of coins then I bought the 505 2 hours later same field George 111 gold quarter guinea 505 paid for itself since then gold rings on the beach silver coins in the fields including hammered the stock 10inch dd coil is a serious bit of kit.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
12

Minlab 505

October 20, 2015
I am new to metal detectors and this was my first detector have used it over the last 6 months and am doing quite well finding silver coins and clad in the 6 inch range no problem. When there is a lot of iron and the ground it becomes difficult to find coinage but am still able to. Good Detector good discrimination.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

Xterra 505

June 19, 2015
I bought this new having a Compass Magnum 320 for 40 years, this unit is light and works well, I am finding coins and relics at 10" with ease, bought the weather cover and continue looking in rainy conditions.
I have purchased the 6" DD 3.75 coil and have the 6" DD 18.75 ordered the 3.75 coil works great and is easy to maneuver in parks around obstacles, you can also get closer to fences and other objects, overall I would highly recommend it!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Minelab 505

March 24, 2014
Got the xterra 505 on recommendation good at first that was 2 months ago Had to send it back a lot of falsing not a very good signal when you find a target and the depth is not to good seem to ground balance quite a lot and channel changing to if I knew it was going to be like this I would have purchased another metal detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 5 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
48

American

January 24, 2012
I've had quit a few detectors in the 30 yrs detecting. I've had the xterra for a year now, I think it is one of the best values for the money. Easy to learn, lots of modes. Plus I have not had a problem with it so far. I love it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

186

Minelab 505 is a great metal detector!!!

November 23, 2011
I got the 505 after wishing I had never sold my other minelab xterra 50. I have been through alot of good metal detectors and I know them quite well. If your not going to look for gold then I would suggest the 505. Do not believe a lot of the bad reviews about the minelab xterra's here on this review site. They either have something against the xterra's or they do not know how to operate a metal detector.
It has one of the largest easy to read screens available. The number to me is better than a probable description ID like a lot of other units have. It is very light weight and last a good long time on a set of batteries. Pin point is dead on and accurate with the stock concentric coil. The option to choose how many tones you want is nice too. If the machine gives a good unbroken signal and the number locks on or only varies a little then the target is worth digging. The stock coil is good enough for all round detecting.

The Xterras have a great selection of optional coils too that are made by Minelab. I relic hunt and coin shoot and to me this is the perfect machine for my kind of detecting. The controls are user friendly and easy to understand. You do not have to re program settings after the unit is turned off as it saves your settings. Just make sure you ground balance correctly and off you go.

If there was anything I could say I did not like about the xterra it is the narrow stand under the arm cuff. It tends to not sit straight up when you set the detector down to dig the target. Also the large DD coils for it tends to make the xterra a little front heavy when you use them. That is not enough to merit loosing any stars for how I believe this machine performs. It is a 5 star unit all the way.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

332

Washington coin digger.

July 10, 2011
I bought the minelab 505 6 months ago. Not ever trying any other detectors, I found it to be very good. Have found many coins deep in the ground.

I did have one problem with it though. The pin pointer button stuck and I was unable to use it. Sent it back at my own expense. Took about 2 months to get it back. Yea It's finely here. Back to getting rich.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1845

Submit your review for Minelab Xterra 505

Submit your tip for Minelab Xterra 505