Whites QXT Pro

Price: $600
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.38
Based on 16 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites QXT Pro

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Fisher F-19 $800
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Whites MX5 $600
Nokta Velox One $629

Those of us in the know!.....

June 10, 2014
I have read, 2-3 bad reviews on this machine, out of about 15-20 positive reviews, so adding in my two cents..... People who have "LEARNED THIS MACHINE" and USED THIS MACHINE", know, like I do, that it is a "KILLER COIN MACHINE", "PROFICIENT RELIC MACHINE" and a, "not so bad" "PROSPECTING MACHINE"!..... Stupid comments like "It's too chattery" and "unstable" means, you are running it too hot! Turn the sensitivity down/raise the coil? (DUH?) "I sold it in a week or two"! Etc., etc., just means you took it out a few times, did not learn, even what it is telling you (which is "EVERYTHING YOU NEED TO KNOW"!) and then sold it and on to the next one(new detector!)
You already had, one of the best detectors out there, you just did not give it a chance, or learn it, like we all have?

I used to think the best detector White's ever made, was the Eagle Spectrum? Actually, it was this "sleeper detector", that few ever learn to operate correctly and others try and then sell off quickly.....I direct everyone to Gary's Detecting, in the UK, who is a "consummate professional detectorist"! The QUANTUM XT PRO, (my review, my description!)is one of Gary's favorite detectors, of all time (Number one or two all time favorite!)and my "one of the top 5 all time favorite detectors") along with Discovery Electronics "Goldtrax/Cointrax, Minelab Eureka Gold and XT Series Detectors.....

So, anyway, I've been detecting, myself, for over 40 years, so I think that qualifies me to voice my opinion? Having owned and used most all brands, from late 60's up through 2014 (at last count, I own upwards of 28 detectors currently?) Guys, I am just saying, "Don't bad mouth a detector, you didn't like, just because you gave up on it too soon and didn't learn what it was telling you?..........I rest my case, vsofa.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
134

Great Machines!

May 17, 2012
The QXT Pro and the Quantum XT are amazing detectors with great depth. I purchased the Pro in the Spring of 2004 and the XT a few months ago, and it's never a disappointment with either of these machines. They're easy to use and sniff out coins with the best of them. They especially hit hard on silver and copper.

I also own a V3i and I choose these detectors over it when I want to get down to business. The turn on and go and ease of use make these more appealing to me. The V3i can be a little overwhelming. I've found thousands of dollars in coins and relics with these machines. The lack of the VDI scale on these machines doesn't bother me whatsoever because when you get used to them it's pretty easy to tell what you're getting ready to dig. Just takes a little patience.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

120

Awesome Tool!

March 09, 2012
The Quantum XT I have is downright awesome! I started to get a Whites XLT but could not justify the money, nor did I need the other program saving features at nearly twice the price. Whites has done a superb job of digitizing the 6000XL models and clarifying all the knobs to a single screen interface. The unit is extremely easy to balance and run, both at the beach and in the gold fields. Using the smaller coil, I have seen great depth and tremendous finds in the roughest ground. If you find one in good shape, it is well worth having this professional quality detector.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

140

Here I Go Again!!!

November 18, 2010
Just had to review this machine once more.

I go detecting 6-8 hours per week, 9 months a year. Wish I had more time and better Indiana weather. Since studying and experimenting further, my efforts are paying off.

For years I found the normal treasure; coins and silver jewelry. Now, I find gold jewelry often, as a matter of fact, I'm surprised when I don't find it.

Soon I will have four detectors, three Quantum and one other brand. Guess I'm like a tennis player who uses only one brand and type of racket.

The Quantum talks like a person, constantly giving information, You can hear coins as deep 8 to 9 inches. Personally, I don't like digging that deeply, especially in hard soil.

Learn to setup this detector properly, SLOW DOWN and LISTEN CLOSELY. You'll be successful.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

312

Great Value

April 06, 2009
This is my third metal detector and it has it served me very well. Among many nice finds, my most treasured is a Civil War coat button that's worth $300 to $500. I would not recommend this machine for beginners because it has a bit of a learning curve that might turn-off someone new to detecting.

You must read the manual and understand how it works. There is a link below in one of the reviews that points to a site with very good tips on how to use this machine.

The preset programs are good and it has a lot of adjustability. Some users say it chatters too much, but not if you set it up right. Learning its tones can help determine what's a good dig and what's not.

Has a mode that works pretty well on beaches too.

All-around good detector that should be at least a 4 star. You can still find them used, in good condition, at bargain prices.

jw

Overall Rating 4 stars

281

In LOVE and addicted !!!!!

December 31, 2008
I've had mine for seven years, best used machine value on the market. My sister and brother bought theirs online for less than 300.00 each.This is not an xlt and was never designed to be, once it is mastered your ability will be great. This is the only machine of it's kind, ahead of it's time. Learn your craft before you put it down, be patient. Study it.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

220

MAKE YOUR THE QXT ROCK

December 11, 2008
well people.I got a Whites Blue Max DD nuget shotter coil for $150. Man did it make the QXT jump to a depth ,1 lead slug = 2 feet deep. Never found anything that deep with it before. Set it up on the Prospecting mode and go for it. It will pickup small steel and lead shot on and in the ground. Great responce, seems like a whole new detector.....Great job Whites!!!!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

190

THIS MACHINE ROCKS

September 30, 2008
Was I surprised when my buddy recommended this unit to me, I thought it similar to a silver eagle, boy was I surprised like no other whites I have ever used and I have been using whites since the early 80s.

What impressed me about the unit was lightning quick recovery, I was pulling out coins right next or on top of junk or iron where my other units would null out, this unit locked on even with the 950 coil, I can imagine when I try the 5.3 coil what it will do.

I dig very little junk with this unit once you learn what it is telling you, you have no problem knowing it is a deep coin or goodie and you also have the graph to help you size the target no other whites like this one, also depth in mixed mode is excellent, pinpointing with vco is dead on, I love the tone id, it can be turned on or off in any of the zones nothing like it out there. Easy to set up, the menu is very simple to use, also love the way the unit ground balances, just wave coil up and down until it is stable pull trigger and your ready to go.

Who ever said this is a bad unit better go back to detecting school, please get some experience with the unit before you put it down, I love this machine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

311

Not easy to learn, but worth the reward if you do.

June 10, 2008
After looking for a used metal detector that would not leave me broke, I settled for the QXT from Whites. Having used whites in the past I assumed it would be a "piece of cake" But it certainly is not a turn on and go...get rich quick detector. You need to learn it, study it...and best of all...read this "how to" and then you will master it.
http://66.51.97.78/jb/quantumtips.html

Once you are familiar with it, you will undoubtedly love it. It is very rich with features and tweaks. No, there is not a VDI scale, but it comes close, and definately tries to show you the size of the object. I believe the only negative thing about it is that the memory is volatile, meaning any custom "tweaks" you perform are lost once the battery is removed...and no true VDI scale. The best kept secret is that since people refuse to put in the time to understand it, they get discouraged and will sell them at a great loss.
This means finding a superb detector for very little money. Thanks!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

250

Discrimination

October 04, 2007
I have enjoyed my qxt. It is like anything elese. You need to get use to it in order for it to work in your favor. I live in Colorado and have found several different coins with it. I plan on taking it out to the mountains to hunt for gold. I enjoy it.

Overall Rating 4 stars

140

Submit your review for Whites QXT Pro

Submit your tip for Whites QXT Pro