Fisher 1212x

Fisher 1212x Price: $150
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.89
Based on 9 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00

Submit your review for Fisher 1212x

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160
Whites Coinmaster $180
Teknetics Alpha 2000 $200

Good machine

November 04, 2014
I've had my 1212X for a few years. Purchased it as my 1st name brand machine. I was disappointed at first because all I ever did was dig junk. I set it down for a couple years and didn't use it much. I picked it up again while recovering from illness and decided to learn it. The bottom line is, you have to get to know your detector. The different sounds it makes and the discrim levels. Layout different kinds of targets (silver coins, clad coins, gold jewelry, pull tabs, nails, etc.) on a tarp and run the machine over them at different discrim levels and listen to the different sounds and rejection points.

Since I did this I have gone from digging only junk to now digging about $30 in clad, an 1890 indian head penny, and 6 silver coins in about a months time. Practice makes perfect.
The only thing I don't like about this machine is the cheap plastic lock nut on the shaft. Mine broke and I used a hose clamp as a replacement. Luckily it is far enough away to not interfere with the signal and it works fine. Other than that the 1212X is a great and simple machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
100

Simly Old School !

August 01, 2012
I am a coin shooter.

Just bought this unit, and am impressed by it's performance.

Due to frequency (4. 2 Khz), you do not dig a lot of foil trash, and it's very hot on coins and rings.

Deepest coins dug so far was +/ 7" down.

Its simple, it's efficient, and I deplore the fact that nowadays, entry level detectors are mostly digital.

This is Old School, it's been good to me right from the start, and I like it !

Overall Rating 5 stars!

110

The super 1212 x don't knock it

January 17, 2011
I found more 14k gold ring this year with the 1212x I just love it

Overall Rating 5 stars!

153

Bulletproof, and DEEP!!

May 29, 2010
I bought one of these at a garage sale, and what a gem. Dug a 1951 silver dime out at 3" the first evening. Nice sounding speaker tone also. Thanks Fisher.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

103

1212X Simple and Effective!

August 05, 2008
I bought this one off ebay for my oldest boy. He wanted to get into this hobby bad. It is perfect! It is light, works great and does not eat 9 volts! It is simple on knob. It detects anything and will go pretty deep! I paid $79 and I think it was money well spent. It works on wet grass just as well as dry grass. It finds brass, copper, gold, silver, tin, bronze etc......The discrimination knob works well. It fits me at 6'2" and my 9 year old which is about 5' tall.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

323

Old time fisher quality

February 15, 2008
This machine is great, depth is almost the same in full disc, as in no disc. For hunting coins this is the easy one to use, and easy on the budget as well. My 10 year old son was hitting coins almost as soon as he picked it up.
Novice to Advanced this one is one to have.

(21 years detecting)

Eddy,

Overall Rating 5 stars!

262

GOOD AT A GREAT PRICE

February 09, 2008
I have been detecting since 1971. Owned a lot of different detectors. Never owned any easier to use. One knob does it all. I bought it because I didn't want to drag the more expensive detector through the bushes, mud and rocks. Several thousand coins later, including Indians, seated and silver I cant find much to complain about. Other detectors may go deeper or discriminate better but I dont think you can find a better basic detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

272

Excellent Detector for the money!

December 16, 2005
I am a low end metal detector buyer as I find the less controls I have to play with the better. If I get one with too many knobs, meter and buttons, I fool with them instead of finding coins. I use that one at home to do air tests and play with the controls!

Anyway, the Fisher 1212X is the way to go if you are like me. Very light weight 2.9 lbs and runs on a single 9 volt battery (Use alkaline folks, 25-30 hrs). You can sweep this detector very slow and have no problem getting a smooth response to a target. Pipointing is it's only flaw. It takes practice to get accurate.

Fisher brags about double derivative electronics, I call it easy to use. I got a used one on ebay for less than $100.00 including shipping!

Good luck! Will

Overall Rating 4 stars

412

Fisher 1212X

September 22, 2004
Excellent detector, even for an old timer, just disc, by rollin the single knob to and fro, simple and GOOD MACHINE

Overall Rating 5 stars!

8014

Submit your review for Fisher 1212x

Submit your tip for Fisher 1212x