Whites Coinmaster

Price: $180
Avg. Score: 4 stars 4.21
Based on 19 reviews
Helpful Tips: 1
Avg. Durability: 4 stars4.27
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!4.55
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Whites Coinmaster

Compare to ▼
Fisher F11 $159
Fisher F22 $230
Minelab GO-FIND 20 $180
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Bounty Hunter Lone Star Pro $199
Teknetics EuroTek $160

White's coinmaster

April 24, 2013
Great machine for the beginner once you learn how to use it.

Has good depth, in my opinion.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
121

Ring Magnet

August 09, 2012
Good starter machine, simple operation and display.

It's not the detector, it's the detectorist. We have a DFX and a Coinmaster. We've found more rings and jewelry with the Coinmaster because it's lighter and quicker to use.

Overall Rating 4 stars

93

Waste of cash

July 17, 2012
I bought the whites coinmaster metal detector to use as a hobby. Within the first month all I found for coins was 3 pennies and a dime. These coins were all after 1981. I also found a lot of nails and other junk. It takes about 5 minutes to assemble. The discrimination feature is poor, you cannot trust what it says on the screen. For me, it was always wrong. From the location to the depth and discrimination, it all failed.

My friend has a 50 dollar detector with no screen, his works just the same if not better than mine. There is nothing wrong with my machine, which makes me question the quality of white’s electronics. I would never recommend this to anyone. The detector costs somewhere around 180 dollars.

If you decide to return it (like me) you will have to pay for shipping and an additional 20 percent restocking fee. At first I thought I should keep it and live with the lack of quality, but then I figured it was better to lose 20 percent, than 100. Since you only have 30 days to decide it makes me wonder if the whole thing is a money sucking scam. If you are a rookie to this hobby I would recommend that you take a good look at this review before you consider purchasing the white’s coinmaster medal detector. I would rate this detector 5 of 10.

Overall Rating 1 star

3438

Good Detector for the money.:

March 04, 2012
I already have a couple of higher end detectors, but couldn't resist buying an almost new Coinmaster just to see how good it really was. My area is fairly mineralized so I wasn't expecting much depth and to make the cheese more binding I took it to an area where EMI gives my two higher end detectors absolute fits.
Upon trying the Coinmaster out in that spot, it only needed the sensitivity dropped two or three notches to handle the EMI with ease and while it only found coins down to five inches, that is all the deeper I've ever found any coins at that site no matter what detector I used.

Some people say they have trouble pin-pointing the Coinmaster, but I suspect that is because they don't use a hand held pin-pointer and there is a secret to properly pinpointing with the Coinmaster. First is cut way back on your sensitivity when having trouble pin-pointing. Then "X" the spot with the coil, very carefully listening to where you get the highest sound from each direction. With practice your target should be located inside the inner edge of the inner circle of your coil, especially if also using a hand held pin-pointer.

If wondering if a target is trash or a penny, try notching out everything except the last disc. notch, then when you have a target jumping back and forth between your highest trash setting and lowest penny setting, try notching out your highest trash setting. If you are still getting a penny reading, chances are it really is a penny. When getting a dime or quarter signal, try lowering your sensitivity reading when pin-pointing to also determine the size of your target as some trash depending on their metal content will read just like a dime or quarter except for it's size.

All of this will take time to learn, so give yourself a chance to learn the in's and out's of the Coinmaster. The one feature I don't like about the Coinmaster is being unable to notch "in" just nickels, while notching "out" everything else on each side of it. I did try air testing the Coinmaster on a very small child's 10 karat gold ring and it was hitting on the ring at 7" which is outstanding and it rang up exactly where it should have at the "Foil and Ring" setting or just below the nickel setting.

Overall I'd give the Coinmaster a (5) star rating as an entry level detector because of how well it worked in a very difficult location.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

564

Review

January 12, 2012
Received coinmaster as Christmas gift. Having a great time with my new hobby. Already found almost $20 dollars in change and an 1858 penny 8 inches down, also went to beach and found a piece of white gold off of a necklace. No problems so far. Great buy for the money. Looking forward to my next outing.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

241

Whites coinmaster

December 25, 2011
Had this about 6 months. Good value for money and good depth, but the pinpointing lets it down, already had it back to whites for ground balance issue - but was returned to me doing exactly the same thing. Cant really complain for the price tho.

Overall Rating 4 stars

711

Nice detector

May 02, 2011
It is a solid detector. Works great on land and in the dry sand, not the best in wet sand. Have found many coins with it and hits targets at about 7"

Overall Rating 4 stars

381

Newby-1st Detector

September 10, 2010
Had a friend that has a Whites. Reviewed an Ace 250 and the Coinmaster. Bought the Coinmaster and I am very happy. From research it appears that the Coinmaster is really a Prizm 3 with different color housing to attract the first timers away from Garrett. I've only been out 3 times & found old dimes, pennies, nickels, and some nails. Better spots will improve things! For the $ it's the best out there!

Overall Rating 4 stars

611

Great detector at the price

July 18, 2010
This is a solid detector for the money. We prefer it to the similar priced Garret Aces. Lightweight, easy to learn and use, easy pinpointing, long battery life. We take it out hunting with a White's DFX and it holds its own.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

728

Submit your review for Whites Coinmaster

Submit your tip for Whites Coinmaster