Minelab Musketeer

Minelab Musketeer Price: $300
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.67
Based on 33 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Musketeer

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Fisher F44 $400
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310

Deep sleeper

April 24, 2016
When the mk1 musky appeared decades ago, I read the treasure hunting mags reviews and thought wow sounds mega deep, then I wrongly thought give it time, minelab may have paid for those reviews, I opted for the tesoro cortes (very good), and then a minelab sov(ace). I didnt make a bad choice, but now wish I had brought the musketeer back then, when I had a permission loaded with hammies.

Last year I spotted one on ebay and was shocked it reached £200, so got reading the reviews here. That was it, I needed to find out what I missed. I spotted a machine that had been turfed out of a attic (mint), and battled for it in auction. Again £200 mark, and money well spent. It's not only super deep, it loves silver. I don't have much permission with hammies these days but am building up a nice collection of silver sixpences that have come from between 5" and 9". On top of that I have run it with big coils and hit pennies 14" down.

Now my words of advice, don't run it in fixed ground balance, take the trouble to balance it correctly. Not only will you go deeper, you will also hit smaller things and more silver. Fixed gb misses big silver like crowns and half crowns, and reduces depth on smaller silver. I made a video to highlight the issue of ground balance https://www.youtube.com/watch?V=CYdVJPI_EP0. Takes one minute to do a proper ground balance, why would you loose half your silvers being lazy.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Minelab musky

November 14, 2012
Hi, only been dectecting since feb 2012, now the minelab musky what can I say about this dectector great great great simple one of the best around, and the best thing about it is the price you will not find a better detector at that price anywhere GREAT!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

73

Love the advantage!!

August 23, 2012
I have been using a "Minelab Musketeer Advantage" off and on for about
8 years. I think for the money, there is no better detector!! They are hard to fine now, since Minelab quit making them!! If you can find a used one GET IT and learn how to use it, you won't be sorry!! I have been MD for around 40 years, so I know what it takes to make a great Metal Detector. Just wish Minelab hadn't stop making them.. .


Frank

Overall Rating 5 stars!

80

Minelab Musketeer

February 18, 2011
Hello my name is Richard and I have the Musketeer for 5 months now. It's a great detector and goes nice and easy. But where can I find de 14 inch coil? With the TS1000 coil it can reach to 35 cm on a coin!
Great machine,

Greetings from Holland

Overall Rating 5 stars!

3010

Minelab Musketeer

February 12, 2011
I have a 1994 model Musketeer Colt that I picked up second hand and it is a coin monster. Discriminates well with lots of iron about - the "spit" noise with iron is just like all the reviews talk about. I will be modding the unit to make it an Advantage by adding the 10k pot and specialty switch for the pinpoint functionality and threshold reset. Overall, this is just a fantastic machine and I'll never part with it. Love the deep 14 inch coil with this unit - makes it detect DEEP... I just wish Minelab still made these. Very worthwhile machines and if you can get one used, grab it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

150

Musketeer: Three Years After!

March 25, 2010
Hi folks!
I am Stephen from Corfu island in Greece. My last review for the Musketeer was on 17th of April, 2008. There is a little something I would like to add.
Still works perfectly, in the "fix" position!
I wish it had an audible threshold! Impossible to GB out of the "fix" position without audible threshold! I asked Minelab for a modification, they answered, this is impossible! Too bad for me!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

237

Minelab musketeer

May 26, 2009
Wow a great machine, good design, very deep and sensitive, the battery and charger system is the best i have used.
The first trip out on a field that I have done to death with other top of the range machines I had a roman coin the first signal and then a elizabeth 1 1572 threepence at 10" and a perfect signal.
This machine loves iron infested sites and copes with ease, I have now sold the xp goldmax power as I love this machine with non of those constant iron signals.
If it is to heavy on the stem then just hip mount it with the minelab pouch, or even better buy a minelab straight stem.
A quality machine well done minelab.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

610

One of the Best

January 28, 2009
I've had my Advantage for three years and what a wonderful machine it has been. Simple to use, I always use the 10 inch coil and ground balance carefully, discrimination at 9 o'clock and sensitivity set so that the machine just runs quietly. Used like this iron is easy to identify, it has a much longer tone, problem items "move" when checked at 90 degrees.

My finds rate with the Advantage has been impressive, 600+ Roman coins, 12 Roman brooches, 5 Roman rings, many medieval coins (silver), including cut quarters(very very small and very thin) and so much more. These finds have all come from iron infested sites (Roman sites are littered with old Roman nails as well as hot iron pottery and building rubble), the Adavntage sails through with ease, better than my friends EXpll. All in all set it up right and learn to interpret the sounds and you'll not get a better detector at anywhere near its price. By the way did I mention it can go very deep?

Overall Rating 5 stars!

234

Musky ... fast and deep

January 19, 2009
I have a Musky with the standard 8" and the 12,5" detech coil. The 8 is quite good, not a deep monster, but very fast on the target and quite sensitive on small targets at good depths. The 12,5 detech is very very deep, 3 feet on a WW1 German helmet, while still discriminating medium sized iron (granade's splinters). I give it 5 stars, it can fight against every detector on the market. Think to the fact that it is a masked Relic Hawk ...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

190

Musketeer v e-trac

January 16, 2009
Hi everyone, musketeer v e-trac, fact 1.the musketeer goes just as deep as the e-trac. 2 musketeer alot cheaper than the e-trac. 3 the musketeer will pick up more rubbish than the e-trac but not always. 4 the end of the day if your over the object the musketeer will pick it up like all other deep detector. 5 fact. 6 trust me.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

462

Submit your review for Minelab Musketeer

Submit your tip for Minelab Musketeer