Whites TDI

Whites TDI Price: $1600
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.69
Based on 16 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!5.00
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.50

Submit your review for Whites TDI

Compare to ▼
Garrett ATX $2120
Whites TDI SL $1250
Whites TDI pro $1800
Minelab SD 2100v2 $1800
Minelab SD 2200v2 $2000

Tdi new user

January 29, 2017
I have borrowed from a friend and have used it and found junk with it but that is OK works great. Going to buy 1 I have gold bug 2 and whites gm, been metal detecting for 15 years and found lots of gold with them since that is all I use them for.
My advice to all is to learn your machine and that takes time and practice. Read the material that comes with it. You will learn over time which setting work the best for you and you will know when to dig and when not to. Trust the machine, think positive and enjoy your time in the outdoors!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Whites tdi pro

March 02, 2014
Hello, I only use detectors with no screen because they suck battery power. I think that detectors without a screen are more easy to use. Most people spend all day staring at the screen. There could be a 4oz nugget on the ground by their foot, but unless the screen tells them to look down, they will miss it. Or a rattle snake you are about to step on, which happened to me one day.

I feel the best detectors out there are the whites tdi...Minelab sovereign gt...Fisher goldbug 2, and the 5,000 minelabs.
On the beach, the sovereign gt and the whites tdi work the best. Wet sand, dry sand, in the shallow surf makes no difference. The tdi does detect a litter deeper than the sovereign but since its just sand, and you have one of the long handled scoops, its just a matter of digging with the scoop, till you find the target, all without bending over. The tdi and the sovereign gt are my beach detectors. And the tdi and the gold bug 2 are my desert detectors.
KS

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
74

Depth and Service

February 12, 2012
Got my TDI on line with a head set issue. Sent to Sweethome OR for repair. Got it back repaired and updated. Cost to me was ZERO and machine was well cleaned. I was expecting to pay something. Picked up a 1/2 a BOBBIPIN at 17inches. If that was a nugget I would have no problem. This is my third Whites. MXT, GMZ, and now TDI. You cant go wrong with WHITES.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

226

Not for everybody

March 28, 2011
We use the TDI pro we live in E TENN we hunt silver coin in thash place. you've got to take your time with this detector. We find coins in hard hit place you can pick thru the trash we don't dig nail or pull tab or foil with it you just got to set it up right. You get what you put in to it if you want a turn on and hunt detector this is not for you save your cash.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

355

Great to excellent unit

February 15, 2011
After owning my TDI for a couple of years now I just discovered what an excellent service department Whites has, I really like the performance of the TDI not only is it easy to use it goes very very deep on small targets and picks up gold very well, I read some of the reviews about hunters having a hard time trying to adjust the TDI this detector could not be simpler to operate it finds targets that my vlf detectors won't even respond to, you can coin hunt with this unit and just about anything that metal detectors are used for, when this one is worn out I an getting another TDI.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

380

Deep Seeking Relic Machine

December 28, 2010
I just purchased a used White' TDI after doing some careful research. There are many people who believe that a PI machine is only useful in highly mineralised ground and that PI machines will not work in "good ground" I live in Murfreesboro, TN where the ground is slightly mineralised in some areas but nothing like the red dirt of places like Culpeper, VA. The ground in Murfreesboro is considered "good" and VLF machines do well here.

I have hunted with a Tesoro Vaquero for 4 years and I am very happy with it. But I know it does not have great depth. Today I hit a field today outside the battlefield that has been heavily hunted by VLF machines for years. I have personally hunted this field with my Vaquero at least a dozen times and have never dug a single relic in this field.

