Minelab X-Terra 30

Price: $450
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.63
Based on 19 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 30

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Makro Racer $650
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Fisher F44 $400
Bounty Hunter Land Ranger Pro $344
Whites MX5 $600

Looks cool however not really impressed

January 24, 2009
I purchased one of these off of ebay, and as a seasoned md'er of 25 yrs found it easy to turn on and go with the suggested settings, swept the front yard and strip between the sidewalk and the drive. Found 1 big washer, 1 large nut and a hubley toy car. - no coins. For the heck of it I turned on a cheap radio shack I bought at a yard sale this week for 10.00 and found 3 nickels, 2 dimes and 3 lincoln memorial cents in the strip alone - within 5-7 minutes- I know- I was shaking my head too, and laughing, but that was my first experience. I would have to spend more time tweeking it - but I have to add that radio shack piece of junk impressed me more!

Overall Rating 2 stars

2438

Good machine

December 30, 2008
Its good machine, I found lots with it hope you check it out you will like it.

Overall Rating 4 stars

27

Gotta love it

September 29, 2008
This will be brief, Fantastic Value and detector. I have owned a few different detectors. Had to cut back a bit and went with the XT30. I did upgrade to the 10.5 DD coil just due to the fact I like DD coils.
In several different locations, the unit had no problem with the set GB. I was digging coins at all different levels and falseing was not an issue. Its light, easy on the arms and back and right on the money... Thanks.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

130

Can you find better for the $?

August 15, 2008
Without a doubt, one of the best bang for your buck in the price range. The pinpointing is spot on with easily 98% at center coil. I agree with other that it leaves a little to be desired in the nickel/pull tab range, you just never know. The VDI seems to be very accurate on most items hitting on the scale of 28 and higher. The depth I think can be misleading at times, but used in conjunction with the tones, it doesn't take long to learn what it's saying. It's very light, well balanced, can swing for hours. I use it mostly on playgrounds (sand/chips) and school fields, and I couldn't have asked for anything better!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

92

Nice mid price machine

December 23, 2006
While I don't think the X-Terra 30 offers any ground breaking technology, it is a very good machine for the money. The display is easy to read, TID is fairly accurate, and the machine is solidly built. It seems to work well in almost any ground, even with the preset ground balance. If it gets a little erratic, just turn down the sensitivity, and it will stabilize.

Depth is good, on par with most descent machines out there. But I've never found depth to be the end all factor. Most items are not that deep anyway, no matter what you've read. The overload circuit on items just under the surface is a good addition. With some experience, the user can make great finds with this machine. First time users will find this machine easy to use. Minelab could have made the rod so it is adjustable for shorter users, but it can be cut down if necessary. Does it have the performance of a Nautilus? Of course not, but what does? It also doesn't have the long learning curve. This is a GREAT machine, and compares to machines costing much more.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

581

2 seconds £2!!

August 10, 2006
first time out with the terra x-30 told my daughter to turn on the detector while i tied my shoelace. 2 seconds later she was digging up a 2 pound coin!!!! so thats 2 quid off the cost of the detector already.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

910

Minelab has another winner!

June 02, 2006
I currently own four detectors but this one is by far the best,easy to use,a large display for poor eyesight,easy well thought out manual,between the three tone ID and the number ID i'm digging much less trash.The pinpointing feature is a dream come true! In this soil i've found quarters at 7 inches,not bad,better then my other top brand machines.Minelabs customer service and Sandy are top notch and a very caring team i found out. Buy this you will love it!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

201

X-Terra 30

February 18, 2006
Simple to use, yet powerful, the X-Terra 30 is in a class by itself. A real solid performer. The pinpointing mode is especially noteworthy. My only criticism would be the rubber door covering the headphone jack. But that's nit-picky stuff. All in all, the best $400 I've ever spent on a detector.

Overall Rating 4 stars

280

Good Job Minelab

January 11, 2006
Reminds me of a Whites Classic ID in general..
But add 12 notch segments, 3 tones, depth meter and a battery indicator.. Overall impression; good target separation, and the ID numbers lock well on coins.. I would prefer a little better separation in the nickel / pulltab range, but you can't win them all... Just for reference; air test on a quarter; solid at 9" and whisper between 10 and 11"..
Happy Hunting, Jeff

Overall Rating 4 stars

742

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 30

Submit your tip for Minelab X-Terra 30