Whites Spectra VX3

Whites Spectra VX3 Price: $1200
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.89
Based on 9 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.67
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Spectra VX3

Compare to ▼
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Minelab Safari $1000
Teknetics T2 Ltd $1250
Whites Spectra V3 and V3i $1500
Fisher F-75 $1000

Vx3 the machine you can trust

December 03, 2015
The vx3 was my first machine. I have only one complaint and that is it is not water proof. If it starts to rain you have to pack up. Only the coil is waterproof so you cant go very deep in water.
The good is this.... You can trust this machine. If the signal is jumpy and not steady on a cross check it is trash. I have yet to second guess the machine and find something of value when the machine is telling me the signal is unclear. It has always been trash. Now that does not mean that sometimes it will tell you it is something good and it turns out to be crap, but at least I am confident in passing up more than half my signals. This machine is great..... Trust it when it is jumping all over on the vdi numbers and when all three signals don't match, it is trash and keep moving. When all three signals match, sometimes it will be trash, but at least you know your not passing something good.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
90

Vx3 the dream machine???

September 19, 2014
OK here goes. YES IT IS!!!! I have been in this hobby for 30+yrs. Time and time again I had to get the newest best hottest unit to hit the market. Garrett fisher minelab tesoro and many earlier whites units. All I can say is wow!! The vx3 is deep accurate and fun to use the display and the info it gives is outstanding. The backlight works in all lowlights or total dark conditions with the addition of the d2 10 in coil it'd unbeatable on silver coins gold jewelry and every conceivable relic!

The vx3 continues to produce more good finds than any other machine I have used in the past some costing 300+ more and with more frequencies 17-28 but the three freq spectra hit the market and the fact that you can select a specific frequency. For a specific target range amazing and we'll thought out. This machine being the baby brother to the v3i.
Is a sleeper in many cases too many adjustments can actually hurt you're odds in recovering the deeper good stuff as can too many frequencies slow you down(fbs) bbs. Nope its the spectra vx3 for me after so many yrs and so much $$$ invested in found the perfect machine for me!!! To Carl and all the others at whites that made this machine a reality. I thank you!!! HH. T........M

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
140

Finally got it right!

May 19, 2014
Had 4 Whites detectors since 1979. Started with Coinmaster 4 and progressed thru the rest. The VX3 does just what has always been expected in 10 inches of top soil. After all most items don't go down past the shale or clay layers. If you must go deeper there are units that will go 30 inches without a problem and target quarter size items, just bring your shovel and tarp for the soil you will move to get there.

I recommend this detector to the persons who wants the best and if you understand the basics will give you great results!! I purchased a double D coil with this unit and have yet to use the coil sold with it. With factory settings there is no problem with quarters at 9 and 10 inches in normal soil and the double D coil This is a fun and easy machine to master, since you can vary the factory settings to suit the conditions you encounter. The VX3 could be for beginners but it is definitely for the person who has been searching for the RIGHT machine!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
134

I like my VX3

August 13, 2012
Hey there,

I've had a few different detectors since I started detecting, I've had a Bounty Hunter, White's Classic II, Spectrum XLT, MXT, Tesoro Sand Shark, Fisher Gold Strike, Tesoro PIranha, and my favorites tend to be the MXT and my recently acquired Spectra VX3.

Until recently, I wasn't really aware of the VX3 until I put out a Craigslist ad looking for a V3i and someone replied to me that they had a VX3, which was a simpler version of the V3i.. since the price was right I started researching it. So far I have yet to read any bad reviews. I chose the VX3 because I learned that it operates on three different frequencies at the same time and that it had both lower and higher frequencies than my MXT which I had found a small gold nugget with a year ago. See the MXT works at 14KHZ and the VX3 works with 2. 5Khz, 7. 5Khz and 22. 5Khz all at the same time or separately if you choose. I was excited because 22. 5Khz will be more sensitive to smaller gold and 2. 5Khz will be sensitive to deeper objects. I also liked the fact that I would be getting a color screen with a backlight. The only concern I had was that I was going to lose the knobs..

I have taken my Spectra VX3 to the Santa Cruz boardwalk three times now and I've had pleasant results using the Coin and Jewelry program, modified to provide Tone ID. I've also added Mixed Mode so I could hear the all metal channel and that was useful in many situations, especially when you are in very clean areas that have no garbage.. you can get some more depth listening to the all metal channel, if it is faint enough not to create a VDI.

Yesterday I took my VX3 to Redding CA looking for nuggets in a well-known hunting area and found lots of bullets, some quite small and the VDI was very helpful! It was also interesting to pinpoint each target and watch the three frequency level bar which gave more info as to what it might be.

I'm still learning my Spectra VX3 and sometimes I find it a little noisy but I cannot fault it for that AT ALL because I have yet to start fine-tuning it. I'll carefully start adjusting things as I understand the settings more..

I love my VX3, it feels solid and has enough features and tweak-ability to keep me interested and happy for a long time! I Highly recommend it even though I haven't fully learned it yet.

Back to the loss of the quick knobs, I was happy to see that the Spectra VX3 has the live control bar and I was able to use that on the fly without much delay at all. Only problem is if it is dark and you have the backlight off, you may lose the ability to turn it back on easily and may need a flashlight to find it again.. not that annoying.. would like a separate backlight button perhaps.. .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

256

Great Box!

June 10, 2012
I have used just about every unit that Whites has made in the last few years and this one takes the prize. Responsive, away on target, and accurate.

The price point is better than the V3i and just as many feature for the average to expert user.

A true value machine!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

243

Above average detectorist

June 08, 2012
I don't ever submit reviews so here it goes.

I have been in the hobby off and on for 20 years. I have an old whites 6000 and a fisher f4. I had a teknetics t2 se and while it was good it just did not fit my style of hunting.

I knew earlier this year I wanted to get a VX3 and just did not pull the trigger. . . . . . . . . until 3 weeks ago. . . . . . . . . since then I have been pulling more coin out of the ground then ANY other machine. I bought the 10"DD coil and now this machine is so good I am chomping at the bit to get out each day.

The screen display is great and really does tell you what is in the ground. Once I learned the sounds for various targets combined with the display. . . . . . . I RARELY dig trash anymore. . . . . THANK GOD.

Do yourself a favor. . . Get this machine!!!
Fantastic Job White's

Overall Rating 5 stars!

293

Carpenter

April 12, 2012
I have just purchased a Whites VX3 Metal Detector and my first coin was a 1831 quarter. . . ! The VX3 is very easy to use an would highly recommend it. . . .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

259

VX3 IS AMAZING!

February 07, 2012
I've owned a lot of whites machines over the years, I can say without a doubt, this is my favorite! I've got it for Christmas 2011 but since weather has been good I've used it a lot.. Very easy to use.. Hits hard on silver and gold. Uses 3 frequencies which is fantastic. The color screen is the best in the business. This is a coin magnet.. Great job whites!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

514

VX3 is GREAT!

December 04, 2011
I started detecting with a Bounty Hunter Tracker IV about 4 months ago. A month later, I decided that I loved the hobby, and I wanted to get my "ULTIMATE" machine to use for the next 10 years.

So I went all out, and ordered the White's Spectra VX3. I was tempted by the V3I, but I decided that the newer VX3 had all the settings I wanted. I am so pleased with my decision, and all my finds (including an 1898 Barber Dime in perfect condition)!

In fact, tomorrow, I'm ordering my wife her own VX3. With a few months VX3 experience, I again considered getting the V3I. However, there's really nothing that I can't already do with my VX3.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8057

Submit your review for Whites Spectra VX3

Submit your tip for Whites Spectra VX3