Minelab X-Terra 70

Minelab X-Terra 70 Price: $800
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.53
Based on 30 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.25
Avg. Ease of use: 3 stars3.50
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 70

Compare to ▼
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F-19 $800
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites MX5 $600
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700
Tesoro Outlaw $650

X-terra 70 very deep machine

January 06, 2017
Hello every one I have used my x-terra 70 now for over three years and I love it. I started with the x-terra 30 and wanted to upgrade it as I liked the set so much so went for the 70 as well. The 70 offers a lot more options and you can change the coils. I have only used the 7.5khz DD coil and found loads of great coins and relics. I have just purchased a 10.5 inch 18khz DD coil as I heard they are better for hammered silver. If that is true then I'm in for a real treat as I have already found silver with the older 7.5khz coil.

The x-terra is easy to use, offers loads of options and is very deep, the 4 AA batteries last an eternity and the machine is well made. AUTO OR MANUAL GROUND BALANCE IS BRILLIANT, I use auto for GB and noise cancel which is a doddle. What I would recommend though is a water proof control box cover to protect the screen and box from dirt as well as water, another thing I would say is look after your screen as they are easily marked, as are most detectors, that is the only criticism I can think of for this machine.

A bonus now is you can pick these machines up for a good price second hand on an online auction site that I wont name Lol. All the best to these out there who are using this machine or thinking of buying one, they are good machines, you wont be disappointed.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Very accurate machine!

October 25, 2016
I owned an X-Terra 70 for two years. I started out with a simple beep and dig machine. What I wanted was a machine that offered more depth and more fine tuning and information but with the same accuracy as the beep and dig machines. That's not an easy combo, but I found it in this machine. In fact, I didn't know how great a machine it was until I decided to sell it and try some others.

As far as depth, it is a middle of the road machine. It goes beyond the cheap machines' 5"- 6" but not to incredible depths of 12" - 16"+ like an F-75 or T2. I found it to be an 8"+ machine on larger coins. 9" - 10" on a good moist day. Stories in these reviews of coin finds at 12-15" inches are just that, wild fish stories. The machine is just simply not that capable with any size coil. It's a wonderful middle of the road machine with great accuracy and versatility. Not a super deep coin/relic hunter.

To get the most out of this machine you have to be willing to learn. There's a lot to it that could easily overwhelm someone new. It is worth the time and afford though, and it's easy to get some beginners tips to start using right away.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
10

Not very user friendly i found

October 17, 2015
After using explorer's and e-trac I really found the x-terra 70's menu functions very difficult to follow. Pick up an explorer and the functions are all very user friendly and very intuitive. X-terra 70 annoyed me greatly. I didn't get on with it at all and sold it straight away. I could have stuck with it but as there are so many detectors which are far more enjoyable to use, I decided to continue with my explorer. Disappointing for me. Won't get another X-Terra.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 3 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 2 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 1 star
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
36

Xterra-70

October 30, 2013
I have bought my x-terra about month and a half ago, bought it used, but in excellent condition. Before that I have used Fisher F2 (it was my first detector). Now I think that x-terra rocks and fisher sucks :D... I have one field where I have found only one coin with fisher, but with x-terra I have found 5 coins, one of them was silver 10 kopecks 1900.

X-terra has unbelievable depth, it is about 2x deeper than the fisher, big Russian copper 5 kopecks 1758. On air test terra start picking it at 50cm, stable signal at 40-45cm.

P.S. I have stock 9 inch coil. I think that x-terra is pretty good for beginners too, you don't need to buy crap detectors like ace or F2, if you have money buy x-terra. Oh yess, the battery life for the x-terra is excellent, it is about 30 hours..

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 15 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
157

Fantastic detector!

April 12, 2012
I have just traded my tesoro compadre and £245 in excxhange for a used minelab x-terra 70. I was after a good quality mid range metered detector with a beach mode and this machine fitted the bill. It is in A1 condition and im very impressed with the machines capabilities. The depth is fantastic, I managed a good target at around 11-12 inches. I particularly like it when you have an iffy signal in coin mode (I use pattern 1) you can check it in prospect mode and if its iron the iron mask feature will null the signal.

