Bounty Hunter Platinum

Bounty Hunter Platinum Price: $400
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.42
Based on 12 reviews
Helpful Tips: 2
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.80
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Platinum

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Fisher F44 $400
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

Trusty detector

May 20, 2015
Had this detector for over 2 years now. Upgraded to the DD coil and it made a world of difference in depth. Ground balance works well and I recently found a 1943 dime at 7". Very easy to use and can't be beat for the price!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
55

Work great

September 04, 2014
With good depth and very fast recovery speed in the trash with great depth, it is not a fisher cz or minelab excaliber so no it will not work on wet salt beach, it's not designed to do that. Period.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
123

Very nice detector

June 04, 2014
I must say that I absolutely love this machine. It has some flaws as do all metal detectors but overall I don't think you will find a better machine for the price.
I have owned it for about 3 months now and I have found many good items with it. I really like the ground grab feature it's very quick and easy to use. Everyone always wants to know about the depth of detectors and I can tell you with the stock 8" coil it will reliably air test on a quarter every time at 8-9 inches, and with the fisher f-5 DD coil I can get out to 12 inches in an air test on a quarter.

I used the machine for the first couple months with the stock coil and made many great finds and then bought the f-5 coil and wow!! It was a very noticeable difference to me in depth, target separation and I can run the sensitivity on max with minimal falsing. If you want to ground grab more often you can run sensitivity max all the time but I just run it at 9 and it seems to get just as good depth as running on max which is 10.
This machine is extremely light and very easy to swing all day. It has both 1/4" and the smaller headphone ports which I think is a great feature.

The deepest find I've made with this detector was a 1941 quarter and it was between 8-9 inches down. I rarely think that you will find any coins beyond 6 inches deep. I have made some deeper finds but 99 percent of my coin finds are 6 inches and below. This machine absolutely slams on coins, and it locks on very tight with the TID when your over a coin.
When your over a bottle cap and it's reading in the notch as a quarter the TID will bounce around a lot but when your over any coin it will lock on and won't drift more than a number one way or the other.

The sensitivity is great also, I have found many small .22 bullets in the 5-7 inch range and I think that's a pretty respectable depth for a target that small. The notch is a good feature, it can take a minute to figure out how to operate this mode but after doing it a few times no problems at all.
In my experience with this machine it will go deeper in discrimination mode vs all metal, which is a little uncommon but I use discrim mode so it's not a problem for me. However, the all metal mode seems to be very crisp in response and also very sensitive.

Overall I think if you buy this machine you will love it, I would highly recommend the f-5 coil upgrade as this is what really pushes this machine to it's highest capability. I use this machine in discrimination mode with sensitivity set at 9 with the fisher f-5 DD coil. The 5 yr warranty and awesome customer service from first Texas also makes this a very appealing detector.
Happy hunting all!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
161

Platinum series and technetics gamma

January 25, 2014
I find only a small difference between the two except for the price. One thing that I don't like is that the power switch is very sensitive and any swipe over it will cause the machine to power off. I tend to check the display frequently to make sure that it hasn't been turned off accidentally. Otherwise I find the weight factor is great since I broke my wrist almost a year ago and I can't be carrying around a heavier detector.

It is great at sniffing out those coins. On my last hunt, I found a honey hole with 12 quarters about 6-7 inches deep under some fill dirt. I hope this helps. I think next time I'll get me a platinum because of the price factor. I bought the gamma, but for a backup I would use a platinum in case my Technetics Delta messes up.
Arturo

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
144

Best Deal Out There

March 29, 2013
The Bounty Hunter Platinum is the best deal out there. It's deep and has fast response. For the price that is some real performance features you don't find except in expensive detectors.

I air tested a US Quarter at 12". It,s balanced, light and the big screen is very easy to read. This machine is the best kept secret out there for an entry level detector with the Performance of more expensive detectors. It's very sensitive but don't be afraid to run the sensitivity as low as a setting 6 as you still get the good depth even at that setting.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
171

Extreme Good Value

October 15, 2012
Very impressive detector with only one nine volt battery to maintain. Also the 2 pound weight is very easy on your back and arm. I find the ground balance easy to operate. I live in a area with high mineralization, magnetic black sands, and hot rocks and the bounty hunter platinum is doing just fine. This detector does all its work best in discrimination with all metal motion settings. For the $299 price It can do some very impressive detecting.

