Minelab Safari

Price: $1000
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.81
Based on 26 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.45
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.64
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Safari

Compare to ▼
Fisher F-19 $800
Blisstool LTC64X v3 $1000
Whites Spectra VX3 $1200
Teknetics G2 $750
Minelab Xterra 705 $900
Teknetics T2 Ltd $1250

Bad @ss machine!!!

July 31, 2013
I have used almost all bands and types of metal detectors nothing compares to the minelab safari, I went back to the same sites I have done several times with other units and pull hundreds of dollars of relic's and old coins that were left behind by the competition. I get a kick out of it when my buddy goes and does a new area with his at pro and says it's cleaned out I go behind him to prove a point that the minelab will kick any metal detectors ass out there hands down.

The only thing I can say bad about it is the damn thing eats batteries like no other but what do you expect it runs 28 frequencies so it is a work horse!!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
233

Contented

October 01, 2012
I bought the Safari about 3 months ago, I have to say I love it. I had 2 other MD's before the Safari and still had the urge for something better. Since I got my Safari I no longer have the urge for something better, I am very pleased with the performance of the Safari. It took me a while to learn the sounds but I can finally tell if its a penny, nickel, dime, or quarter just by the sounds.

I can't say I've mastered the Safari yet but I get better everytime I use it. I've used it on the beach and ran it at max sensitivity with no falsing in the wet sand, found a mens Titanium ring at a measured 14", I was very impressed with that. It works very good on the beach or on the land. My jewelry finds have increased since I got the Safari. Found my 1st gold ring about 2 weeks after I got it. Also recovered a Silver Tiffany ring my niece lost 5 yrs ago.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

287

Minelab safari

June 28, 2012
I have just upgraded to the safari from a bounty hunter. The difference is unbelievable, the depth of the safari is outstanding for the price, excellent discrimination, target id works perfectly. The sensitivity was the main surprise, I pulled up a silver sixpence from 1913 at around 8-9 inches.

Very easy to use, if your a beginner the pre programmed modes are great. I would recommend this detector to anyone who is dedicated to the hobby. If its in the ground, the safari will find it. Minelab winner!!! I personally wont ever want to sell mine as its fantastic, hope this helps! John

Overall Rating 5 stars!

279

My Minelab Safari

June 12, 2012
I have had my Minelab Safari for several weeks now. I am very satisfied with it and have found many really interesting targets.

I am amazed how sensitive it is and this is the most difficult thing for me to get used to with this detector. I have found items an 1/8" inch in diameter 2"-4" down. So my Garrett Pro Pointer was essential once my Minelab found the target.

I have also purchased a SEF 18" X 15" coil and a 6" DD coil too. Both have really aided in open woods hunting and trashy areas. One target I found was 14" down while using the 18" X 15" coil.

In summary the Safari is really easy to use and I am convinced I will not miss anything within range of the coil I am using.

Five stars all the way!

Overall Rating 5 stars!

234

My Safari

June 01, 2012
I am recently new at this metal detecting but I try to go out any time I have available, I hunt in park's and old home sites I have learned to determine with the sound and screen number display what I'm about to dig up. I have found 1 ring and up around $100. 00 in coins every weekend I come home with my pockets full.

I haven't made it to the beach yet but I'm planning that really soon. I love this detector and while typing this I really would like to be detecting. This is a well made machine I get about 2 full days on my batteries and it didn't take me long to learn it. I highly recommend this unit.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

203

Great Machine

January 23, 2012
First off I would like to say that a lot of people buy these high end detectors think they have bought a magic wand and silver and gold is going to fall right in their hands. This of course is not the case, I have had my Safari for 3 years using it on weekends and days off.

The first year I cashed in over 300 dollars at coinstar, not including the rings and other finds. I have paid for my machine over the past 3 years from the finds. The safari will keep up with the explorers and other high end detectors with a little time on this machine and it will be a deadly silver finder.

