Treasure Hunter 3030

Price: $150
Avg. Score: 3 stars 3.46
Based on 28 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Treasure Hunter 3030

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160
Whites Coinmaster $180
Teknetics Alpha 2000 $200

Md 3019

April 09, 2017
It's hard to judge this unit when I don't have something similar to compare to. I have found coins, although the machine seems to fare better in certain type soils. Air tests a quarter at around 8". If it starts giving multiple beeps, it's because of EMI. Just back the sensitivity down, but not too much or you'll lose depth. In you can get the metal mode tuned right, it can go deeper that disc mode.

I had a Garrett Ace 250 which seemed more consistent than this particular unit. ID can be iffy, again, depending on the soil. All in all, I'd say this unit is a good one to learn on. Play with the controls. And try different soils until you find where the machine fares best.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
01

Works great!!!

March 18, 2016
Works just as well as any high dollar detector I've used. If it does not work for you then you probably need a class or two on fine tuning... You can't just pull it out of the box and expect to locate some pirate treasure out on the beach somewhere... Fine tune people!!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
10

Detect deep

November 14, 2012
I have had this unit for about 3 weeks. It is mostly made of plastic and the yard I have has a lot of trash in it since the house was built in 1902. In the all metal mode I found a lot of nails and rusted hinge.
I then read the manual and put the machine in the notch mode and did some fine tuning by placing a quarter in the ground. The machine found coins evertime and no trash. It works great for me since most coins were 6-9 inches deep. I don't understand why people are complaining when they are paying less than 150.00 for this machine??
Works great for me.

Overall Rating 4 stars

100

Treasure Hunter 3030

September 09, 2012
Bought mine from Craigs List, paid $80. 00. I've compared it to a ace 250. And its a little heavier but compared well.

Overall Rating 3 stars

61

Xj9 3050

March 30, 2012
I bought mine about 6 months ago on Ebay and because of moving didn't get a chance to try it until now. Mine just doesn't work. When I put it into all metal mode it lights up half the bars and emits sound continuously no matter what you do to the ground balance. Tried to contact seller but noresponse. Save your money.

Overall Rating 1 star

124

Treasure Hunter 3030

November 09, 2011
Unlike many reviews I've looked at here, I throughly enjoy mine, I know how to use it and have read the instruction booklet. It is ignorant to write reviews when you haven't learned to use it properly. I have owned mine for years and had no problem what so ever. It has been VERY accurate so I don't understand the criticism and obvious lack of knowledge of the metal detector.
READ THE MANUEL BEFORE writing a review. This is a GEM of a tool, light and very user friendly to those who bother to learn HOW to use it. Instead of tearing it up, send it to me! I love it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

422

Chinese junk don't waste your money

March 06, 2011
Was given a treasure hunter 3030 as a gift the worst gift I have ever gotten, did an air test right away this is good for 4" max on 50 cent piece, took it to a local park found nothing over 2" nothing about this detector works well I have a bounty hunter junior that works better than this, but that's what you get from China just junk save your money buy American.

Overall Rating 1 star

1821

Blackbull - European Treasurehunter

February 14, 2011
I was very happy to receive my Treasurehunter for Christmas. I'm an amateur amongst beepstickamateurs. I was looking for a low-priced detector with options and thats what I've got. In Holland this machine is called the Black Bull 150.

I think this detector is a bit precise in the settings. With all modes set to 'off' and full sensitivity the machine beeps like hell even on dry sand. It's tweaking and testing to find the right setting but still wondering if I'm not missing most. Although I understand that uneasiness comes with the hobby :)

Mostly I search on all-metal-pinpointing mode which simulates a very precise analog MD. Man its deep and its precise. Tone varies in depth and intensity which gives a good indication of size, shape etc with relics. Also the many-incremented steps of the depth-meter give an awsome indication of the depth of the object. Spot-on, I search with my brother who has a Fisher F2, he has only a 3 step depth indicator and thinks that kinda sucks.

Overall the two machines compare well, the F2 going slightly deeper but also more sensitive and responding to minor specks of rust which the Black Bull of 3030 miss on full sense. Not always to my disappointment...

Next: Batterylife seems short to average going on 4-5 hours with searching on pinpoint mode. Also battery connectors are loose wires, not a nice slide in mechanism. Also small headphone jack. Bit loose nuts on the stick. Very light and with elbowbrace set to right distance, comfortable. No led-light, sucks in darker places. Also with arm extended hard to read display. Small letters.

Still figuring out the digital modes, because I dont want to spend an afternoon in which I could be searching, with tweaking. Modes are too chattery for now for comfortable searching and I still think it might be better if i just went for the analog machine for half the money.

But the pinpointmode is soooo great even better than the F2 I'll probably be searching with it coming year.

Have fun with this machine. Twice the options of similar machines double the price so don't complain. For beginners and non-regular md users its a nice buy.

Regarding the flameposts and other haters: Metaldetecting seems to be a sport that is dominated by men, and as with all other sports (or any part of life) dominated by men, BIGGER must be BETTER and of course, more EXPENSIVE is too. Size does matter to the snobs and douchebags. As with fishing and other 'hobby's', a bigger rod doesn't necessarily catch bigger fish. A better spot, however, does...

Happy beeping coming season!!

Overall Rating 3 stars

233

Don't waste your money

October 07, 2010
Bought this detector on ebay as new looks great looks new, did an air test and your lucky to get a beep at 6"with a quarter also have a problem with it moving off all metal to disc. or notch some kind of problem with this new unit contacted the home office to try to get it fixed got no response, in my opinion this company is a scam be better off with bounty hunter or fisher for the same price at least they work.

Overall Rating 1 star

151

Brilliant for money

August 29, 2010
Quality a little suspect! ie locknuts wont tighten, stem becomes loose and floopy, rather than wait for new lockuts, I decided to drill small hole in bottom stem through locating stud holes and put in small self tapping screw, its now really rigid.

Get this machine for the money I paid less than £100 Its a lot of fun very deep, easy to use and dare I say its better than my Garrett 200.

Overall Rating 4 stars

111

Submit your review for Treasure Hunter 3030

Submit your tip for Treasure Hunter 3030