Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505

Price: $280
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.42
Based on 38 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.67
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Fisher F44 $400
Teknetics Omega 8500 $330
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310

Fairly decent detector

June 24, 2008
For the money this is an awesome detector, if it was higher priced I wouldnt have given it 5 stars. But if you want to get deep coins and relics, then you should buy a higher priced unit, but this isnt made to be the best anyways! With that outa the way we can look at the good points of this detector. I've found some awesome stuff with this detector, pennies and other coins, some small buttons, relics, and a really cool lock. This detector goes a good 8 inch on most coins, and also a little deeper on bigger objects. If you want the best depth go in no motion all metal, that seems to get a little bit more, but that can be the difference between finding a 24kt gold ring and not finding it. Theres really nothing I can complain about for this price, it gives depth(on a coin sized object), ID, and discrimination. If this is the highest your willing to pay for a detector, buy this unit, you wont be dissapointed.

Good luck!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

865

Bounty hunter 505

May 10, 2008
I bought this detector at walmart with a 8 in coil and a small 4in for gold? Paid 260 plus tax.
Works fine then I bought a 10 in coil 86.00
In 1 year I found 32 wedding bands, gold bracelets, superman ring, scull ring, shoe boxes of coins including old silver coins, old pocket watch, charms made of platinum but I worked 8 to 10 hrs a day.
I hate digging 5in is it 4 me what I liked is I put it on auto notch and never changed it I don't like the battery changing so I made a pack out of a 9.6 to 8.4 I wanted a minelab excalibur because its water proof but I guess I'll stay were I'm at. I saw a white working and it said it was a nickel that is was a pull tab I seen a fisher and the guy couldn't find the target I guess your only as good as the person useing it.

Overall Rating 1 star

24100

Definetly a great beginner detector.

April 28, 2008
I got mine off ebay for about 200 brand new. Very easy to learn with the help of the dvd or manual. This is my first detector and have to say I'm quite impressed. Everyday I've been out I bring stuff home. Mostly coins, this machine loves coins. I've also found a silver ring and a gold ring. The two oldest coins are only wheaties but I spend a lot of time in school yards or parks. The only drawback is it does have a lot of erratic beeping at times but I've learn to read between the lines since I've used it. If I happen to get around sand I don't even bother with the disc mode. I just go all metal and that seems to take care of the erratic beeps. I plan on investing into something of higher quality later but I wanted to learn how to walk before I tried running. This really is a great starter machine.

Overall Rating 4 stars

425

A really solid detector-great bang for buck

October 14, 2007
I'm a veteran detector 20yrs+, although the number of machines I've owned is limited. I've only previously had mid-range Whites units. When my last one started to become erratic I was looking for a replacement but had limited budget. I came here to read the reviews and decided to try this model out. Bought it on ebay for around 150, and right away I liked the simplicity, and lightweight. Worked my yard to get used to the signals for a few days, and gradually got used to it. I was finding lots of clad, occasionaly though I ran into areas where the machine seemed unstable. I know one of these was due to a microwave tower, and I believe the other time might have been underground cables. Other than those instances the unit was solid, not really a huge wow factor but definitely a good machine. Recently though I found a really good old field with very little trash and I discovered that the machine does have some really good power to find deep objects, I pulled a sitting liberty dime from around 7" and a Indian head penny from around 8". I pinpoint using the all metal mode and I love the way you can switch modes so quickly. Give it some time(like any machine) and this will become a staple in your metal detecting tool box. I'd recommend without hesitation. Reason for 4 is my limited experience with a lot of differnt models, ie a 5 may still be out there.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

713

Pioneer 505 great deal!

April 25, 2007
My first detector,this was easy to use and I found alot of things with it. Among my finds,silver coins,an Indian Head nickel,Merc dime,14 kt gold ring,14 kt gold chain,.999silver cross,1929 high school gold pin,$150 in coins,numerous non valuable rings and jewelry,all in all a fun detector. First thing to do is read and re read the instructions. Study them,watch the video and study again. Makes it easier when you go out in the field. read Lost Treasure and Eastern/Western Treasures too for tips!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

633

Excellent first detector

November 23, 2006
I wanted a detector for many years and the wife got me one for my Birthday. Yesterday my nephew and I found a quick 60 cents (two silver quarters and a dime) in an old park playground.
I like it very much and the instructions are fair, the online vide helped to tweak it in and I expect great times ahead. Terrific price for the package which came with a smaller coil also!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

341

Need the free video? I can help!

November 14, 2006
I bought my Pioneer 505 from ebay. Great deals there, just buy from a reputable dealer with good ratings 99% or higher. I am very impressed with this detector and it is not my first or my only. I own 3 detectors from Bounty Hunter and they are all very, very good machines for the price. Through the years have found every thing you could imagine. Don?t let anyone fool you, these are great detectors and well worth the price!!! Just take the time to learn how to use them. If you need the free video that came with the Pioneer 505 detector or just would like to see it you can download it or just watch it at this link.
http://treasure.mindstrain.com/video_505.html

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1942

Great Machine for the money

August 22, 2006
I purchased the 505 from Wal-Mart for $200 on the close-out rack. It has the optional 4" coil, video, digging tool, etc. Reg. price was $ 278.

I spent considerable time "learning" how to use the machine and the time spent "learning" was well worth the effort. Learning how to use the "notch", discriminator, and various modes makes this detector very effective. The more I learn, the more I enjoy the unit.

If you can find one at "close-out" price, I'd strongly recommend you "grab-it".

Overall Rating 5 stars!

473

Bought two

April 01, 2006









I bought one for the wife for xmas..we've wanted detectors for ever and walmart had the prices...so impressed the wife bought me one to...Unless you set the discrimate properly you lock on to everything...Even found a magazine staple at 6in. With the 2 heads and all the other stuff at 279.00 you can't beat it..







Overall Rating 5 stars!

226

A Great Buy

March 03, 2006
A great deal and a great detector. Walmart sells them for $280.00 and it comes with 5 year warranty and 8 and 4 inch coils and digger and finder bag. It is lightweight and extremely accurate. For what it has to offer you can't go wrong for the price.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

253

Submit your review for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505

Submit your tip for Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505