Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.67
Based on 21 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ

Compare to ▼
Nokta FORS Gold $699
Garrett AT Gold $800
Fisher Gold Bug DP $750
Fisher Gold Bug (new) $550
Fisher Gold Bug Pro $700
Minelab Eureka Gold $1000

Lobo Super Traq

February 13, 2011
Excellent machine. In the Northern zone found early 1800's coins made of bronze. Many other items in southern zone from the civil war era.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

285

The best of tesero super traq

October 07, 2010
This is great coin detector, I have founded rare mogadishan coins near mogadishu Somalia.(mogadishan are Medieval Mogadishan coins, it can be founded Somalia, united arab emirates, Iraq, Kenya Italy, China, India.
I also founded slave earring and said barqash coin,(said barqash is the sultan of zanzibar who help the british to end the slave trade.
But far I did not find any gold.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

197

Tesoro Lobo SuperTraq

October 04, 2010
As a first time user I am very pleased with it.

I found over a dollar in nickels, dimes, quarters, pennies on very first use, plus one small gold ring and a Mexican ten peso coin.
This was in a kids playground in an Apartment complex.
I set it for all metal and did dig up bottle caps, pull tabs, and a elusive 1/4" square of aluminum foil. Once I learn how to use the discriminate part, I am sure I will do better.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

266

Great for Relics and Coins too - finds the tiny stuff

October 23, 2009
Disclaimer: I have not used the LOBO-ST (LST) for prospecting,
this review is for general use or coin and jewelry hunting.

First of all, I have to tell you that the LST is a Super Sensitive Detector capable of finding a needle in a haystack quite easily. With the stock 5x10 DD coil it will scream a very loud signal on a small piece of foil 6 - 8 inches down.

With the stock coil I have noticed a very clear target separation even with similar targets close together, as an example I found two pennies in the ground about an inch apart and knew there were two targets prior to digging.

Target ID is easily accomplished prior to digging using the Discriminator mode and simply rotating the dial, adding discrimination as you sweep the target, when the target stops 'beeping' a simple glance at the dial will give as much of a hint as with any MD with a display.

Here's how to do it... After properly ground balancing the LST, leave it in "All Metal" mode and start looking for targets, you can tell an Iron target easily by the tone, but to be certain you merely need to flip the mode switch to Disc. and start the Target ID process outlined above.

After making the decision to dig the target you simply flip the switch from Disc. to Pinpoint and use the "X" method to find the center of the target, which will be in the center of the 5x10 coil.



AIR TESTING:
Extensive Air testing was conducted at SkateCreek Labs, the Discriminator settings have been found to be true and consistent on mine:

1 = Gold and Foil
3 = Nickels and Pull tabs
4 = Pull Tabs
7 = Pennies (zinc)
9 = Quarters

Air Testing revealed the LST to be Very Sensitive yet extremely Selective. A small Gold Ring was faintly detected at 16 inches, and clearly audible at 12 inches and just plain loud at 6 inches. To test selectivity I set the Discriminator to Allow Gold and Reject Iron, when an Iron half inch thick "Lag Bolt" was passed by the coil alone there was no signal, when the Ring and Bolt were passed by the coil at 6 inches the Gold Ring rang out strong as before, with no broken tones or any other indication of "Target Masking". The Iron target simply vanished, no clicks or pops, just gone!

It should be noted here that Large Iron targets sometimes cannot be discriminated out, but it is plainly obvious when you have the Disc all the way up and the signal is still punching through. To verify a large target (or a moderate sized piece of Iron near ground level) you can merely lift the coil 10 inches or so and sweep over the target, if it goes away, you may want to dig, the target is likely near ground level anyway. If the signal remains it is obviously a large Iron target (fence post, manhole cover, etc)

It is strongly advised that you use headphones with the LST as it can be quite loud and will surely draw a ton of attention when people are nearby, most targets punch through the speaker very loudly. Small and very deep targets (pull tab at 9 inches) will have a diminished volume, however that is not true once you switch to Pinpoint mode, which will respond with a very pronounced "squeelawking" as you "X" over the target.

The use of headphones will also help with those not so pronounced signals from very small targets that are very deep (foil candy wrapper at 10 inches).

The LST does not seem to like SALT water very much! I tested the LST at one of our local beaches and noted problems with Ground Balance, a "Chattering" noise was noted in the Threshold background, after repeated attempts to balance the unit had failed I consulted the trusty manual. Ground Balance was easily accomplished in ALKALI selection with reduced Sensitivity levels. I tested the Lobo in fresh water beach with excellent results in wet or dry sand, Ground Balance was not an issue in FRESH water.
-----

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1806

Very Happy 2

November 27, 2008
Thought I would update my experiences with the LST.

