Minelab Xterra 305

Minelab Xterra 305 Price: $500
Avg. Score: 4 stars 3.71
Based on 21 reviews

Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.33
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Minelab Xterra 305

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Makro Racer $650
Fisher F44 $400
Nokta FORS CoRe $699
Whites Sierra Super Trac $700

Love my 305

August 29, 2015
Bought my 305 second hand in mint condition..$300 three weeks ago. Has already payed for itself. Would recommend buying a pin pointer too.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
42

The best middle level out there

May 16, 2015
I have owned a 1100, 2200, 150, 250 and a F2. Those are great starter machines but they lack the ability to hone in on exactly what your looking for.
The 305 can adjust to meet any need you may have. I took my 305 to Phil Foster Park in Fla. Florida beaches have a Highly mineralized line right at the waters edge. Right where the sinkers are. Most low end detectors are no good there. But just ground balance and notch out Iron and the 305 is stable and picks out coins, sinkers and JEWELERY!!! I dug quarters at 12" in those areas. That is with the stock coil... I bought the NEL DD 18.75Khz and it seems to be more stable at higher sensitivity settings. It is a bit harder to learn but once you get the hang of it you will be hard pressed to find a better all around machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 12 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 3 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
83

Xterra 305

June 07, 2014
Also came to the 305 from a bounty hunter quick draw 2. Things I like:
The target ID screen
Pinpoint feature Coil variety
Comfort
Long battery life

Things I don't like:
No backlight
Depth meter Not very deep (for heavy mineralized soil) Pricy coils
Ground balance difficult in high mineral soil (WA state)
In test garden dimes would read up to 5 inches, quarters almost 6 but in both cases the target ID was off.
Ground balance at 3-4.

All in all I like it but the depth of my bounty hunter I feel was better by far. I have found less silver with my xterra 305. Had it for less than a year and already want to upgrade.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 6 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 3 stars
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, it's too complic
29

Most excellent.

December 17, 2012
Had the 305 for a good few months now. Got to say, Im highly impressed.
I swapped the concentric coil for a DD (still at 7. 5khz) and this has improved stability further. The 305 has excellent iron discrimination, which was something I needed.
The battery life is amazing and the machine is so light and well balanced, its a credit to minelab.
Very simple to use, unlike my explorer xs, its getting 5 from me and comes highly recommended.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

172

The Good, the Bad, and the MD.

December 02, 2012
I'm coming from a Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II to this Metal Detector, and this was an upgrade in several aspects!

++First, the digital number given (varying from -4 to 44) when detecting a target is, by far, better than an MD just indicating one of six or seven types of objects (Foil, Nickel, PT, Penny, Dime, Quarter, Dollar/Large Steel). Based on that number's consistency, one can determine if the signal is a reliable ID of a target. I have been able to correctly predict targets before digs at a rate much better than my old Bounty Hunter QDII.

++Secondly, the MD can have up to three audible tones or you can set it to give 99 tones (which might not be for a beginner), but you can really hear what's happening underground--if there's trash or if there's not. The Ground Balancing is easy to use and has been an asset that I can count on with each different type of site.

++Third, this detector does very well with detecting between several different targets in very close proximity. Trash, or no trash: that doesn't have to be a question. I have found many valuable finds through small groupings of nails right near the important target. This has been invaluable with my detecting through old farm sites where the nails are in abundance.

++Finally, phenomenal Battery Life! =D I've made several trips out with the same set of four AA batteries. My guess is that I've had upward of twenty hours over a period of two months on my first set. I have most of that recorded on video.

Now, I'll give some of the negatives and some comparisons to my old Bounty Hunter Quick Draw II.

--Depth is still at question. My Bounty Hunter was detecting small, coin-sized targets at around 12 inches at 75 percent sensitivity and the same sized coil as the X-Terra 305. The X-Terra 305 can only detect at 8-10 inches at max sensitivity. The only exception is large steel as deep as 12-14, since it puts out a better signal, but that isn't worth digging. Despite this, I'm still using the X-Terra 305 as my main detector.

