Minelab Musketeer

Price: $300
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.67
Based on 33 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Musketeer

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Fisher F44 $400
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399

MY MUSKETEER UPDATE.

October 09, 2008
Hi all,just to let you know what a great detector this is, I have found a nice silver Edward 1st dated around 1279 about 10ins down. Fantastic. You don't need to spend loads of money on a detector to find what your looking for. If your detector goes deep like the musketeer you will find it. Great detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

317

The best

September 22, 2008
I've only been metal detecting for only 4 months and so far with his detector I have found, 600 year old ring, 1 Roman brooch(bow brooch)very nice, 13century finger brooch, silver coins dating back from 1580, over 100 copper coins dating back from 1600, 4 mine tokens dates 1789 to 1799, musket balls and loads more stuff.
What does that tell you about this detector, fantastic.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

232

Advantage, by all means!

April 17, 2008
I bought this detector from ebay u.k. secondhand for 195 pounds sterling. It paid for itself in 15 days! Total score since I bought it two months ago beachcombing mostly wet salt sandy beaches with 7" coil: 456 cash Euros in coins, 626 undercurrent (older)coins, 26 silver jewellry, 16 gold jewellry, at amazing depths! 2 cent Euro coins at 11" down! Woman's slim golden ring with diamond at 13 down! Man's silver ring 16" down! Inland medieval small bronze various items 12" - 15" down! WWII Italian unexploded 75mm (3")howitzer at 65cm (26")down still with the 7" coil!
Oh yes! This detector proved equal or superior to my old Tesoro Eldorado. Drawbacks? It seems rather to be a aluminium foil loving machine! But as with most discriminating detectors, just an advice folks:Keep discrimination low and anyway and in any case no more than 1/3 up.If you do not dig up a little bit of junk you will not dig anything else either!
Comments contact spstephen@yahoo.com

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1151

Musketeer

August 18, 2007
Not a bad machine, not great either, it is firmly ensconced somewhere in between. My experience with using this machine is that it seems to love picking up iron; a bit too much. Also it is heavy and rather basic, but then what are you to expect for the price? On the flip side, yes it does go down just as deep as most other detectors and I have made some decent finds with it. The search head is also a decent size, and the control box is easy to master, and unlike earlier versions of this machine there is now an option to mount the control box under the foam arm rest, this is far more conducive to counter balance the machine. In short, if you are looking for a solid entry level machine that isn't going to break the bank then I suspect you could do far worse than this.

Overall Rating 3 stars

225

Minelab advantage pound 4 pound the best

August 05, 2007
Brilliant machine ,this must be the biggest secret in metal detecting, depth is right up there with the top end machines costing loads more,ease of use simple,ground balance a doddle,and the 10 inch is a killer,what a machine for the price,and you wont dig iron with a minelab,sensitivty of this machine is fantastic,in a word stunning.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

236

Sorrey Guys

July 14, 2007
Dont waste your money its a toy i have been relic hunting for 15 years here in VA & had 10 machines the best for me is the Fisher CZ & 1270 & DMC 2B.... dont even think about the SE LOL wow what junk for 1200 i sold mine & gave away the mus no deep Toy minelab needs to get there act straght or just sell to the UK market VARELIC69

Overall Rating 1 star

10107

Minelab Musketeer Advantage

February 08, 2007
This machine when learned and you can learn it quick, will impress the best of us, descrim, is right on target location is quick and very accurate, low cost and high performance, go get one and save, what you would have spent on a high end machine that will do no more than this one on depth and descrimination. Simply put , this one smokes.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

242

Advantage is the best

November 23, 2006
I like the Advantage alot it is a great metaldetector

Overall Rating 5 stars!

117

Best yet !!

April 17, 2006
After owning fisher's c-scopes and numerous other detectors,I bought a minelab musky advantage from ebay & without a doubt this detector as become the best iv'e had to date!!.
Awesome depth,fast recovery,& very good discrimination I would recommend one of these machines to anyone.I have had more decent finds with my musky than any other detector that I have owned!.ideal for beginer's or pro's alike.
Go out & get one of these machine's you won't regret it!!!.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

331

Deep and cheap

April 15, 2006
Let me start by saying I am a bit disappointed in the building quality of this machine. De bolt that locks the two parts of the stem together broke second time out and the battery compartment needs a piece of paper with the batteries or they won't connect.
Now the good news: this is an extremely deep machine. I used it on several trampled Roman sites that are ploughed every year. This winter I took it to a site where a Celtic temple was discovered several years ago. All other detectorists had already moved on to their next sites, so I guess you can say it was a hammered site. Still: I managed to find about 20 pieces of lead, cupper and whatnought in about 2 hours. Nothing valuable, but every one of these items could have been a roman/celtic brooch or coin. Now thats what I call a good machine.
Next, I took it to a site where some spoil from an medieval citycentre was being ploughed into the ground. I first took my two tesoros and didnt find much. I then took out the advantage and found several items, including a medieval silver ring. Mind you, this site was about 15 x 60 meters, so, a very small site.
I really enjoy this machine. And: the price is allmost ridiculous. Buy one today.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

160

Submit your review for Minelab Musketeer

Submit your tip for Minelab Musketeer