Whites Prizm IV

Price: $450
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.14
Based on 21 reviews

Avg. Durability: 3 stars3.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.75
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Prizm IV

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Fisher F44 $400
Makro Racer $650
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

Disappointed 30+ years whites supporter

September 19, 2017
Recently purchased a new Prizm 4 from the family of a deceased dealer who were liquidating his inventory. As this was my first digital machine I was well satisfied with it's simplicity and ease to use. It's accuracy and discrimination were spot on. As a semi-retiree, I hunt daily and it wasn't long before my satisfaction turned to frustration. Checking conditions, I've gone over familiar grounds running the machine at full discrimination, smart notched, reducing the sensitivity to near zero. Discrimination is worthless, I might as well be running an all metal detector. It misreads 100 percent of the time. White's support isn't what it use to be...Inexperienced tech that attempted to reduce me to his level of knowledge and in the end offered no solution. Where is Ken when you need him?

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
01

Prism 1v

October 15, 2016
Its a toy that loves iron.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 4 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 1 star
Durability 1 star
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
00

My favorite coin finder

September 05, 2015
I bought my Prizm 4 new in 2005. I've been using it pretty much for 10yrs now. I know all the ins n outs of this machine. 90 percent of the time I set the disc just above Foil and dig almost every target. Having the combo of the visual target ID and 3 tone target ID I essentially dig all mid and hi tone targets. The only way to learn how to find good stuff is learn your machine, dig almost everything even garbage, and research your locations.

My only complaint is when I bought my P4 it came with a standard solid 8" coil. Never did spend the $100 or more for the larger 9" "spider" coil or 9.5" open center coil. I mostly hunt old homestead or farms where I've gotten permission from the owners. The P4 was never made for Relics. But its a good machine for it. My best find in 10yrs with this machine was a small quart glass "bell" jar of mid 1930's silver Franklins. I had got a signal close to 7" down I dug down and found a large iron hook. Which was weird because I kept getting some mid tones and visual Id for 25C/50c pieces. I total it was about 3 inches deeper and I found this broken glass jar of silver franklin half dollars. I'm ready to upgrade to a newer tech detector. But if it's not SIMPLE and POWERFUL like my whites P4, I might not buy a new model.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
40

Prism iv is great !!!!!

April 15, 2015
I was skeptical at first because rumor was that this unit is awful in iron infested areas. I found a deal online that I couldn't pass up so now I have one. This is a great machine. No, it's not a "fast recovery" unit,.. But it goes pretty deep.
Yesterday I was finding quarters 9-10 inches deep on the beach. I was very pleased after I got used to it's response to targets. I have always owned the fast recovery units like Tesoro and Whites Classics so it was hard for me to slow down as I hunted. I will be keeping this one for a long time.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
22

Prizm iv

December 04, 2011
I've been metal detecting for 15 years . I own a Whites DFX and a Prizm 4 , Tell you what that prizm 4 can keep with my DFX LOL! Mr.ken White you make the best metal detectors ever. Thank you.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

223

Truck Driver

October 05, 2011
Just bought a used prizm iv on ebay work's great went over my back yard found 3 penny's 1 nickel and 1 dime. Been over the same area with bounty hunter 505 4-5 times and this was left. Great machine!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

132

Fantastic

December 02, 2009
Watch the video and go. Easy to use, excellent pinpointing feature. Tried a couple others in this price range, garret ace 250 was comparable but did not have the build quality. Easy to read screen. If it says a quarter at 4 inches it is. This is my 2nd detector. If your a 1st time buyer you can't go wrong. A lot of fun. A LOT OF SALES AND DEALS OUT THERE SHOP AROUND.300-400

Overall Rating 4 stars

560

Great!!!!

November 06, 2009
My first detector, easy to use right out of the box. Feature are easy to use and to understand. Great for beginners and for experts.
Don't pass-up this company or this model(prizm IV). Still getting used to it ,but if its this easy right out of the box I can't wait till I have about a years worth of experience under my belt.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

211

Excellant machine!

September 15, 2009
I had my prism IV since March of 2009. I had some troubles in the beginning with disc, and picking up accurate signals. What I have learned is it is very touchy and is more accurate when you use slow movements with it, when you pick up a signal with it, retrace every signal slowly and watch what type of metal your arrow is pointing to and repeating, you will get a good idea of what type of object your digging.

Really high signals registering at 50 cent piece are normally iron objects, distorted signals means the objects to close, raise your detector up and over the area in a slow pass. " Slow passes over the signal is the key to this detector!" I have hunted in some really wooded areas and high grass, move very slow and even slower when repassing your hit signals. Use tone ID and only X out the nails. As far as using a pinpointer pro, forget that, this machine is awsome at pinpointing, I have found some of the smallest fragments of civil war bullets and muskette balls. I have found small buckles, buttons, a 1944 class ring, 1926 liberty quarter, 1850's lock, and more. Take my advise, small slow passes and you wont lose.
Good Luck!

Overall Rating 4 stars

600

Excellent overall easy to use detector

October 31, 2008
The Prizm IV detector is a great out of the box easy to use detector. The features on it are superb. The pin point feature is truly remarkable and will pinpoint almost dead on. The Smart Notch system really works great and makes a world of difference in helping with discrimination. The Prism IV also has an excellent Tone I.D. system that I find very helpful in identifing objects. All in all I am extremely satisfied with this acurate light weight unit.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

446

Submit your review for Whites Prizm IV

Submit your tip for Whites Prizm IV