Minelab Safari

Minelab Safari Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.80
Based on 25 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.50
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.60
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Safari

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Teknetics G2 $750
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Teknetics T2 Ltd $1250

Still lovin it

September 03, 2017
I posted back in Oct 2012, when I only owned the Safari for 3 months, 5 years later and I am still swinging the same Safari. Have not had any issues with it in the last 5 years. I have made some amazing recoveries. 2 Spanish Reals, 1 Spanish Cob, KG 3 and SILVER. Just to name a few.

I will never get rid of my Safari. My Buddy has the CTX3030 and I do just as well if not better sometimes with my Safari as he does with his CTX. But experience has taught me that most targets are not much more than 6" deep so any MDer should be able to find them if you get the coil over it. The Safari has excellent depth. Found a Large Cent at measured 10"

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Great machine

February 17, 2017
Had mine for 3 weeks now. Gone over worked out sites and found targets missed by other machines, including Deus. Good depth on small items too. The weight isn't a problem with the hollow coil and carbon fiber stem.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
32

Piece of crap.....

January 27, 2016
I've owned a ton of Detectors. Ace 250, Ace 350 At Pro to Whites Mx5, Mxt, Coinmaster Gt, I've had the Fisher f5, Ect. I wanted to get something better..... (Minelab Safari) I did the research, and found one on Ebay Cheap. Like about $600 bucks. Took it out for the first time to a park that I found 3 gold rings with the Mx5. The Safari did it's job, finding overlooked Coins and other Targets. But what I didn't like was the Targeting/Pinpointing. It sucks. The safari will use almoste the whole center of the coil as the Hot spot. (meaning the 10" coil, will have a 9" hot spot down the center, from tip to tip).... The machine will pick a center spot to pinpoint. (so you better have a dam good HANDHELD PINPOINTER, ie: garrett propointer, or whatever) or you will be waisting your time digging a big hole. Plus the DEPTH gauge sucks a$$. Don't count on it. T

ry this test..... Put a coin on the floor.... Then run the safari over it with no space separation... the depth gauge will tell you it's buried 3 inches down... Plus the depth gauge has NO number indicator (in terms of inches) to let you know how far you have to dig. Lame.... The fricken tones will drive you up a WALL... (The Warbling Birds sounds go straight to your last nerve).... Be prepared for that. It's not like your normal tones on your standard detector. This is a different animal entirely. You will find out too, that you will be using your Pinpointer sound mode a lot more too. At least with the pinpointer sounds, you can tell the size of the target, and how close to top of the ground your target is. The warbling sounds don't do crap on target id size or Location. And....THIS MACHINE WILL INHALE BATTERIES.... Don't wait for the machine to use up all the batteries, before you replace them.... (THE SAFARI WILL START FALSIFYING ONLY AFTER 1/2 BATTERY CONSUMPTION).... The battery meter will show 2 notches left of battery life.... DON'T BE FOOLED... Change the batteries, and your Safari will not act up...

This review is from my own experiences.... OTHER FOLKS WILL HAVE A DIFFERENCE OF OPINION.... I am just keeping it real. If you are looking for a really good detector.... Get the WHITES MX5. Pick one up on Ebay, used for around $350.00. You will not go wrong. It's a no BS detector. It's the Fastest Targeting Detector I've had. No Sweep Delay.... One Sweep over 5 Targets, 1/4th of an inch apart, you will get 5 different tones... Without any time lapse. This detector has auto ground balance for any situation. Great at the beach. I found more gold rings with detector ever. I mean, you will be a fricken HAPPY CAMPER with this baby.... I am going to give the SAFARI another month or so, (for my stupid a$$ to get use to it, before it gets cut).... Hope this review helps....?

FOR A CRASH COURSE ON THE SAFARI.... Watch as many YOUTUBE video's as possible. Even watch the foreign ones... Listen to the sounds, verses what they pull out of the ground. This will help you out A LOT to TARGET IDENTIFY via SOUNDS....

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 2 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
716

My best machine

October 21, 2015
I have used many machines in the past as garrett and nokta with different khz. Some good is a small targets in some big targets in some good beach some not well.. I bought minelab safari and I said wow it has everything on it there on the ground to find it. After that I did not come back on another brand. FBS is perfect for me.. It is a bit heavy but you get used. Sorry for bad english I'm greek.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
224

Awesome machine

May 04, 2015
Get ready to dig deep! Just bought one... Really love it already... Haven't found a hot spot yet... Just a couple of Indian Head Penny... But I'm sure with results already in digging it was worth the price... Great at pin pointing too... The added gifts from the seller was also a great plus... It like any other detector... You got to learn to work with it... Dig all target to learn what it scanning... The way it sounds on targets too.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
154

Minelab safari

March 10, 2015
In the past I owned Garrett, Fisher but I wanted something little better so after many days researching the internet, I ended up with the purchasing the Excalibur II, wow what a great metal detector it’s great for the beach and lakes too. So now I wanted something for Parks and ended up purchasing a second Minelab and it’s the Minelab Safari it’s little pricey but to me I think it is awesome metal detector it takes time to get used to the numeric and the different setting and tones.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
94

Clips are poor

November 13, 2014
I have had great luck finding coins with the detector, it just loves to find them. You will dig many pennies that come up as silver though. The range is too close together, the only problem is the cheap clips will fall out or the shafts will slip. Minelab says they will send you clips but the don't, the detector is less than a year old. One of the best finds was a trench bracelet. All silver coins from the Nertherlands.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 2 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
523

Minelab safari

July 30, 2014
I purchased a Safari in August 2010, after a couple of hours in the first outing I found a 1894 Victoria Silver 3pence piece. About 10mm diameter at a depth of 10-12 inches!!! Within 2 weeks I had found my first hammered coin on land that I had detected to death with my previous machine. By the end of the year I had added over 200 roman coins and another 20+ hammered coins. Using a programme learned from Minelab TV using a conductivity mode but knocking out all discrimination thus making it all metal (but in conductivity mode as opposed to ferrous) I literally hoovered up everything I walked over... My "done to death" fields became alive and returning home with over 15 brilliant recovered targets after an hour or so became the norm.
It paid for it's self within a month. Even found a neighbour's wedding ring in a local park. After digging up nearly £10 in change first. I am confident that if it is there, and I walk and swing over it... The Safari will sniff it out.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
145

Amazing

October 11, 2013
Ive been detecting since I was 4, started with a old whites and as I grew older used several machines including garrets, high end whites, fishers and tesoros. I'm 42 now and this summer my ace 350 broke so I decided to try a minelab and after a little research went with the safari. Wow what a great machine!
I spend a lot of time on the beach in the state of Oregon and on my 3 day out with my new safari found 7 silver rings, a gold bracelet and 45 dollars in change!!! My best day in 37 years detecting period. I would never go back to any other brand and highly recommend this machine to beginners and pros alike.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 13 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
206

Bad @ss machine!!!

July 31, 2013
I have used almost all bands and types of metal detectors nothing compares to the minelab safari, I went back to the same sites I have done several times with other units and pull hundreds of dollars of relic's and old coins that were left behind by the competition. I get a kick out of it when my buddy goes and does a new area with his at pro and says it's cleaned out I go behind him to prove a point that the minelab will kick any metal detectors ass out there hands down.

The only thing I can say bad about it is the damn thing eats batteries like no other but what do you expect it runs 28 frequencies so it is a work horse!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
203

Submit your review for Minelab Safari

Submit your tip for Minelab Safari