Dont expect to go to a park that was built in the 70s and pull out silver coins, location and research is the key. People that complain about aluminum cans don't have enough time on the machine, through the tones and id numbers I can tell exactly if its a penny nickel dime or quarter ect. For every 70 to 80 pull tabs you dig you will get a gold ring.
All in all I would recommend this machine to any one wanting to start out in fbs detector. In fact I have cashed in my gold and just purchased a E Trac!! Once you go Minelab you'll never go back to another brand.
Hope this helps.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

586

Good but not brilliant

July 18, 2011
I bought my Safari on recommendation from a local dealer. Others I considered in the same price range were Fisher F75 and Teknetics T2 -which are basically the same machine with different displays and firmware.

The Safari was bought to replace a Garrett Ace 250 (fitted with the 9" x 12" coil).

I covered some areas which had previously been searched with the Ace 250, I fully expected to find good targets the Ace had missed... Sadly this wasn't the case. The biggest difference I find is the ability to quickly identify targets as Junk and keep moving, this allows me to cover more ground in a given time. There are times when it fools me, but not too often. The hardest junk targets to identify are aluminium cans squashed "end to end" to form discs and also aluminium bottle tops.

The areas I feel poor are:

1. Battery consumption, a Garrett Ace will run for a couple of days worth of detecting on an average set of 4 rechargeable NiMh cells, the Safari needs 8 cells and just about manages 6 hours on 2 year old 2000 mAh NiMh cells (measured at 1400 mAh). So factor in a new set of batteries or two.

2. Rain ingress: The manual suggests the Safari is OK in light rain with the optional control box cover. What about heavy rain? Do we pack up and go home? The optional cover should give protection in heavy showers!

3. If you are used to dismantling your detector to fit it into a rucksack forget it with the Safari, it's designed to telescope the shaft and fit into a large bag rather than removing the shaft and disconnecting the coil from the control box. It can be done but not as easily as with a Garrett Ace.

On the plus side:

1. I don't find the weight, or balance, too much of a chore and I've not got the strongest arms around.

2. A combination of tones and target ID work most times to minimize digging junk so I can cover around twice the ground in a given amount of time compared to the Ace I previously used.

3. Initial target location is generally very good, the pin point works well.

4. Works to good depth, I am recovering copper and silver coins in the 9" to 12" depth range in moderately mineralized soil.

Overall Rating 4 stars

8722

Minelab Super Metal Detector

January 09, 2011
I have only good things to say about Minelab Safari. It is easy to use. It finds everything from nails, to gold. I've had mine for a year. I spend most time on the beach, where I found over 12000,- Danish Kroner, about 1100 us dollars. A 0.50 carats diamond ring. 105 silver rings,7 gold wedding rings, and much more. If it's there, the Minelab Safari will find it. With the notch setting, you can easily exclude unwanted iron and aluminum. But you will also excludes some gold and coins. I use a setup where I shut out all iron and some aluminum. It works fine for me

I love this machine, and can't wait for spring.

All I can say of bad things, is it bit on the heavy side. But I am young, and strong like a bear. :o)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

518

Easy and accurate

June 08, 2010
This is my first metal detector. I really did my homework and after a lot of study, picked this machine. I am very glad I did. I am newly retired and finally have time to do what I want and now spend a lot of time on the beach with the detector.

Amazingly short learning curve! Everything I read told me to be prepared to spend weeks "learning" the other machines. Not with this. Turn it on and go. I have hit many coins and pop tops (as expected).
The family laughed at me until a lady ran up and said her husband had lost his wedding ring and could I help. Found it in 30 seconds. Accurate, easy and worth the money.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

5611

Excellent

March 28, 2010
Hi, I think the safari is an excellent metal detector....I previously owned a prism 5g and it gave me mixed signals on wet sand. The safari goes deeper and has no problem detecting over wet ground or sand, it is a keeper for me and from now on I'm hooked on minelabs, I will not own any other, its precise and the new technology allows it to scramble out powerlines.
I also noticed that the U.S military uses minelab....whites detectors are OK, minelabs are by far the better and safari is a wonderful piece of equipment. Extra $$$$.... but well worth the investment, it is also weather friendly, hope this helps.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

647

Submit your review for Minelab Safari

Submit your tip for Minelab Safari