Whites MXT Pro

Price: $800
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.44
Based on 9 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites MXT Pro

Compare to ▼
Whites MX Sport $850

Whites mxt all pro

April 12, 2016
I've owned my MXT All Pro for a year now and have both pro's and cons about it. I bought it by using the proceeds from selling the things I'd found with my other detectors, including some gold nuggets I found in Alaska.

The All Pro comes with a standard 10" DD coil which I believe is the best all around coil for this machine. It has good target identification and separation. I tried the Eclipse 6 X 10 coil and it does good, but has a problem with target identification but does have very good target separation. A little practice with the 10" DD coil and close targets can be separated fairly good. It is a heavy machine and after several hours of swinging it my right arm wears out and I have to change arms. This machine does not come with a volume control, which in my opinion is a big mistake. Their reasoning is that headphones have a volume control on them, but not all of them do. And how about those of us who cannot use headphones for medical reasons who must wear ear buds? I get a severe headache if I wear headphones for over an hour. I found a $12 volume control at Radio Shack which works well with earbuds.

I call my MXT "the goose" because it sounds like a Canadian Honker in the multi sound mode. It is a noisy machine however especially when the coil gets passed over several targets at once in trashy areas. As far as depth is concerned.....It depends on the mineralization of the ground where you are using it. I live in Southern Oregon where the ground is VERY mineralized, and it really limits the detection depth and how high you can use the sensitivity setting. Check the ground mineralization by switching to the prospecting mode and reading the number. In my area it generally reads between 70 and 85, which REALLY reduces detection depth! I can locate a quarter no more than 6 inches deep in these conditions, and a silver dollar at no more than 10".
As far as silver dimes go....Maybe 5". In lightly mineralized soil I have extended the detection depth a lot by being able to turn the sensitivity setting up to Number 2 or even Number 3. Then I can hear a dime at 7", a quarter at 8", and a silver dollar at 11". I have never been able to detect anything but scrap metal and pop cans at a foot of deeper.

So far I have only used the "coin and Jewelry" mode. I have used this machine on the Oregon coast on the beach where there is black sand and so much mineralization that I can only use the sensitivity setting no higher that the pre-set, and this drastically reduces detection depth. On those beaches the deepest coin I've ever located a coin was at 4". It seems to do better in dry sand than sand wet with salt water. A lot of people talk bad about the MXT because its not water proof, but I talked to Whites about it and they guaranteed you can use it all day long in a "moderate" rain. It has rubber membranes and gaskets sealing the box and speaker. So, its not "waterproof" but very water resistant! No you can't drop it in the water and keep using it, but you CAN use it in the rain all day.

It also has a very long battery life as I've used it up to 5 full days on one set of batteries. The main thing I don't like about the MXT All Pro is its inability to properly identify targets. So I've learned not to trust the Id. Meter and to just go with the VDI numbers. Its easy to identify targets using these numbers after you spend several days digging everything and keeping a log of which VDI number represents what target dug. The meter will identify shallow targets well, but anything below 4" will be a hap-hazard guess on it part. It especially has trouble telling pennies and dimes apart, but glancing at the VDI number will tell you which it is.
For deep targets you can only rely on the sound of the target. And, once you ground balance the machine switch it to the lock position and occasional hit the "ground grab" button to update the balance. Not using it in the lock position will make targets disappear.

