Fisher Gold Bug 2

Price: $850
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.64
Based on 22 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher Gold Bug 2

Compare to ▼
Nokta FORS Gold $699
Garrett AT Gold $800
Whites TDI SL $1250
Fisher Gold Bug DP $750
Fisher Gold Bug Pro $700
Minelab Eureka Gold $1000

Gold bug 2

January 11, 2010
I did a lot of homework before becoming convinced this was the best machine to start with as my interest lay in finding nuggets in comparatively clean ground and I did not want to spend more than NZ$1200 (about US$800).
It's excellent for finding even very small bits of gold in rock crevices. It's easy for anyone to use with a little patience and willingness to read the manual. Once ground-balance adjusted for the type of ground being searched it gives clear signals when even tiny crumbs of metal are found. Definitely best used with earphones.

Only drawback is it also find every kind of junk including tiny crumbs of foil, lead shot, flakes or rust, even tiny fragments of corroded wire rope. But that just proves it is super sensitive. However I am never able to say with any certainty "that's not gold" when listening to any signal. I have to dig up every bit of junk!
I'd be really interested in hearing from anyone who can offer advice on getting better discrimination and interpreting signals -- please email me m.bradstock@paradise.net.nz

Overall Rating 4 stars

9023

Ground Balancing

June 29, 2009
In AZ, the soil is heavily mineralized. I found I would have to ground balance between every other swing because the detector was too sensitive. I'm sure it's a great detector for a place like Alaska... ...not so good in AZ.

Overall Rating 3 stars

7217

Great gold detector

September 09, 2008
I am extremly pleased with my Goldbug 2. This detector picks up gold so small that its hard to find. It will also pick up all other metals also so be ready to do a lot of digging. If its small gold you want to find I have never seen another detector that will work as good as the Goldbug 2.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

12922

Goldbug 2

January 11, 2007
I just got this wonderful lightweight detector, and though I have never actually used it, I am certain it's going to be fun as soon as the temp raises above 15 below and the snow thaws

Overall Rating 5 stars!

20179

Not what I thought

September 12, 2006
I spent a lot of money for something that has never really worked the way all the hype indicated. Maybe I have a lemon. Maybe I don't know how to use it but I have owned other detectors and I have really studied the manual and other literature. The iron discriminator does not seem to work at all, in fact, it seems to pick up iron better in that mode. I have gone to several areas that should be loaded with gold, but never find anything but trash and hot rocks.

Overall Rating 2 stars

6932

Best on small nuggets

December 07, 2004
The Gold Bug 2 is the best nugget detector for sub-grain nuggets especially when using the small coil. It is also the easiest to learn to ground balance and the most forgiving when the balance is slightly off. It does struggle a bit in areas littered with "hotrocks" and I don't trust the "IRON ID".

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1038

Fisher Gold Bug 2

April 22, 2004
This is the best small nugget detector made-bar none. I've picked up pieces
1/4th the size of a pinhead or smaller using the 6 1/2" coil. If you want the best- this is it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

7718

Fisher Gold Bug 2

April 07, 2004
#1 detector in my book

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1858

Fisher Gold Bug 2

March 29, 2004
the best

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1356

Fisher Gold Bug 2

November 11, 2003
simply the best

Overall Rating 5 stars!

867

Submit your review for Fisher Gold Bug 2

Submit your tip for Fisher Gold Bug 2