I took my LST down the beach for the first time and the LST works fantastic in the dry sand. I was in all metal mode and pulled up some trash from good depths so I was happy with it's performance, no goodies though :(
However, when I went down on the wet sand I did have trouble getting the ground balance to settle, so I stuck to the dry sand.

Another time I did some coin hunting around the in-law's farm and found it a very trashy site so I set the discrimination on. How I set my discrimation is to bury a 5 cent peice (Australia) a couple inches, and then adjust the discrimination to just accept the 5c coin. It should then reject most small iron and still pick-up all decimal and pre-decimal coins. On and off over a couple days I pulled out about 60 decimal and 2 pre-decimal coins......but we won't talk about beer tops, my father-in-law didn't mind a beer or three.

I must comment again on this detector having it's own "language". Now I've got some hours use under my belt, a lot of the time I can guess correctly what I'm going to dig up based on the sound.

Pinpointing is excellent once you have a few hours practice.

Very Happy!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

555

Very Happy

June 01, 2008
I bought a LST based on this site's reviews, only had it a week and I couldn't be happier.

I agree with Steve's review totally, you do pick up too much stuff, which is not good in high trash areas. However, I'm really starting to get the knack of the discrimination, it's actually quite good, as a result I'm digging far less trash. Once I got the used of the sound in discrimination mode I hit 4 straight coins with one brass ring off a hose (thought it was a gold ring for a second), this was in a high trash area (set to 4).

I love the sound the LST puts out aswell, hard to explain, but once you get used of it it gives you a good "feel" for what the dector is seeing. I've also found that I can pinpoint very accuratly in pinpoint mode.

Thanks for those that have left reviews and convincing me to buy this great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

585

LST

March 10, 2008
I have only had the LST for a couple weeks, so far I have used it around my yard and down by the river at a local fishing hole.
I wanted a good all around detector that could find pretty much anything including gold incase I decide to do some prospecting. I think the LST can pretty much do it all. It is a very sensitive and powerful machine. It is also very simple to use, and ground balance.
The only problem I have had so far, is that it finds too much stuff, it does its job too well. Using "all metal mode" is just not an option in the trashed out areas I have been to as the LST will find it all, everything, every melted aluminum can, to every little 1/16" corner of gum wrapper, not much gets missed. Turning the sensitivity down and using discriminate mode in these areas works better, but I really need to find areas to hunt that are not such garbage dumps. The LST is primarily a gold machine, this means it is very sensitive to small targets, this is no under statement, I could easily find a needle in a haystack. It is also a very capable coin machine, just be ready to find a lot of garbage too. I look forward to using it in some old mining areas after the snow is gone.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

606

Tesoro Lobo TRAQ far outweighs Whites MXT

November 06, 2007
If I were you, I would go for the Tesoro Lobo Super TRAQ. I really love my Tesoro Silver uMax and the simplicity and responce of it is awsome. And the Lobo has better depth and is lighter than the either the MXT or M6. The display of the Whites is nice but not neccessary.

I would rather go for a good machine with no display and save my back for old age when I will need it. Plus the control box of the Lobo can be detached if needed for wading, or an even lighter detector, ect. That can not be done with the Whites machines.

The coil of the MXT and M6 is a concentric coil which does not handle mineralization as well as the coil that comes stock with the Lobo Super TRAQ which is a DD. The DD coil of the Super TRAQ will handle beach minerals better if you plan on hunting the beach in Maryland or states with widely varying soil conditions.
The only small downside is that the Lobo TRAQ has preset GB in disc mode, but using the DD coil takes care of that problem.

You also are paying for a lifetime warranty if you buy the Tesoro new which can come in handy if needed. The Whites only has 2 years warranty. Lifetime vs. 2 years; I pick the Lifetime.

Also, if you ever want to buy some accessory coils, the Tesoro coils are in general 50-70 dollars cheaper than the Whites. There is also a wider range of Tesoro coils than there is for Whites MXT or M6.

I love this Tesoro Lobo Super TRAQ!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1349

Home with yellow

February 20, 2005
i have been to az 2 times with my lobo both times came home with YELLOW. auto gt very good!!!!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5722

Still one of the Best available from Tesoro

November 20, 2004
I won't go into a lot of detail here. Just want to point out that to this day, the Lobo ST remains one of the best offerings available from Tesoro.

There are detectors that will outperform it in some categories but as an all around machine the LST gets it done. Some say it has a language that will speak to you when you learn it but I never did "learn it" I can't hear anything other than a beep on non-ferrous targets.

One big plus I did find about the audio is that it is very distinctive on big heavy iron. If you relic hunt or hunt old logging camps, ID'ing large iron like axe heads ect is a snap with the LST. I like digging that kind of stuff and can tell it with a high degree of accuracy.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

566

Submit your review for Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ

Submit your tip for Tesoro Lobo SuperTRAQ