--The balance of weight with this MD could be better. I'm running the standard 9" concentric coil and I'm not weak in the arms, but I still have some strain after a few hours of swinging this thing. This was not the issue with my Bounty Hunter.

--The plastic bolt that holds the coil to the shaft keeps coming loose as I accidentally bump things when I detect (grass, weeds, twigs, etc. ). I'm sure it's only a matter of time before I go to tighten the plastic wing nut on that bolt, and then it strips. A simple trip to the hardware store for a nylon bolt and nut will remedy this, but I think that should have been done on the production end. I'm not worried about the issue, but it would be rough if stripping that bolt were to happen in the middle of nowhere and ruin my dig time.

--The instruction manual sucks! The instructions only show a few pictures and just repeat the specifications of the detector--you may have to rely on the internet, YouTube videos, or an experienced friend to get better acquainted with this MD.

Overall, I'm very pleased with my X-Terra 305. I may upgrade, soon, to a Fisher F75 for an even greater variation in target ID, but I'm satisfied with how well this detector discriminates through the garbage. I hope this review was helpful! -Gunadigit-

Overall Rating 4 stars

173

PROUDLY ...MADE IN MALAYSIA. ??

July 26, 2012
Bought brand new one out of EBAY for friend of mine.. I own 4 other MD (Whites TM 808,Fisher CZ7a PRO, Garrett ACE 250 and Whites TDI) these never let me down.
I recommended this MD to my friend because we just want to try different brand that made from different country beside USA. Since it seems like Minelab brand were famous for very good gold machine and Very High Dollar price we though it got to be just good like other American Made Brand.

The Minelab Xterra 305 I had work just fine no complaint about its function so far BUT DISAPPOINTED on made material, it is so light, looks cheap, and fragile even the overall built quality its less than Garret ACE 250. Still cannot comparable with American Made Metal Detector or I shouldn't compare it.

YES myself live in Southeast Asia Country and we already had enough locally made electronic "JUNK" I just can't take and don't get it. why the Famous MINELAB produce their machine in third world country.

Overall Rating 3 stars

129

Construction

May 24, 2012
I own the minlab x-terra 705 and it has made me look like a genius. My friend just called me and wanted to get involved in detecting so I thought $400 for the 305 might be a good starter for her. After reading all the reviews, now I am not so sure. I even found a dime that was wedged in a tree and had grown over. Curiosity was killing me so I dug it out. The 705 was worth every dollar.

Overall Rating 4 stars

19

18.5kHz

March 27, 2012
I Emailed Minelab Australia after reading the below comments regarding the 305 not being able to run at 18. 5kHz. .

The response I got was pretty much. .

The x-terra 305 WILL run at 7. 5kHz and 18. 5kHz
Most dual mode or multi mode detectors require you to switch frequencies. with the 305 it detects the frequency of the coil ie. 7 or 18 and away you go. .

The X-terra series are pretty much switch it on and swing it detectors "though the 705 is rather more complicated.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

119

Minelab 305

March 16, 2012
Howdy all. I have a bounty hunter discovery 3300 bought 5 mths ago. The audio died today, so back to Texas under warranty. Not finding the good stuff, I got a 6mth old ace 350, still not getting the good stuff.

Went out with a forum member using an etrac. He also has a 305, which I shall be buying, but a new one. Pre decs here are deeper than my two machines will go, 6 inches plus, but the ground conditions are more the problem. Oh the manual gb on the bh stopped working properly after 2 months, the ace 350 is auto gb, not good enough here. Minelab made in Thailand etc ? Maybe, but I can guarantee most of the parts in your US built units are sourced from Asia too.

Overall Rating 4 stars

128

Very good detector

March 10, 2012
Light weight, good iron separation, target ID works fine. Lots of bells and whistles for a 400 dollar machine. This is not the piece of junk some of these people are posting on here. Learn the machine. All metal mode is where this machine shines. Hits really well on silver. Slow down your swing and cherry pick those coins. I have found many shield and V nickels, countless mercs and barber dimes using this detector. Its a keeper. My only complaint thus far would be the pinpoint button. Sometimes it sticks.

Overall Rating 4 stars

270

Submit your review for Minelab Xterra 305

Submit your tip for Minelab Xterra 305