You can use motion all metal or non motion all metal both seem to work fine. Yes I have other bounty hunter detectors as well as c-scope and minelab but only bounty hunter gives you this much performance for $299. Actually, on my second outing with this detector it found a small meteorite, I was impressed. It is finding very small targets with the stock 8 inch coil.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

202

Great detector, unbeatable for the $$$

April 29, 2012
Let me start by saying that the only two negative reviews on this site were done by people that probably never read the instruction manual of this detector.
It is clearly stated that this detector won't ground balance on salt water, or wet salt water sand.
Also the ground grabbing (or ground balance) is different from other detectors, you have to read to do it properly. If you do, that the detector will work without any problem.

Now let's go to the review. I don't think that this detector can be beaten by ANY detector in it's price range. At the moment you can find it in a package with a lot of goodies for $300. The original price was $550, and fact is that it is a $500+ detector in a superb deal.
This is the twin brother of the Teknetics Gamma 6000, just software difference, the gamma has the manual ground balance while this has the ground grab, that is basically it. No other difference, they share the same hardware.
It is clearly known that the gamma 6000 is almost equivalent to the Omega 8000 in performance, and this is just amazing.
The BHP (Bounty hunter platinum) is as good, or even better than higher priced detectors, and when I say higher priced I don't mean $400-$500, I mean $800-$1200 detectors out there.
Discrimination works very well, pinpointing is just dead on. . . RFI doesn't bother it at all, and handling is great, it is very light weight.
I don't think it feels cheap at all, it just feels right.
I haven't had a chance to get the 11" DD coil yet, but I plan on getting one soon. I don't think you would be dissapointed with the regular coil, I can find coins at 8" without any problem.
My advise, if you are thinking in getting this detector. . . stop thinking go ahead and buy it. . . you wont regret it . . . promise.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

510

Best deal out there for $300

March 18, 2012
I have now used my BH Platinum for a couple of weeks, and am very happy with my purchase. I have been detecting a bit for a couple years with an ACE 250, and it does not even come close to the Platnium. The Ground Balance feature takes a couple times to get the hang of, but once done properly ground interference is gone and you can detect at a higher sensitivity. Target ID can be off some, but I have only hit areas with lots of different trash. I started out with the standard coil, and that was fine. I now have upgraded to a Fisher F5 coil, and it is a huge improvement in all areas.

My only issue with this detector is the volume. It is very loud, and when I turn the volume below 4, I loose the highest tone. That just happens to be the one I am looking for. Found this out while doing an air test with the new coil, and old coil. When I passed a quarter in front of the coil, I got nothing. The display was working properly, and did display a quarter. It will beep on the lowest volume setting if I reduce down to 2 tones. This is not a big deal now that I know about it, but may have passed up some finds so far.

I do think this is the best out there for the money, and if you can afford it do the F5 coil upgrade. I am getting better depth, and discrimination, then the person I go hunting with. He uses a Fisher F5, another good one for the money.
Hope this helps
Happy searching rc

Overall Rating 5 stars!

341

Great metal detector

January 18, 2012
I just don't understand the bad reviews for this model. Perhaps the users had the sensitivity set too high and/or didn't ground balance properly. The Platinum is the top of the Bounty Hunter line. Discrimination is right on and depth is great. Notch is a really handy feature to eliminate unwanted trash targets.
The non motion "All Metal" mode is very deep. This metal detector will not ground balance to wet salt water sand, but for the price, you can't really complain. The Bounty hunter platinum is very lightweight and well balanced. I like the fact that it uses only one 9 volt battery. Economical and convenient.
The stock 8" search coil gets great depth for it's size and target separation is good. However, this detector can also use the 11" biaxial search coil that comes stock on the Fisher F5 provided it has the older style push in connector. It can also use the 5" DD search coil which gets really great depth for it's size.
I would recommend this metal detector for everyone from the beginner to the seasoned veteran.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

453

Hobbist

November 17, 2011
I've owned the detector for over a week now and I'm very pleased with it. It's a real coin hog. The build quality is excellent. I think the two other reviews are from inexperienced operators. I too had troubles first time out but I went back and read the manual and discovered I wasn't ground balancing the machine properly. It ground balances different than any other detector I've owned, and it's also the easiest to ground balance,takes 5 seconds. Read the manual.
The detector hits hard on coins. I've found clad dimes at 7 inches and thats pretty good in my book. The machine is light as feather and the display is excellent with the large numbers. The menu is simple to navigate and use.
One thing I've noticed is the TID numbers don't bounce around when it locks on to a coin, even the deeper ones. It also likes nickels. Bouncing numbers tend to be irregular shaped objects. Pin pointing can take a little practice. You really need to detune the coil to get dead center. I really don't have any complaints it's just a really fine machine. Bounty Hunter has really stepped it up with this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

568

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Platinum

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Platinum