Teknetics Delta 4000

Teknetics Delta 4000 Price: $280
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.63
Based on 19 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.91
Avg. Ease of use: 5 stars!5.00
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Teknetics Delta 4000

Compare to ▼
Garrett Ace 400 $399
Whites TreasureMaster Pro $399
Minelab GO-FIND 40 $230
Fisher F22 $230
Whites TreasureMaster $299
Minelab GO-FIND 60 $310

Seems to be a good one.

April 09, 2017
I'm new to this game, and this wasn't recommended for a beginner, but I wanted something that I wouldn't grow out of any time soon. So far, I'm not doing badly with this unit at all. I'm learning quit a bit fairly quickly, finding things already.

I notched out zinc, but it keeps telling me that zinc pennies are nickels. Haven't quite figured that one out yet, but for the most part, if it says it's a dime, it's a dime, and a quarter, it's a quarter. Of course, finding junk too. (Aluminum cans at 14 inches) Lead pipe came up a solid half dollar. I'll get the hang of it. I'm learning that most of these little "glitches" are from my own ignorance, so I really think that this is a pretty good machine.

I'll be updating later after a few months to see how it works for me long term, but as far as I can tell, it's going to work out just fine.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
41

Delta 4000 2015 edition on upgrade

August 13, 2016
This machine is awesome once you have a decent coil, I found that as soon as I put my eurotekpro 8" concentric I gained 3"s of depth and a much sharper separation. Once you fit the 11"DD or any aftermarket coil, the detector goes deep!

Over iron the eurotekpro excels, but hasn't got the depth of the Delta, I own the G2+ and in discrim it has similar depths, once you master the tones, smooth edged tones dig! Crackle tone same tid number don't dig its junk!

Obviously in all metal the G2+ detroys the delta by an extra 10 inches in depth, but 6 to 8 inches is great on any detector in allmetal.
The separate sensitivity on the 3 modes is a brilliant feature, also getting a tid number in the allmetal modes is a feature that most md.s do not have. If they were to put fetone and memory on the delta it would crush the competition in their yellow colours.

The new relocated coil socket and rubber stopper on the one headphone socket, the bonus for me being lefthanded is that the socket is on the left side still. The new scrolling I.D. number is now displayed when starting the delta like the new O8500 and G2+ and is a rolling change throughout the first texas range of detectors.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? I have no clue...
20

Great detector!!!

June 10, 2016
I picked up the Teknetics Delta 4000 after starting with an Fisher F2 and all I can say is what a machine! It gets down deep and has excellent discrimination and pinpointing, have to use it for a while to get the tones down and learn the machine. Only complaint is that EMI can throw it off if your around power lines/cell towers etc. Just lower the sensitivity to help with this problem. It's pretty easy to use with 2 menus to adjust and has the target ID numbers and tone.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 10 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Excellent starter !

February 06, 2016
The Teknetics Delta4000 is my first metal detector and I'm hooked! On my trial run with it in a ghost town, first find was a .32 cartridge at 8" Manufactured in the 1870's. Still getting used to the number system, but every signal so far has produced. Terrific fun, lightweight, and very easy to use.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
50

Love, love love , this machine

May 09, 2015
I bought my Delta 4000 used at the end of last summer after using three different Bounty Hunter units. Although my BH machines taught me a great deal and found many treasures, the Tek Delta 4000 took my hunting to a whole new level.
I went back to most of my spots and found many good treasures my other machines completely missed. This machine hits deep and sniffs out the TINIEST targets. It LOVES coins and rings. If they're there, this unit will find them.

The menu is so simple any child can operate it. The pinpoint feature is also excellent. Every target I dig is almost always dead center in the hole. This makes it easy to cut and replace a nice clean plug almost every time. The target ID, depth indicator and VDI is very good and excellent as far as coins go.
It's tough, weighs almost nothing and runs off of only one 9V battery that lasts and lasts (up to 20 hours). You can swing this thing all day long and never get tired or need to stop and replace the battery.