TDI users claim that the TDI will find a layer of relics below the plow line that other machines cannot find and that there is no such thing as a "hunted out" field. I figured that this field that I had never found anything in would be a good place to test these claims and my new detector. While I did have trouble trying to decipher a bullet sound from a nail sound, I am confident I will pick this up with practice (this was the first tme I had taken this machine out in the field).
I was a little frustrated at first but I decided to switch to the low conductivity setting and kept hunting. Within an hour I had dug two grapeshot pieces, two artillery frags, an iron underplug, and three harmonica reed parts.
I know I had personally walked over these same spots with my Vaquero in the past without a signal.
One of the shell frags was 14 inches deep. This machine is not for beginners and there is a learning curve on the bullet sounds. The low conductivity sounds scream "dig me" on brass and big iron relics.

I can't wait to hit some other places that are supposedly "hunted out". People can go on believing that PI machines are only for heavily mineralized areas and I'll keep digging relics in this "good ground". Te MSRP on a new TDI is steep at around $1599.00 but you can pick up a used one for about $950.00. I do not like that White's only has a two year warranty on the machine because I am so used to Tesoro's liefetime warranty. But the TDI blows any other VLF machine out of the water on depth and ability to clearly identify low conductive targets.

White's machines are fairly heavy compared to the Tesoros that I am used to but this TDI has an after market carbon fiber shaft on it that really balances the machine so much better than the stock shaft. Overall, I am very pleased with the TDI thus far.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

561

10 stars ++++++++

June 12, 2010
There is nothing wrong with this unit, to the guy in KT. that does not know how to use a very very very simple machine that is extremely powerful, it is a PI used mainly for gold nugget hunting, it is not made for ground that is full of junk targets, although I have worked in that type of ground with this unit and it works very well at picking out the junk targets a low tone!!

You have to set it for the low setting and ground balance it first, it is a very powerful machine it works like a champ, if this one ever breaks I will buy another Whites TDI they are just that good of a detector, once you learn how to use it the performance is very surprising 10 stars, a real keeper...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

521

Over priced!!!

May 17, 2010
I rented this machine for 2 weeks. It does go deep and it well find items but it also loves and I mean loves junk! If your out in an area like a field or in the woods it works great but around homes and parks ect it's worthless you spend too much time trying to adjust the thing! $1500 bucks no way! Just another over priced machine.

Overall Rating 2 stars

1775

Freeking Powerfull ! Easy to use and Really Happy!!!!

February 11, 2010
I am newer to detecting, had a brief tutorial on how settings work on the TDI. They are not much different than a VLF. Gain for sensitivity, Threshold for quieting faint constant tone and Ground balance that is very easy to set. I actually think the TDI is much easier to use than VLF's. I bought it for nugget shooting. The first time I took it out, I was finding lead bullet frags fairly deep. We had a GMT with us scanning over the same targets and they both worked well, but I have to give the TDI the edge as it found the deeper targets loud.

Trust me, I only had a brief 30 minute lesson indoors and found it very easy to learn. There is no digital display, but the sheer power of this unit easily outshines that!
I am told these units are becoming harder to find due to the gold rush in Africa, so If you can find one, I'd get it, you'll be glad you did.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

561

Whites TDI pulse.. you must have patience

January 17, 2010
I purchesed my TDI a year ago and this was my first detector, I did alot of research and I wanted one that I could use for finding gold nuggets and 2 use on the beach as well. I wanted one as well that I did not worry about wanting to upgrade later.

After I got it I must of found more junk and dug many holes between 2 to 3 feet deeb to only get a nail, wire,ect.. I went 4 months with no real finds (Gold nuggets) I became so upset out in the desert that I was tempted to toss it off the hillside I was on.. I contact and talked with Jim Sierra for over an hour and he schooked me on how to use it. well I'm hear to tell ya this TDI really works well once you learn how to use it and what to listen for.

I have found 4 penny weight gold nuggets along with many coins relics and even a 100 dollar poker chip both in the desert and here in Wash state. You must learn to listen to the weees and the whooos and what it means by the way you set it up.. Im very happy with it and the most amazing thing is the last time out there were other folks out using their detectors on the beach and shooting for nuggets and theirs did not even send a signal and I followed behind and found the largest nugget about 2 feet down...

Overall Rating 5 stars!

481

Submit your review for Whites TDI

Submit your tip for Whites TDI