I have only been out for a short time with the minelab but even so I have made up my mind this machine is a keeper! The various ways you can ground balance is brilliant. And the layout of the menu and button setup is clear and impressive. I have pretty much mastered the the machines features in a matter of days due to intense viewing of youtube reviews and general reviews on the web. Also I have had a few hours practice near a local river which turned up some nice old British coinage.

So a big thank you to all the people that gave this detector a great review! I know there is a newer version, the 705 but in my view its just the same machine apart from more target segments and a backlight! I have avoided air testing as I strongly believe its a false representation of the machines capabilities. The ground and various different conditions will decide the depth not some boring predictable air test reviews which swamp the net!

I like the review of detectors out in the field, which is what helped me decide to go for the minelab x-terra 70. Although my machine is 6 years old I would recommend this detector to anyone looking to upgrade from an entry level model. It can be used for all conditions. I am aware that there are more advanced detectors from minelab nowadays, but this little "gem" will hold its own against most models in the £500-£600 price range.

I hope I've been helpful and given this awesome detector the praise it deserves! I am looking forward to finding the "good stuff" I know this fantastic little allrounder will not let me down! Now wheres those hammered's. . . . . . . . . .

Overall Rating 5 stars!

352

Used everywhere

October 24, 2011
Boat anchor-- my White QXT did better than this newer detector-- too expensive and it misses about 40-70 percent of targets -- don't waste your money on this piece of junk get a SE Pro with probe-- will pay for itself in a month.

Overall Rating 1 star

960

Minelab X-Terra 70 Perfect

April 10, 2011
Great machine, just got it on Friday and went to a very low lake with tons of sand exposed.
I found quite a few coins along with a nice 14k gold ear ring! The machine is awesome especially the automatic ground balance and noise cancel. I usually hunt in Pattern 1 in the coin and jewelry mode. A 42 is a quarter, 38 is a dime, and I always dig anything above a 30.

A 14k gold ring reads as a 10-12 consistently. The machine is capable of running very stable with sensitivity turned up almost all the way. It gets impressive depth even with the standard 9" concentric 7.5 khz coil. Its lightweight and I have been swinging it for 3 days straight and my arm is in pretty good shape.
I highly recommend this detector to anybody that wants a high performance machine for half the cost of an E-Trac or 1/3 the cost of a V3i

Overall Rating 5 stars!

475

X-Terra 70 / 705

December 29, 2010
Hi friends,
I have used the Xterra 70 for 2 Years. With the 10,5" DD 7,5 kHz coil is it one of the best detectors that I ever had used. There are not many detectors that find coins in a deep over 8" The standart 9" coil is a toy, with this coil you lost deep and the recovery speed is also bad. But on havy places with a lot of iron you must use the small 6" DD coil to get the good finds between the iron and you must swing the Terra not so fast.

If you are in woodlands and you use the prospecting modus you can find things down under 15". So I have find a medieval axe in good 20" deep!
It is a shame that Minelab not offer the Terra with the 10" coil as standart.
Happy hunting,
Martin.

Overall Rating 4 stars

324

Confirming Irwin above

November 21, 2010
Irwin down under is 100% correct. What a combination! The Whites Surf PI Dual Field and the Minelab Xterra 705. I have the DD Eliptical and feel it works just fine on small gold.

Overall Rating 4 stars

713

X-Terra 70 works

October 27, 2010
I did the usual, try the cheaper model and not be satisfied. The X-terra does it all. Almost too good. You can figure out what's down there before you even dig because there's so many ways to "look." You can see the size and shape of the object, what it's made out of and how deep.

With the 6" coil it will hit on a tiny speck of gold, but only if it is not in an area with a lot of background noise with hot rocks or rusty metal flakes all over. Nuggets large enough to be worth keeping are just not out there anymore from my experience.

This detector will cover all the bases, coins, relics, tiny nuggets, whatever, and with all the different tones, prospecting mode, and various other modes and settings you can almost see underground with this thing.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

253

Submit your review for Minelab X-Terra 70

Submit your tip for Minelab X-Terra 70