It has an excellent notch feature, the discrimination works very well and it has two headphone jacks, 1/8" and 1/4". There's no need for any headphone adapters. I highly recommend this detector to anyone looking for a good solid, high performance, reliable machine that won't cost you an arm and a leg. You won't find a better machine in this price range.
They definitely hit a home run when they created this little gem. I plan to use mine for many years to come.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
110

First silver

March 11, 2015
Today was the first time that I could detect comfortability. I was trying my newly purchased delta 4000 and it is right on. I found my very first silver coin at about six inches down, I couldn't believe it, very accurate if you set the machine up right. I have owned one other detector so I can't really compare models but the delta teknetics 4000 appears to be a good detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 9 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
81

Teknetics 4000

February 18, 2015
Just got my detector Monday and it snowed but I was determined to give it a try after a few hours of checking out the controls I was ready found a few old pull tabs and a shut off valve and then I went to my front yard after adjusting my detector I started beside a side walk and got a good signal about five inches deep was a quarter and the detector said it was a quarter I am hooked good detector you just have to be patient and fell it out.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
80

Delta 4000

July 21, 2014
I must give the delta 4000 5 stars and 5 stars as well for the money. I have owned a great variety of detectors and I still go back to the delta 4000. It is very on point with the depth as well with the vdi. I would take this detector with me on any hunt just as well as a contest or etc....... I give it a 5 star raring, yes there are over priced detectors that the delta 4000 will do just the same and in a lot of cases do better at the price.

So for the people who hesitate on buying the delta 4000 and go with the 750.00 brand I truly believe your making a mistake. The delta 4000 will do and find the same thing as the 750.00 machine.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 11 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
133

Great price, great detector!

May 30, 2014
I bought the Tek Delta 4000 as a 'buddy' machine or a backup to my White's MX5 not really considering that it would be more than a machine to hand to my girlfriend or a friend to use to join in the fun. While I wouldn't use it to replace my MX5, I must say I was VERY impressed at how well this little affordable machine performed. I would have no problem using this detector if I had to send my main machine in for service, or found myself without my MX5.

I only had one other machine in it's price range which was an Ace 250. Kept it 3 days before I returned it. Despite all the love for the Ace 250, I did not like it at all. There ARE alternatives to the ubiquitous Ace 250 in it's price range that are a much better detecting experience than the mighty yellow Ace, and the Tek delta is it. Much better VDI because of the numeric scale than the Ace's block target ID, better balanced and aesthetically it's a sexier detector (IMHO) than the Ace. (I know, looks don't matter but they do to me).

In the right soil, it is VERY sensitive and impressively deep. Fast recovery speed too. Much faster than the Ace, which is one the the reasons I returned it. The Tek can false a lot, especially on the left/right side of your swing but the trick is to listen closely for the repeatable tones and examine the tone closely by sweeping the coil over it in all 4 directions and make sure it's repeatable before you decide to dig. If not sure, dig!

I usually run mine at sens. 10 (2 above stock). Sometimes it's so sensitive I have to sweep the coil 1/2" or so above the ground because of the false signals but that can be overcome with some practice. Quarters sound like manhole covers with this little machine. I have to sometimes raise the coil up literally 6-7" inches off the ground to pinpoint a surface or shallower quarter. Thats a GOOD thing.
Operates in 3 modes - discrimination and 2 all-metal modes that still retain the target ID. See if the Ace will do that. Also VCO pinpointing is very good. VCO on a $250 machine? Yep. The Teknetics has got it. It's lightweight, agile and provides a ton of power.

I've found very deep dimes for a unit at this price. 7-8" on a dime with a solid ID is not unheard of. The 5 year warranty is great too. All in all, having the low/mid end Tek makes me wonder how the higher end Omega 8000 or T2's perform over my main MX5 machine. I know they're lighter. Maybe next year I'll part with my MX5 and look into a high-end Teknetics. I was that impressed.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 4 stars
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
185

Teknetics delta 4000

March 27, 2014
I don't know if I have an exceptional machine or if my soil conditions are perfect for this machine, but I get a lot more depth from this machine than any reviews give it credit for. I just dug a small brass ball button last weekend that was a solid 10-12 inches deep, and the signal was unmistakable. Most of my finds are 6-8 inches deep and you can see some of my digs live on you tube under the channel "I Dig History".

I just started this hobby in November of 2013 and have some outstanding finds. This detector is very easy to operate, and in my opinion is the perfect detector for a beginner that does not want to invest too much money in a detector.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
121

Submit your review for Teknetics Delta 4000

Submit your tip for Teknetics Delta 4000