Whites Prizm III

Whites Prizm III Price: $350
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.67
Based on 24 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.50
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Prizm III

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Fisher F44 $400
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310
Bounty Hunter Quick Draw Pro $299

Prizm iii great machine!

September 04, 2017
The Prizm III has pulled coins that many others have passed. Relics are a breese. It has a bit slower recovery rate, so when in trash, slow down a little. Go slower (not slow mo) through a multiple target zone to let it sort things out. I want to swing faster when I get a hit, slower allows the machine to recover and tell you what you are looking at. I pull missed coins this way. It is a very sensitive machine.

I have had a car or motercycle over 200 ft away cause erratic display and beeping, turn unit off then back on and reduce sensitivity, problem solved. Any power line interference, same thing. It is a very sensitive unit. Interference from nowhere, same. What is strange I think is that it air tests an item at 6 or 7 inches max, but I have dug a crushed aluminum can in moist soil at 14 inches deep with the stock coil. Aura maybe. The can showed 50 cent dollar symble, same freq. Not mistake. Pull tab and gold ring, same freq. Ultimately, no matter what you are using, get to know your machine. "It is supposed to do this" approach will not do as well as "What are you trying to tell me" approach. I do get some strange erratic signal once in a while. Off, on then reduce sensitivity, it cannot give a reading unless something, whether target or interference or some mineralization, is there.

I have acquired a Jimmy Sierra Big Foot, a 5 x9 NEL, and a Whites tiny Sharp Shooter, and with these coils I kick butt, that is to say I do very well. I nearly always find things in places that I pass other detectorist leaving. I smile when they say didn't do to well because I know they discriminated themselves out of finds. Yes my target indicators jump a lot, but, it is pretty spot on. Again "Know your machine" Mono beep with a low growl sometimes. I use a dollar store batteries, heavy duty, and they last well. When they get weak the signals are a mass of confusion, you know to change them. When, or if, I change detectors, it will be a Coinmaster, which is the same freq as my coils, or a Treasuremaster.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 14 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

A great entry-level device

October 21, 2014
I use it to be quite some time, I had bought it used, it started recently to wild beeping, no matter where I looked, I disassembled everything, turned slightly and now it works better than before, the metal discrimination is sometimes a bit opaque, would I will buy again :) (Translated with translate.Google.De)

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 7 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Love it

June 05, 2012
I have had my prism3 for at least five years . I got it when I lived in mass. I found all kind of great things such as rev. war butt. old silver coins a v nickel silver dimes indianhead pennies. All in mass. but here in AZ I have found many different things, coins from Mexico of course. Tiffany necklace some rings that were not worth much but sure was excited to pull out of the ground.

Hope you get the idea because metal det. is all about adventure right? Its the best hobby you can do, you get lots of exercise and you always find good stuff. So I would say that the prism3 has paid for itself at least four times over for me. And I would tell anyone to get one and have fun with it . Happy hunting!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

105

My White's Prizm III

March 16, 2012
Can't remember when I bought this Prizm III but it HAS been some time. . . just got it out and dusted it off and put new batteries in and played around a little, finding not much but pleased with the dial indicating if it was a penny, nickel, quarter, etc. It was spot on every time. . . trying the sidewalk areas of my local town here in a day or two. . guess I'll have to tell the town police (when they stop me) that my wife lost her ring. . Oops is that a little white lie? Hey I pay taxes for the sidewalk grassy areas in a 300 year old town. . thoughts??

Overall Rating 5 stars!

133

Nice detector

February 19, 2012
I really love this detector. Got the thing in the mail and fired it up without reading the manual and just started monkeying with it found that it works best on the 2nd strength setting. In no time I found a 1950's wheat cent a nickle and a slightly newer penny from the 70's. Wow three coins in about 20 minutes. That was fast! this was in my own back yard. Cant wait to go to the beach with this thing! I'm agunna come home lookin like larry las vegas with fat gold rings up and down every finger!!! Awesome machine for the serious treasure hunter!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

52

Prizm III

July 14, 2011
Just bought a used Prism III as a back-up unit, came home, read some reviews and thought "Did I make a mistake?"

Sat down and read the online manual for it, then went out to try it. I was really surprised. It found coins that 4 other detectors missed. I never once found a false echo, always found something even trash when it sounded.
It never once found a root ....I feel that the bad reviews on this unit was from lack of reading the manual and 'feeling out ' the machine.

If you take it out of the box and go out to use it ... it may give a false reading. However, I turned the sensitivity down 2 notches and found things previously walked over and missed. I own 4 other detectors and am convinced now I have a great back-up unit or even main unit for a beginner.

Have yet to try it on a beach, but here in my 'test area , it has found targets others did not. Read the manual and give it a fair try ... great unit for the price for me. When in doubt, read the instructions.

Overall Rating 4 stars

491

Great beginer entry level detector

June 06, 2010
I live in New Zealand and have taken up detecting brought it for 330 dollars, first day went to local beach.
2 x silver rings
10x two usable dollaar coins
1x necklace
20 + old unusable coins couple of pocket knifes and alot of pull tabs haha had great fun now time to upgrade, recomend for begginer.

Overall Rating 3 stars

279

Piece of junk

May 17, 2010
It ought to be called a root detector worse detector ever owned returned it back to the store for refund . DONT BUY you will be sorry if you do.

Overall Rating 1 star

1839

Not good

February 21, 2010
Had a prism 3 two years ago, what a pile of junk, very erratic, very unstable, not very deep. The whites classic 1 I had before it was a much better machine and great fun to use, a cracking little coin magnet, not very deep though 5-6 inches max, still much better than a prism, (a backward step in my view) couldn't wait to get rid. I have a compadre now ( a no bells and whistles no nonsense super little performer).

Overall Rating 1 star

1613

I agree with chip from n.y.

January 04, 2010
I agree with chip from new york. I also come up with beeping sounds when I cross paths with some roots what's up with that.

Overall Rating 1 star

67

Submit your review for Whites Prizm III

Submit your tip for Whites Prizm III