Another problem, the pinpointer I use really interferes with the MXT causing a lot of feedback which REALLY gets monotonous! I use a pulse induction "vibraprobe" pinpointer. All in all, the MXT is a very good detector. In my experience it does not detect as deep as promised by Whites but it still does a good job. Its the best machine I've ever used, although I'd sure like to try the Minelab E-trac. I would recommend the MXT All Pro with the 10" DD loop to anyone wanting an intermediate machine costing under $1000. I don't get to go detecting that much and have only found 7 silver dimes with it as well as over $200 worth of clad change.
As a final note just don't expect it to detect as deep as what Whites says it will.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
74

Old home site and churches

August 15, 2015
I have had it about a year. Love the machine and how easy it is to set up. It does take a min to learn but that is with all detectors if it's your first one. So far I have found tons of clad a 1875 seated dime, 1901 Indian Head penny, 1903 V Nickel and to many to count wheats. I notch out the iron and dig rest. I run the machine as high as it goes until it screams and back it down until it get quite.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
106

Beach-combing

August 26, 2014
It fascinates me how all the tek talk over-rides one glaring omission of this particular unit. It isn't waterproof. Am I missing something here? If you are going to work this at the beach would anyone in a design job say, something to the effect of, 'Well we ought to make sure it's water proof'. I mean any dummy would think of that. Even me! I really don't get it guys.

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
1346

"You've got competition"

May 27, 2014
Get so tired of hearing about the Whites MXT/MXT Pro and how good they are. Sure, don't get me wrong, they (are) good machines but also, don't discount a Tesoro Tejon for example. They can detect 13" on a quarter also like the Whites, and 14" on a nickel. Or how about a Fisher F4 which is basically the same MD as an MXT. And if one (really) wants to harp on depth, we can do that to.

Why, we have, presented before us, a vintage Bounty Hunter RB10 and RB12D. The RB10 can (could) go from 13 to 17" on a quarter depending on the soil type (like any metal detector) and I would say the RB12D could go at least that except that there are no surviving test results to prove this, at least online for this model. And get this, these machines are from the 70's and the early 80's. If modern is what you want than get a Nexus Bonanza for appx. the same moolah that a (regular) brand-new MXT (non-pro version) costs. It will go (at least) 20" on a quarter and is only the third deepest detector in the world. Only the Nexus Credo and Standard SE (the deepest detector ever made past or present) are deeper. Heck, they go deeper than even a $5000 Minelab GPX 5000. Deeper than a Technetics T2 SE or Fisher F75 which is not built by the original Fisher company in California by the way.

It's now built by First Texas who (also) happens to build Whites, has always built Bounty Hunters and Teknetics MD's and who also builds the Titans for Kellyco. The MXT/MXT Pro are mid-responsive to side-by-side targets and not as quick as a DeepTech Vista Gold/Smart, XP Goldmax, Garrett AT Pro/Gold, Rutus Jupiter, Mikron NRG-110, Discovery Treasure Baron (vintage), Compass XP Pro (vintage), Wilson ATD/Rand C (vintage), Vantage AD-12/14 (vintage), and too many more to mention including very little-known, short-lived companies both foreign and domestic that have long since folded.

So think outside the "Whites box", LOL. There are many, many more brands and/or models, past and present out there that can easily give a Whites a 'run for their money'. Don't ever discount the older vintage detectors. They might be old but they are not weaklings either.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
1878

MXT PRO Universal soldier

May 21, 2014
Had two xlt machines, totally awesome and ahead of their time, thought nothing could touch them. I was wrong, MXT Pro is pearless, works inland and on the salt wet without any problems, I agree with Greg re. The standard coil too big, should be supplied with a smaller coil. I have a S.E.F. 12x10, quiet and very very sensitive, can pick up a paracetamol blister foil 3/8" inch dia. at 7-8 inches.

Love using it on the beach in relic mode and iron i.D. Very accurate, love this machine, I will buy a small coil either a N.E.L or a S.E.F. in or around the 8"inch size as it will be even better for the smaller stuff,a nd you just cant get better build quality or after sales service, great stuff whites, always wanted to rate 15 stars.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
462

Mxt pro a winner

November 17, 2013
I agree with Greg and Paul everything they said about it is true. I know from experience, I own 2 mxt pros. It seems like I always used White's detectors. Sure I tried several others but I got tired of trying to learn how to program them, so they went to the curb. I guarantee you you can pick up a mxt pro or mxt and have it set up and find 2 or 3 coins before the other one's are set up much less hunting. Needless to say I can't say enough good things about White's detectors and their service is unparalled by any other company.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
311

Great high end machine

March 19, 2013
What I like most about the MXT PRO is that its a great high end machine without all the programming. I also have a XLT and DFX and I find myself grabbing the MXT PRO more often.

