Whites TM 808

Price: $700
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.22
Based on 9 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.00
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.00

Submit your review for Whites TM 808

Compare to ▼
Fisher Gemini III $600
Discovery TF 900 $600
Fisher TW-6 $700

Tm 808

April 15, 2016
This is a very good detector for the deeper targets. No discrimination no problem. I use this in very high mineralized ground easy enough to tune out I even tuned out the steel toed boots I once had on wont do that again. Frustrating at first it just takes lots of practice I tried passing over a twin culvert at 6 feet to get the 'feel'.

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
41

Tm808

April 08, 2015
I tried using this machine for a month now. It detects iron and cans. I tried it with my GOLD JEWELRY but IT DID NOT SOUND, did not detect at all. Does this tm808 detect gold? If yes please tell me the settings. I need help.

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
610

Awesome

July 12, 2014
Hello, I am surprised the depth it detects with this machine. I highly recommend using a quality headphone($100) for those low hum noise you might come across even though if you're in a quiet area. I use this to detect buried pipes up to 15 feet deep without a problem. You need to get familiar, practice, practice, practice is a must in order to master what you are looking for.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
123

808 review

October 26, 2012
I have been using it for more than a year now and I say its great when it comes to depht and even in sizing up objects. the best thing about it is, it detects beyond 4meters and for sure its not trash.

Overall Rating 4 stars

151

WHITES TM808 TURNED MY HOUSE A MUSEUM

May 24, 2012
In June 2011 bought mine second hand on EBAY for $450 still in mint condition. Whites TM808 I had is the older model with CAVE mode. Actually I really want to write a "very bad " review on it at the very first month when I had 'very bad experience with it, in my first 3 month I got frustrated by this machines, many trouble on stability, not sensitive at all ( cannot detect a big iron shovel even I pass it over ).

Got frustrated too because I live overseas 21. 000 miles away from white's factory and for sure the expired warranty and both ways shipping will "lose me a cow"litteally (LOL)
UNTIL FINALLY I FOUND THE PROBLEM. . . . it was the loosen screw that hold the loop of the back antenna, it cause the loop antenna to not connect tightly on the bar and always move slightly every step I walk, it cause changing all the setting on Ground balance and sensitivity.

Took me another month to "mastering" this machine. You need to learn to use this machine, the Manual it self is not enough, you might need to spent more times and loooong walk "to get couple tightly" with this machine until you know how to detect the Size and Depth of the target BUT no discrimination.
I can not tell you what's the best setting of this machine for you, its depend on soil condition in your area, just start with the factory recommended manual, then you can improvise by your self regarding your own experience, but don't turn the sensitivity to hight.

This machine will go very deep. . I believed I've I never dig more than 5 feet deep. It detect my motorcycle (front side) at 3 meter (9 feet) away. I recommend to bring a friends , shovel, or mechanical earth removal. . . (lol). but get ready for surprise with good object or just junk.

Always replace the battery when the battery level at 75 percent, low battery will make this machines becam unstable.
I use the Manual ( non motion) mode that in my opinion will make me easier to "hear" the small object.
You need time and patience with this machine, sensitive ?? Tes very sensitive, now on I can detect 3" rusty small nail at 1 feet deep.

Whites electronic advertised this machine as "large object detector" but I can detect some small item such as 3'' rusty wire, single iron rings, 5 sticked bronze coin, up to one foot deep, no kidding I am very surprise also BUT make me dig more trash also. In my MD ing I also use the Garret Ace 250 for "pointer" and to discriminate the object before I dig it, it really helps because the Whites TM808 is totally blind on object discrimination BUT not on object Size and Depht.

On very deep object it will "huum" smoothly and longer (usually several feet before center of object location), on large object it will scream very loud. I recommended to use another Metal detector with display and discrimination to guide this "treasure finder", my Garret ace250 did the job well, when my Whites TM808 detect the target friend of mine (budy who help me to dig) will run the garret ace250 on it, and will make us happy if the garret ace250 did not detect it because . . it should be the object is deep valuable treasure. . . and it is.
In the future I like to try the Arch Geo Logger by Tim William, on reviews the Arc Geo Logger will put the EYES on Whites TM808, it will turn the audio output became a visual spectrum image tru laptop computer, and detect more deeper and show the non metallic object to ( building foundation, brick, stone, cave etc) hope will get it soon.

Some of my finds :
- bronze vessel (9" diameter x 12" height) at 5 foot deep.
- Hoard of bronze chinese coin (5 pound weight) at foot and half
- Horse riding accessories (chain, mask made of bronze/brass) at 2 foot deep.
- Sword (iron) at 1 foot deep
- Crown attribute (Javanese dragon handcrafted bronze) found inside ming dynasty bowl ceramic) at 1 foot deep
Etc. . . etc. . . and stil counting. . . . .

TREASSURE (litteraly) found one by one and dug out of the ground of country with 13. 000 island, spoke hundreds languages, hundreds of original culture) country of UNITY IN DIVERSITY. Most treasure was date back to 13-17 century. and originally come from the old kingdom who spread arround the Java island (majapahit, singhasari, blambangan kingdom etc). ALL THE TREASURE ARE CULTURAL HERITAGE OF INDONESIA (its protected by law and shouldn't be trade it freely)

My find is COUNTLESS . . . Whites TM808 TURNED MY HOUSE A MUSEUM !!! because I live in country with abundance buried treasure. . . . . .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

381

Perfect

August 23, 2009
If you want to find objects deep in the ground. This IS a very good detector.

Try this detector, and you will be very surprised.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

4514

DEEP, DEEPER & DEEPEST!

May 25, 2009
Not perfect, but closer to 5 stars than 4 as far as I'm concerned. Plus, it is a White's! We are looking at a unit designed to find large caches of buried treasure, large metal objects and caves or open storage areas below ground. If you buy it to isolate smaller stuff or discriminate out the stuff that it is designed to find, you'd be better off looking elsewhere. Four c-cells and start hunting without a lot of mumbo-jumbo to operate effectively, that is simple controls, tones and readout. This will find the aforementioned stuff deeper than you will want to dig with a hand tool. Bring in the long shovels and a buddy. Mechanized earth removal equipment is optional (LOL).

Overall Rating 5 stars!

462

If its there, you will find it

May 01, 2009
The thing with the tm 808 is this, (it does not have brilliant discrimination)..is that really all that matters??..In my opinion no...what matters is the depth, deep is where you will find the hordes and deep is where the 808 goes.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

306

If you want to find "trash", get this one

June 12, 2007
We were using this metal detector for some days and we kept finding trash cans. It does not really descriminates well. It is a deep searching machine, but without any kind of descrimination.

Overall Rating 2 stars

11145

Submit your review for Whites TM 808

Submit your tip for Whites TM 808