Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker

Price: $130
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.75
Based on 12 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Teknetics EuroTek $160
Whites Coinmaster $180
Bounty Hunter Quick Silver $150
Garrett Ace 150 $150

Reliable non-expensive detector

June 07, 2017
I have been metal detecting for 8 years now. I own many different makes and models, from Tesoro to Minelab, and collect them. Must say this machine is not bad at all, it's about getting to know the machine, and see how you can get the best out of it. I have it rigged to a more popular coil--the 8 inch size. I have dug relics over 10 inches to about a foot deep in a heavily hunted park, no problem. The all metal mode is excellent for hunting in the woods. As a "keep in the car machine", this one has not let me down.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Ebay purchased - mixed feelings

August 16, 2012
Hi, I just bought a fast tracker and used it yesterday and today. While it works good as far as detecting metals it has a little less than stellar target identification. Discrimination will not eliminate zinc pennies but instead give a gravely low tone (the same tone jewelry and nickels give on low discrimination. ) On a lower setting say 11 o' clock the sound for nickels pops and gives a high tone and a gravely broken low tone. This I don't like.

I also do not like the low tone as it sounds distorted. For all I know this detector fell in a lake in a past life so who knows. I found several coins mostly zinc pennies which sound a high tone but everything except nickels and gold seems to sound a high tone even aluminum cans and wads of foil. So you are kind of left to dig a lot.

My question is why in the world would I use this detector when I have a perfectly good Discovery 2000/Lone Star detector made by the same company that is vastly superior. I'll use it some more and try and get used to it and maybe keep it for a backup detector.

Overall Rating 3 stars

43

The good and the Bad

November 30, 2011
I have been metal detecting for over 35 years and this is my 5th detector. It is not the best nor the worse one I have owned. First the good.
I have had the Bounty Hunter fast tracker IV for about 2 months now and made almost $200.00 with it. About $30 in change and the rest from gold rings I found and sold. So it does work.
Now the bad.
This is a beginners detector no ifs ands or buts. The old silver coins are NOT going to be found with this detector. I did 3 different tests to see what was wrong and the problem is, even with a quarter, max depth is 5-6". Most older coins are going to be in your 6-9" range. You get what you pay for and I will keep this one, however going to splurge for something better for the deeper silver.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

366

The Best Beer Can Locator ever made.

August 31, 2011
I purchased my fast tracker at Radio Shack. For a bit under $100. I found a toy die cast car under some pebbles in an abandoned park. Not much else. It doesn't seem to register coins unless they are right on the surface. However, the impressive (and annoying) talent of this machine is to be able to detect an old beer can up to 12" below ground! Man, it was frustrating to dig a foot down with a little hand trowel to find a beer can. This happened 3 times in an hour. Anything else it can only detect about an inch below surface. I am convinced though, that I could find a beer can from China with this contraption.

Overall Rating 3 stars

163

We found gold

July 05, 2010
Our first treasure was finding our Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker for 3 bucks at a local Goodwill store. We found a few things right off the bat in our yard - nails, pop-tabs etc. After playing with it a few times out we found $2.25 cents in one hole in our yard all at different depths, from a couple of inches to 8 or ten inches. We found a toy car a foot down, and a key about 6 inches. Yesterday we found a 14K mens ring at a 30 + years abandoned house several inches down. We love our Bounty Hunter!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

235

Great Little Relic Machine

September 12, 2009
I see a lot written about many different models of Bounty Hunter machines out there but I haven't seen much about the one that I purchased. I bought a Fast Tracker new a little over a month ago and have been putting it to work on weekends as time allows. So far, I am impressed with this machine. I am surprised that some national dealers market it as a "kids detector"

I bought it for relic hunting mostly. I know that it does not have notch disc. or a digital read out to tell you how deep your target is, but that is ok for me.

Here is what I found impressive. It has great depth and is good with target seperation. With the stock 7" coil, I found a horseshoe at approximately 9". I also found a U nail (fence staple) used for tacking up barbed wire at 4". What was neat about the U nail was that I got two solid signals when I swung the coil over it slowly. I got a hit for each side of the U nail.

I bought the optional 10" coil and was blown away with the depth! I recovered the top of an old Sinclair oil can at over 18"! I had a SOLID signal from the very beginning. Please note, I use this machine with maximum sensitivity and no discrimination. I have also found smaller items with the larger coil including a Civil War era round lead ball at around 5"

I was a bit worried that I was not getting any hits from coins with it, so I took it to a tot lot to test it out and found two pennies in the first two minutes (one copper and one zinc). I ended up with four pennies, one dime a quarter in under 30 minutes.

There are not a lot of bells and whistles on this machine but in my opinion, they are not needed for what I do. Do not be afraid of this machine just because it is inexpensive or is marketed as a kids machine.

I'm not trying to push one machine over another but I am trying to let people know one person's experiences with this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

493

Very Good . Inexpensive,.......But Not Cheap

March 25, 2009
Found mine at the flea market. Like new, with headphones and batteries for only $20.
Works fantastic! I found some coins in my yard before going to work this morning.I should have called in sick and took it to the park.
I think the real treasure was finding this detector for only $20. What a steal! I can't wait until things dry up a bit(It's been raining here), so I can get out there again and find some more $$$$$$.

Overall Rating 4 stars

60

Dont waste your money

May 07, 2008
I am very disappointed with this detector. I buried a quarter under about 3" of sand and it wouldn't pick it up. The discrimination doesn't work either. I took it back 2 hours after I bought it. Save your money because the only thing you will find with this detector is the feeling of being ripped off.

Overall Rating 1 star

1416

Great budget detector

August 07, 2007
Well, I don't have a bunch of experience with more expensive detectors, but this little detector seems great value for money (purchased on Amazon for $80). The first thing I did after putting in the batteries was head out into my back yard with two dimes to see if I could detect them easily when buried. Buried one around 4" deep, left the other on the surface in the grass and found both easily. I also found another dime a few feet away.
Taking it to the beach I found its weak spot...black sand. Even with the sensitivity turned way down and discrimination turned up it still gave a lot of false bleeps and pops.
It worked well in sand a little way in from the beach black sand deposits though, at our campsite we found a bunch of rusty tent pegs, bolts, a couple of coins, an old rusty iron stake and a lot of melted aluminum.
The kids enjoyed using this detector and it seems fairly robust so we will be taking it on all our family outings.

Overall Rating 4 stars

151

Not impressed

December 27, 2005
I've been MDing for nearly 40 years, and yesterday borrowed a Fast Tracker so my son could have a machine to swing while I was hunting a beach. I spent half an hour trying to get the machine useable. New batteries didn't help. In dry sand near fresh water (no black sand), it generated little more than pops, clicks, and false targets. Frustrated, he finally turned it off and quit trying to use it. He shared mine the rest of the trip.

It could be this particular unit was defective, though it was less than three months old, and had seen little use. The other reviews are very positive on this machine, but after yesterday's experience, I wouldn't buy one.

Overall Rating 1 star

1011

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Fast Tracker