Garrett AT MAX

Garrett AT MAX Price: $722
Avg. Score: 2 stars 2.29
Based on 7 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars3.86
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Garrett AT MAX

Max chatter

June 07, 2020
Max chatter sums the machine up perfectly. Garrett replaced my Max because of it and the replacement was just as bad. After 2 months of trying everything to shut the machine up I cheerfully sold it and don’t miss it a bit. My AT Gold is 10x the machine the Max will ever be.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
10

Disappointment

May 10, 2020
I had high hopes for the AT Max, thinking it would be a big step up from my Ace 250 (which I really like) but boy was I wrong. This thing chatters to no end. Could not get it to quiet down. Couldn't find anything with it. Sold it at a loss. I like Garrett, but they missed with this one.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
30

Great if you like non stop chattering

April 01, 2019
Purchased my unit and after talking to Garrett folks who tried to diagnose over the phone and we tried everything to get to work right nothing helped. 2x going back to Garrett,coil change head re-calibrated it still would not shut up. It was very unstable and the VDI useless after 6". I have never had a unit this chattery. Sold it at a huge loss.

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
30

Chatter chatter chatter

March 14, 2019
I purchased the AT Max, after one month sold it. I could not take the chattering and wanted to wrap it around a tree. Have heard this same complaint many times, I should have listened. Watched all the tutorial and user youtube vids, called Garrett they tried to do an on phone diagnosis when it would not work they said send it back for repairs.

They sent it back with new coil and that helped a little but it still had jumpy signals on every target 20-30-90 ect. Tried every kind of changes in Descrim, sens, threshold and notching. Nothing worked sent back again got the head calibrated still no help. Sold it at a $100 loss. Garrett repairs crew is great just wish the units were tested before sending them out.

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
10

At max

June 28, 2018
This machine is awesome. I don't know what the guy is talking about only good for 9 inches. I have dug coins at about 18 inches. It does pick up a lot of bottle caps but that is what the Audio discrimination is for, learn to use it or dig everything. No complaints here, very satisfied.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
88

Garrett at max

May 21, 2018
Very dissatisfied. Unstable, more bottle caps than coins- and gold (forget it). Same as AT PRO...BACK TO MY TRUSTY CIBOLA, no water for me, thanks Garrett.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
67

At max

February 09, 2018
Love this machine. First outing with this second dig a gold ring 10in. Second outing gold ring 5in. I use pro-zero, a 8x5x11 in coil. Ground conditions varied from moist to dry. Sensitivity setting high. Light weight. In my opinion this is the best out of the At series, using the others from experience of my own. Good investment for the hobby.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
87


Submit your review for Garrett AT MAX