Headhunter Wader

Price: $600
Avg. Score: 3 stars 2.69
Based on 13 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Headhunter Wader

Compare to ▼
Garrett AT PRO $700
Whites Beach Hunter ID $800
Tesoro Tiger Shark $750
Minelab Excalibur 800 $800
Tesoro Stingray II $700
Fisher 1280x Aquanaut $800

Wader/pirate pro/1280x

July 20, 2014
I picked up a few waders over the eyars and sold them and it took me some time to dabble into tweaking the pots a bit to get the best performance out of my pirate pro'. I bought a cobra beach magnet with 10.5' coil same concept as the Fisher 1280x internally. Grabbed another pirate pro. Same again as the 1280x just a bit smaller board. Still 2.4khz quartz crystal powered.

Swapped the coil and soldered spliced into the headphone pirate pro unit. Tweaked the sens pot and disc pots (RECALIBRATED) and did some air testing. 10" on a 14kt gold ring, 3" on a diamond stud earring. 11" on a quarter. How much more depth does one need? Factory settings are OK but a little tweaking goes a long way and honestly the detector is a lot of fun in freshwater lake hunting and Florida beach hunting. Any of the 3 units I just mentioned will find the goods with a few minor adjustments.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
20

The worst

December 01, 2011
Never bought such a bad piece of kit as this in my life, from a company who have a history of complaints about this product, broken wires, leaking water, no real depth, unreliable, with a poor guarantee. Don't dare go into the water with these suckers, well, only in a plastic bag!! But then you will suffocate of course, total junk from a company that should be locked up. As a rating, this machine would be lucky to get nowt.

Overall Rating 1 star

51

Head Hunter Wader - A Great Water Detector

October 16, 2007
After reading some of these posts I don't know what these people were doing with their detectors. How can you get the controls wet unless you dive under water. It clearly states that this is NOT a diving detector and the phones are only good for a 6 foot depth should you accidently drop them in the water. They are not preassurized for diving. As far as detector search depth goes, in finding things both on salt and fresh water beaches I've had to dig as much as 12 to 15 inches for a penny. Rings sound off like a giant bell as well as larger coins. For its price and size this detector packs a great punch. It is my primary detector for the water and also does a great job on land. It's the only detector that can truly be used for both.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1811

Never again!!

February 12, 2007
Never again will I buy a product from this company, the worst!! I was going to Hawaii and purchased this unit, after 10 minutes in the water it died, I looked and the electronics were full of water!! I let it dry over night it was working again in the morning, but after using it for 5 minutes the headphone wire fell out!! needless to say I headed to the detector shop on the island and got $200 trade in value for my new detector, i did purchase a whites unit that worked great, would not recomend the head hunter detectors to anyone!

Overall Rating 1 star

108

Different and definitely worth a try

February 12, 2006
If you hunt fresh water lakes very much you know that mineralization and iron trash handling can be a big issue. After using a variety of detectors I have narrowed it down to a few that compliment each other. No one machine is best at everything or in all condtions and the Wader is one worth having in your arsenal. The low frequency it uses while not hot on the small stuff will work deep on medium size stuff and add older finds to your pouch that the others missed. Rehunt your old swim areas with this detector and you will be amazed at what was left, I was.

Tom

Overall Rating 4 stars

134

Not impressed

January 27, 2006
I have had this machine for about two years, seems to work ok, it is not going to win any awards for depth, but it does have some serious quality control problems I believe they manufactured the lowest cost water machine possible, and it shows, I have sent mine in twice and paid $75 plus shipping each time, I will not send it in again, i will buy one of the other brands that has a quality product and stands behind it. Andy

Overall Rating 1 star

383

Headhunter Wader

December 08, 2005
This was the biggest waste of time and money i have ever experienced, The Wader with it's impressive 3" depth on a nickel!, my toddlers $5.00 toy detector works better, wish i had seen this site before i bought. live and learn.

Overall Rating 1 star

253

Headhunter Wader

November 05, 2005
Not going to get into a long story, just have to agree with the majority of posts, poorly manufactured, and lacks in performance, for the money there are many detectors that excell over the wader.

Overall Rating 1 star

282

Headhunte Wader

October 06, 2005
Have seen some badmouth on the wader, but my experience has been very good, got no complaints, it works as advertised, does a fine job, most problems are caused by the operators on most machines, regardless what brand, iv'e had 27 different detectors, and the HH Wader is very good

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1319

Headhunter Wader

August 14, 2005
Well after 30 years of water detecting I guess i can express my opinion of the Detector Pro wader, The detector is based on a great idea, light weight and simple, unfortunatly it is so poorly manufactured you may not get a chance to try it, as i opened the box i noticed the cross threaded coil cable attached to the coil, then the waterproofing??? can you say snap tight? Thats right snap your battery in the headphone case it's water proof-NOT!, oh ya, then the depth, 5 inches air test on a coin was the best it would do, after speaking to others i thought maybe i had a faulty one, so I contacted the factory, They were the rudest people i have ever spoke too!, told me it was my problem! nice thing to say about a detector less than one month old! needless to say I sold it and swore never again on Detector pro, any other brand or I will sift sand with a minnow net at the beach, before i buy another Detector pro product.

Overall Rating 1 star

493

Submit your review for Headhunter Wader

Submit your tip for Headhunter Wader