Its a joy to use, takes 2 secs to set up the settings and your set. Really the hardest part (and not really hard at all) is to do the manual ground balance. You get that done and your ready. Also I would recommend getting a smaller coil with the machine. Why they made the 12" Coil standard on the MXT PRO I will never figure out. It is worthless in most hunting situations. It should be a optional coil and not standard.

Its OK for relic and wide open non trashy areas. I believe because of this coil is why you hear so many complaints from 1st time users. They go to an area that has seen lots of people activity ie: lots alum trash etc and then swing that huge 12" coil that crosses over a half dozen trash targets in one sweep, and they wonder why the machine is noisy and the numbers are jumping all over.

The MXT PRO is a excellent machine, but do yourself a favor and get a smaller coil with it as well. The Whites Elliptical 5.3 (6.5" coil) or the 8x6 SEF or both good. You will find that you will be using these smaller coils 90 percent of the time. Also the 12"coil is heavy/awkward on the machine. The smaller coils balance much better.

For my large coil I got rid of the 12" coil and got a 12x10 SEF. Great depth and lighter coil. Also the PRO has a few nice features over the original MXT mainly the Ground Grab and backlight.

One other tip, once you ground balance, always put the toggle back in "lock" This locks your ground balance and you can update the ground balance at anytime with Ground Grab button. The MXT has lightening fast ground tracking, if you sweep over a deep whisper target several times the MXT will track it out. By keeping it in lock it will not let the machine update the tracking. This is why some people complain a signal goes away.

If they sweep over a target over and over trying to get a reading....The machine when the toggle is set in the "ground" setting will think it is changing ground conditions and null it out. Anyhow that's my two cents worth and yes I really like the machine and would recommend to others.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

441

Whites MXT

March 04, 2013
Ben detecting since 1986, primarily at crime scenes both under water and on the ground. In 2009 I picked up an MXT. Love the machine definitely my Number 1 back up.
VDI numbers aren't always dead on accurate but if they're high enough. DIG IT. Probably the best balanced machine on my arm and great for coin shooting. I own better machines but when I do competitions I always use the MXT.

Overall Rating 4 stars

213

Mxt pro

November 13, 2012
I have had my mxt pro for a year now. It is an easy detector to use and learn. I have found more nickels with this machine than any other. It is around 4 pounds but I do not notice the weight when I use it. It has 7 tone ID's which helps identify trash from treasure. If you are not familiar whith Whites or the mxt pro you will need to learn the VDI numbers. Here are some VDI numbers for the basic US coins:
Penny: (zinc 62 and 65) (Copper 74 and 72 for indian head penny)
Nickel: 18 and 20
Dime: 77, 78, 79 (silver dimes 80)
Quarters: 83, 84, 85, 86 (dig anything in the 83-87 range)
Half dollar: 89, 90, and 91
Susan B Anthony dollar coin: 83

If your screen indicates any of the above vdi numbers - dig it!
It will be hard for me to find interest in another detector as the mxt pro has a wide variety of accessory coils. It comes with a 12" spider coil which is good for deeper objects.
I also like that it has basic tuning knobs as compared to the digital tuners found on a lot of detectors nowadays which makes in quick and easy to set up.

My only complaint about the mxt pro is that it is not waterproof. It takes 8 - AA batteries and the mxt pro is a power miser. I am still on the same set of batteries one year later. It is a little pricey, but its a Whites which means made in America. The machine only takes a few minutes to assemble out of the box. I give the mxt pro a high rating as this is one of the most sought after detectors.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

642

Submit your review for Whites MXT Pro

Submit your tip for Whites MXT Pro