Makro Racer

Makro Racer Price: $650
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.80
Based on 10 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.60
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Makro Racer

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Nokta Velox One $629
Tesoro Outlaw $650

Makro red racer

August 17, 2017
I bought mine off eBay, it was nearly new only a couple of months old. I was pleased to find it had 22 months of warranty left. It has a 2 year warranty on it when sold new. The warranty is transferable.

I also bought the wireless Headphone kit and added it to my unit. I really like the wireless headphones. The dongle goes into the side of the control unit. Installation is easy, and it looks like it belongs there. The Bluetooth is controlled through the control unit, and It came with a nice set of Phillips Heaphones. Latency doesn't seem to be an issue with mine. I found the Makro detector was a pretty good detector, it will pick up on some pretty deep items.

You will need to learn your tones when you are using it because mine will give tones and not give a VDI reading on deep items. I have learned that is sometimes where the really old things are, deeply buried. I have found several dimes, about 10 inches deep with it. They did not have a VDI reading and I dug them strictly based on the tones. I have several detectors besides this one, But I like this one a lot. It is as deep as any I have, and it is balanced well. I like that you can adjust the tones, there are 5 settings so if one is irritating you for some reason you can change what they sound like.

I also use mine in all metal mode, it seems that gives the quickest responses, and best depth.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Makro racer

July 30, 2017
Keeps up with the best. Very capable wet salt sand machine. Deep. Superb audio. Terrible id numbers. Very solid machine. Swings great. Looks like a toy. Not like it. But works like a PRO! Try it, you will see for yourself.

I used the expensive explorers, and others. All of them left the building. Only my tesoro,s and racer are still here. And here to stay. Not bashing minelab or whatever brand. Just not for me. I tell you, the audio on the racer is best I have experienced. It blends. It will not lie to you. Give it time as is the case with any detector. Just keep on giving it time . And forget your id numbers. They wont work on any machine when depth pops in.

In parks etc I shift to three tone from time to time since two tone is the way to go. Just for checking the sound for shallow ones. At 80 gain you will gain. And if you do like numbers, dig 45.
My first 60 hours I always had a very odd find at that particular number. And was the only number I trusted. At least for being something strange again. Its a work horse for serious money but not the kind of money that makes you worry to long. Thanks again turkey for making this solid performer. Hh

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
20

Magic racer 1-2

July 18, 2017
Hello all, searched the fields, the parks and the beaches .. Dry and wet sand . Flawlessly it operated . This is a fast and deep easy go unit with great audio. I can confirm that it is very good on wet salt sand. No falsing, good depth, the best vlf for sure at the wet sand yes, the explorer series from minelab have a couple off inches more on depth but with their weight, slow recovery ( used them ) and slow menus... There is not really a advantage.

I can only say, this unit, although great, is the same as a tesoro or a whites or a whatever brand, not for everyone. It is a pretty nervous race machine willing to go fast and faster. It sparks and pops and does do its best to get you a headache.. Reduce sense will eliminate that migraine.. I found out that sense on 80 max will do any job with ease and pleasure. I am a tesoro user for a fair amount of years and I had some issues listening to the constant music of the racer compared with the super silent bark only when clear signal way off those units. Yet I have learned to listen and getting more comfortable each hunt.

Man this thing is deep, it is amazing. The menu I really like! Easy setting up, perfect and fast to work with without any delay on the screen. Swinging this thing is crazy, first 10 minutes I thought what is this for balance.. It will help you after a half hour .. Now the balance seems perfect . Very strange.. Instead of stop you must push through and you will adapt and you will swing this thing even better then a tesoro. Without fatique as well.

Personally I do not like the "toy" look of it. It does not look very serious like the explorer series for example. But turn it on, ground balance, and go.. You will know instantly how serious you can be. It is for the money a great detector, of course. No doubt about that. For me, the audio is one of the best ever heard after a while . It was not love at first sight. The blending of it is simply superb. So, in the need for a serious all rounder, with both, a display but also extremely reliable audio, very reasonable in weight, big numbered, machine. Which will give you good chances for finding precious metals..

Think it over. I will not sell mine, having a vaquero, and the racer 2 .. I can combine analogue with digital style both running at 14 khz.. Works great for me, I use the vaquero in parks, and the racer at ploughed fields and beaches. And I think it is more then enough, spending more money will give me also a headache haha if these 2 or one of them was waterproof 100 percent.. I was making history ??

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
20

Makro racer

December 30, 2016
For the money really top notch if you want to compete with the big boys etracs, xp deus t2,s spending hundreds of pounds will not make you a detecting god allowing you to find the holy grail its your choice and everyone has a favorite trusted brand but this machine is all and more can hold its own against the top over marketed detectors.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
168

Makro racer. impressive!

June 19, 2016
I have owned allot of detectors in the nearly 40 years I have been hunting. I've owned a Whites DFX, XLT and V3I as well as an E-Trac, Fisher CZ3D, Garrett AT Pro and currently own an XP Deus which I enjoy using but am still learning the audio responses. The ability of the Racer to "scream out" that sweet high tone sound when you encounter a coin is as good or better than I have seen even in detectors costing 3 times the money, including the XP Deus. Granted the XP Deus has more custom settings than the Racer but if you want a turn on and go unit that's simple to tweak for best performance it's tough to beat the Racer.

