Minelab X-Terra 30

Minelab X-Terra 30 Price: $450
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.63
Based on 19 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 30

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Makro Racer $650
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

X-terra 30 =x-tra deep

April 28, 2014
What have Minelab secretly done with this detector that makes it so so deep? It actually picks up thin hammered from about an inch and a half deeper than my big mates x-terra 305 and old Eddies x-terra 705!!! We all done a test at the weekend in a pasture field in the North East, top secret location of course lol.
We burried a hammered lizi at exactly 9 inches. We were all amazed at the result, and there were a few sad faces lol.

My mates x-terra 305 with DD coil gave nothing, old Eddies x-terra 705 with NEL COIL did make a slight dipped dull tone, that you would normally expect from iron, and last but sure as hell not least my well trusted Minelab X-Terra 30 with my standard stock concentric coil picked the silver lizzi up with loud distinct tones associated with hammered silver. We all burst out laughing as we could not believe it. My two good mates attempted it again and the x-terra 305 still got no tone and the x-terra 705 gave a slighter louder but still weak signal compared to my X-Terra 30 with standard concentric coil!!!

My two mates congratulated me and told me to keep it quite. No chance, says I although I cant understand what has made mine so deep compared to theirs. I think it must be down to the x-terra 30 design being the first and possibly the strongest componentry compared to the more modern 305 and 705's. I have heard of this before with Tesoro and Fisher, with the older circuitry being stronger. Who knows? All I know is that I stand proud now beside my mates Explorers and 705's.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
81

So so deep..

April 25, 2014
This detector is honestly the deepest coin seeker I have ever used even better than my Tesoro and I though I would never get a detector that deep, but this thing blows it away. The pinpointing is 110 percent accurate, don't even need or even use my pin pointer anymore, that was eighty quid I did not need to spend. I actually believe the reviews on this X-Terra 30, it is I would say one of the gold nuggets of all the detectors that are out there. You can even learn to use it in seconds it is so easy. The tones are perfect and you know what to dig without even having to read the big numerical display.

It is also built really well and is also quite light to use. You can swing it all day and night without any fatigue what so ever. My mate even thinks it is even more accurate than his soverign xs pro, and he love's that thing. If Norfolk Wolf would have done a review on you tube about this, then the Xterra 30 would have been the best selling detector in the UK, although it has been a big seller abroad in Europe and the US. You never see many of them for sale or up for auction here as most people hold on to them.

The more modern 305, 505 and 705 do not seem to be as deep as this. It is a detector worth holding on I'm never letting my X-terra 30 go.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
61

X-terra 30. cant believe the deep depth.

April 21, 2014
The X-terra 30 is a very deep seeking detector, great on hammered and modern silver. Can't beat it. Never believed these detectors were so good until two weeks when I bought this for £250.00 from my mate. Best money I have spent in a long time. It is so easy to use, turn on a go, and be prepared to dig, dig, dig, strong spade required lol.
DIG 36 EVERYTIME.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
41

The first x-terra and the best.

April 05, 2014
I have owned my x-terra 30 for five years now and I have also used garretts, whites, tesoro's, bounty hunters and cscopes in the past. Im not on here to knock any of these manufacturers as I think they are all brilliant at what they do and we should all feel good that there are people out there trying to improve our detecting technology.

What I am going to say is that many of my friends who also use the more modern x-terra 305, 505 and 705's all prefer to use my x-terra 30 as they say they prefer the automatic ground balance and feel that although the xterra 30 has slightly less interface controls than the newer 305, 505, and 705 it is actually compensates this with better battery life and all round general performance and the depth is just the same between the xterra 30 and the newer x-terra 705. I was considering upgrading to the 705 until my mate showed me a depth test between mine and his 705, both with standard coils and the xterra 30 was actually giving a clearer signal on a small silver coin.

Granted I know that for the x-terra 30 there are only two different coils available and there are about five for the xterra 705 and thats a shame although how many different coils does a person actually really need any way? A lot of people feel that minelab on knowing they had created a brilliant detector in the x-terra 30 just decided to expand and add a few extra toys and create another few detectors from a winning template in the xterra 30 thus adding the 50 and 70 and then the 305, 505 and finally the 705.

At the end of the day if people are wanting more bleeps and toys to enhance their detecting then why not accommodate them and good on minelab for doing that. All I and the rest of my buddies can say is the xterra is the original template and who knows maybe even the very best. Well done minelab, another winner from you.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Even better than my old laser.

September 19, 2013
I purchased this machine from the well known on line auction site at a not too bad price of £265.00 POUNDS NOT DOLLARS, and to be honest I was slightly nervous at first as I had sold my Hawkeye due to too much Iron and I was anxious that I had made a bad move as the Hawkeye was one hell of a deep detector and I was worried I would struggle to get a detector the same.

Well two years on and I have to say that I am really pleased with the overall performance of the x-terra 30. It is very deep even with the standard coil and has excellent pin pointing, volume control, sensitivity control and discriminate controls all via the display.
Brilliant on small coins and even on small silver at good depth here in Scotland including silver shillings and "thrupney" three pence's and sixpences. I can not really fault it all.

All I would say is that if you have to dig more than a foot and a half then it is usually iron, although I guess that is true of most detectors out there. The battery life is excellent and the detector is light and easy to use, turn on and go in seconds.
Use good headphones and always use a good rain cover to protect it and you will be using this animal for many years to come.

Don't be fooled into buying really expensive detectors if you don't have too, that's the mistake everyone falls into, and don't worry about this detector not being able to compete against the rest, it can do easily.
Great job Minelab.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
62

X terra 30

September 29, 2011
What sets this detector in another league from the others is its ability to find our modern coins with ease and accuracy! All you have to do is dig number 32, = £1 + £2 coin, number 16, = 10p + 50p number 20 = 20p, and number 8 = 5p.
With the disc notches set to accept just these numbers, hit beaches, parks, or bootsale fields and you will soon find enough cash to pay for your detector! Using 4 good AA,s that will easily last all day will soon see your pockets bulging. I hit a playspot once using this method and found £32 in forty five minutes. Need I say more! Good luck!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

111

K&J in chenango NY

April 04, 2011
The minelab xterra 30 is a great machine that's light and easy to use for beginners. I've used it in a hunt and did very well. It is a great all around machine for parks, hunts, and the dry sand at the beach. Get the 7.5khz 10.5 dd coil for it and you'll really love this machine! It will easily pay for itself many times over with coin and jewelry finds. Happy hunting and good luck.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

162

Will find coins

February 27, 2011
This guy works, when it's a solid hit, there is a coin to dig. Numbers, tones, notch, even volume control. It has eliminated digging tons of trash and dig only coins. Did I mention the pinpointer??? grab and go, beep and dig. Doesn't get much easier to use. 5 stars from me

Overall Rating 5 stars!

130

Good detectors

November 26, 2009
I think this is a very good detector

I have found everything from coins to jewelry.

Overall Rating 4 stars

515

I have the new Xterra 305 its Great!

May 18, 2009
Theres no reviews yet for the new Xterra 305 which replaced the xterra30 but let me tell ya the Xterra 305 is awesome. Minelab did there homework on this one. It ids great, nice and accurate, good pinpointing, great battery life. Now has ground balance plus you can use higher frequency coil now. So far I've found 3 rings, a nice wheat penny and plenty of quarters dimes and nickels plus a recent us dollar coin. I even like it better than my Xterra 70. This is one hell of a machine. Best 4 hundred dollar machine out there. Thanks Minelab.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

177

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 30

Submit your tip for Minelab X-Terra 30