Garrett AT Gold

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.29
Based on 17 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.07
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.20
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT Gold

Compare to ▼
Nokta FORS Gold $699
Fisher Gold Bug DP $750
Fisher Gold Bug Pro $700
Minelab Eureka Gold $1000
Whites Gold Master GMT $800
Fisher Gold Strike $850

Powerhouse in bad ground!

October 23, 2014
After mastering the ATpro I took right to the gold. It far exceeds the pro for depth here in our bad VA soil. I slapped on the big coil from my ATP and instantly began to find civil war bullets my other machines had missed. To obtain this added depth you must use the all-metal mode and know that on the deep stuff the vdi numbers will jump around some. I am very pleased with this machine!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
277

Disappointed also

May 19, 2014
After trying 2 AT Gold's in the Rocky Mountains, sold them both. I liked the design and the features it offers, but the VDI's were eratic. The numbers would lock on coins OK, but everything else, the numbers and curser would jump around. That defeats the purpose of having a VDI. In the mountains, they were even worse, couldn't handle the mineralized soil here in Colorado.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1522

At gold review

December 18, 2013
I like my At Gold even though I haven't completely mastered it yet but it takes time with ANY detector! In response to the first review about it not being a good machine for wet, salty-sand, the AT Gold wasn't made for salt water but the AT Pro is made for both salt and fresh water. The AT Gold states in the description that it's no good in salt water, because of the high frequency 18khz which is designed for highly-mineralised soil where gold is found.

Anyway, this is a great machine if you're looking for a machine that finds gold as well as coins, relics, caches, AND you can walk into any fresh-water pond, lake, or stream if you want! I think that's a pretty good deal! For trashy areas like parks etc., you should stick with the med.(5" x 8")coil and the Lg.(8.5" x 11") for farmers fields or any place you know won't be filled with trash. And if you're out hunting nuggets, use the little sniper coil.(if you have it)

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
295

Grand gold machine - not for the beach

October 06, 2013
Coming to a gold detector from a coin machine many may have a bit of learning curve ahead of them. Most assume that all detectors should just be “turn on a go” simple. Nothing can be further from the truth.

Searching for gold is all over the map in terms of the changing ground conditions, finds are never a consistent size, or at the same depth. New detectorist have a hard time dealing with the ever changing threshold sound buzzing in the ear. This is a subtle, yet very important element that helps find what you are looking for. As for the AT Gold, it rivals and exceeds the Fisher Gold Bug, in my opinion in may respects.

The auto ground balance window feature gets you to a concise balance in the toughest ground conditions. The advantage of being able to go from land base searches to the water without skipping a beat is just incredible. The stock AT Gold 5x8 blunt ended Double “D” coil is a sweet spot size for working around brush and bedrock. I have used the 4.5 inch super sniper coil also underwater with great success. I strongly recommend that whichever coil you use, install a cover. Knowing what the manual says, I tried to giving it a go on the coast anyway. I was able to attain ground balance in the dry sand and found many target, some were even coins. Garrett was right on the money, the AT Gold not a beach machine. It really struggles with the salt water/wet sand combination. Water detecting there was just out of the question.

For its price range, features, and true gold detecting ability, this is a great machine. This unit is light, easy to learn and understand, and just plain fun for both beginners and seasoned detector users.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
226

Not impressed

July 29, 2013
I took my AtGold to the San Gabriel River to look for gold. Some guys used MineLab and the signal was good. San Gabriel is filled with minerals and iron. In fact - the whole mountain has a lot of iron in it. My AtGold went crazy - I was unable to discriminate iron at all. False 77 signal went all the time when I was above trash - mostly aluminum cans. One time AtGold gave me clear signal in all modes - and I found an old can of spam. Most of the time the depth is wrong - AtGold shows 8" and the item is on the surface. I think this is not a good detector for highly mineralized areas.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
1341

Best I Have Ever Owned

April 14, 2012
I have been metal detecting since the early 60's
And the AT Gold is the best detector I have ever had in my hands. I know all of you have heard this before (I hunted one of my sites that has been pounded to death with other detectors)
Well it is true. With in a 50 ft area I pulled 12 coins and a silver ring and I thought it was hunted out. NOT

Overall Rating 5 stars!

9516

Coin shootIng with the Garrett AT -Gold

December 18, 2011
On December 15th 2011 I took my new Garrett AT -Gold to a local Chicago park to test out this machines ability to find coins. The temperature was approximately 40 degrees and the ground was moist. The unit performed wonderfully. Even though I did not recover any silver coins, I did find about 35 various clad and copper coins including 12 wheat pennies.
The clad quarters and dimes were all less than 4 inches and the AT -Gold's numerical readout was very consistent. Quarters registered a value of 86 and the dimes 80. Zinc pennies came in at between 77-79 and the wheaties at 80-81.

Some of the wheaties were as deep as 6 inches and the unit gave solid tones. I encountered a few aluminum pull tabs which in discrimination 2 gave clearly broken signals that made them very easy to identify as trash. Even on the deeper wheat pennies the signal remained solid when I lifted the coil higher to test the function of the depth reading. I experienced almost no fatigue after hunting for more than 4 hours.

I am very impressed with this unit. From the quality of the construction and materials to the design and ergonomics. Garrett has a real winner here. I own several other high quality detectors and this one holds it's own with any of them.

I also air tested the machine against many others at the metal detector store and it blew away the competition on coins, rings, and a small gold nugget . To the best of my knowledge, this unit boasts more features than any other detector I've run across. How many water capable machines have removable headphones and coils, digital readout, multiple frequencies, 40 hours of operation on 4 AA 's, and auto ground balance with adjustable iron discrimination.

The proportion audio response is also great for identifying deep targets just by the sound level. The small double D coil is also so light I can barely feel it. Although I used the larger double D coil on the first park hunt. This detector can do it all with no compromise.
You will be very satisfied if you get one. I will be posting more results as time goes on. I can't wait to use it again. Good luck hunting !

Overall Rating 5 stars!

31427

Submit your review for Garrett AT Gold

Submit your tip for Garrett AT Gold