Setup and ground balance is a breeze. The Racer's stability in my Nebraska soil was excellent with hot rocks and iron being rejected both visually and audibly. I was impressed by the Racer's target accuracy even at depths past 6 inches and that's with the factory default gain. Target ID's did't jump around on the good targets and the sound is smooth and crisp. The detector is light weight and well balanced and look's and feel are top notch.

Not that an air test replaces in the ground depth measurements but you will be blown away at how sensitive the Racer is when you are air testing a quarter at nearly 16 inches. I look forward to many years of happy hunting with the Racer and am interested in seeing what the new Racer 2 might have to offer.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2918

Makro racer

June 17, 2016
Bought this detector on eBay from Spin a disc in Halifax Yorkshire, UK. THE screen kept freezing on pinpoint. But Stuart from Spin a disc was extremely helpful, and replaced the whole kit, even new accessories.

Being extremely deaf and wearing 2 hearing aids. I Have used headphones but it is awkward with my hearing aids they do intend to fall out, so this is a disadvantage for me. Previously owned a Minelab Safari, and a Garrett Euroace. Which Are very good detectors and people are having excellent results using them, and finding RARE and interesting artifacts. Personally not suitable for me.

Sorry, Minelab and Garrett. But, I found it extremely difficult to differentiate between low, mid tone, and high tones. But the Makro with its Two Tone, Three Tone and Vibration facilities are extremely helpful for me with impaired hearing, many thanks Makro. Due to health issues this hobby gets me out and about, NOT perhaps the best hobby with my hearing, but this is what I have chosen to do.
Any one who knows of any metal detectors that are user friendly for people with hearing difficulties would be most helpful to me and other people who experience similar problems. Maybe someone needs to TACKLE this problem and advise people with the same problem as me. Anybody who can give me and other hearing impaired people advice would be truly a god send.

This is not a criticisms of any metal detector brands. This is a review of my personal experiences and if this review helps others in the same situation then hopefully some good will come out of it. Many thanks, and kind regards.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
1612

Makro racer 2

June 05, 2016
Good enough detector if you have good ground. In my mineralised soil showing 3-4 bars on the graph, you will do well to get 9 inch on a large copper penny, don't listen to the absolute crap being touted about 20 inch deep coins, the detector only air tests to about 16 inch max! In and around iron it falses high tones so it takes a while to figure these out against a good non ferrous target beside iron.
The TID is rubbish after 4 or 5 inch depth, got to go by the tones, the iron audio is very useful as you can turn down the iron report to a whisper. Falses bad on wet black sand. The nel tornado coil gives a much better 'dig' signal on deep targets versus the smaller stock coil.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2410

It almost reads to deep.

March 09, 2016
I'm hitting 12" on quarters on the wet sand on the west coast Ca with the stock coil. The only real downsides of the wet sand is it's not water proof or even water resistant that I'm aware of so a drop in the water would be costly and as mentioned it almost reads too deep. As once you dig in the wet sand the hole is 1/2 filled up by the time you can get a second scoop, add in the water surging and you can expect to work hard and quick for your finds.

The other problem is it's almost too sensitive, but that's the sacrifice of it reading so deep. In trashy areas you'll almost certainly want to get a smaller coil because it picks up nearly everything. But seldom will it give a clear tone on something really deep. Overall for the money the detector is hard to beat for the price and I consider it one of my better investments.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2111

Gran bel metal detector

September 13, 2015
I purchased the makro racer for some months now. Once you are familiar with the instrument it is really simple. Available different search modes (two tones, three tones, beach). For the sea is one that fits precisely the beach. Manual balancing of the sand... In addition you have the option to search the shoreline where the sand is wet.

Fast response times, really responsive. With valuable tools like LED lighting plate and vibration when it detects a signal, backlit display, with discrimination in 99 segments. Quality/Price really the TOP.


Da qualche mese.. Ho acquistato il makro racer.. Una volta presa confidenza con lo strumento davvero semplice.. Disponibili diverse modalità di ricerca (due toni, tre toni, beach).. Per il mare quella più adatta è appunto quella beach. Bilanciamento manuale del terreno... Inoltre si ha la possibilità di cercare nella battigia dove la sabbia è bagnata. Tempi di risposta rapidissimi.. Davvero reattivo... Dotato di strumenti validi come led di illuminazione piastra e vibrazione quando rileva un segnale, display retroilluminato, con discriminazione a 99 segmenti. Rapporto Qualità/prezzo davvero il TOP.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
2427

Outstanding detector

August 27, 2015
The Makro Racer is the third metal detector that I own and use. I am amazed by the quick response of this unit while working in trash. The depth of recovery is unlike any machine that I have hunted with. I'm finding coins at 18 to 20 inches and I know it will do even better. It's very easy to use. It's very sturdy build but very light weight so you can hunt all day.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
4673

Submit your review for Makro Racer

Submit your tip for Makro Racer