Fisher Gold Bug Pro

Fisher Gold Bug Pro Price: $700
Avg. Score: 5 stars! 4.91
Based on 11 reviews

Avg. Durability: 5 stars!4.60
Avg. Ease of use: 4 stars4.40
Maximum detection depth

Submit your review for Fisher Gold Bug Pro

Compare to ▼
Nokta FORS Gold $699
Garrett AT Gold $800
Fisher Gold Bug DP $750
Fisher Gold Bug (new) $550
Minelab Eureka Gold $1000
Whites Gold Master GMT $800

First machine

July 23, 2017
I wanted a machine for gold and beaches, so I bought the machine in 2014, now in 2017 the machine has found enough coins/jewelry to pay for it. I love this beast, the weight on it is just right for my crooked shoulder and back. The depth is okay, depth 6" in dirt for a coin. On sands it could reach 8" easy on a 20c coin. Btw I live in Australia so it could be different depth to some ground. I like the machine's ID and tone difference to hint me what sort of metals are there. Discrimination is 5/5 for me. For gold nuggets, I am yet to discover my first gold nuggets, but it does pick up a test piece of 0.3g when at 1-2cm I am happy for a machine that can discriminate.

They should have a back light on this machine for night hunting, but I got some clip on light for this matter. If fisher waterproof this machine and I would buy it for next summer.

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
00

Dp 4 me!

December 16, 2015
I have owned two Tesoros, two older gold bugs, and a Garrett A/T Gold. I was out with a friend who owns a Fisher Gold Bug 2. I had my Garrett A/T Gold. He was hitting targets that mine was not. I found a deal on A Fisher DP Gold Pro. Next time out I was hitting targets his could not pick up. I am thru looking for the right detector The Fisher Gold Bug Pro DP is an excellent machine!

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
63

Fisher gold bug pro

March 14, 2015
Very fast Nice display Easy to use and learn Very tight ID Strong on nickels gold jewelry.

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 18 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 5 stars!
Would you recommend this to a new user? Yes, absolutely!
56

For trashy ground !

January 15, 2015
The thing with the goldbug dp is that if you are in extreme trashy areas use your eyes and ears together and take it really slow. Listen to the duck farts they are promising sounds, also follow the screen there will show up high numbers in a blink of a eye that you cant hear. My settings for xtreme trash:
Sens max 75,
Disk about 32.
I promise you that you will pick up targets in the trashiest ground! If you are on quieter ground go hardcore. Sens:
Full power,
Disk zero.
With those settings make yourself ready to dig deep holes!

Overall Rating 5 stars!
Durability 5 stars!
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
512

Finally, I like it!

June 16, 2013
I have been waiting almost two years to decide if I would love it or hate it. Well, I finally decided to keep it, but the unit was saved from selling by the acquisition of the 5" coil. Since the day I have used this smaller coil, I just left it on the detector and do not use the 11"DD any more.

The smaller coil gets coins up to 8+ inches, is very sensitive, and does NOT suffer from the BOTTLECAPS issue. What more is, it is an ideal coil to look through heavily iron infested sites. Due to the excellent discrimination system, it is an ideal "cherry-picker", so if you're a coin hunter, and your sites are infested with aluminium trash and iron, this detector will do the job very well.

I have got an issue (dirt behind the screen), but overall I am (now) satisfied with my purchase. Max depth below concerns the 5" coil HH Pap'

Depth on a coin Depth Max Depth: 8 inches on US quarter

Overall Rating 4 stars
Durability 3 stars
Ease of Use 4 stars
Would you recommend this to a new user? No, not really.
511

Coin hunter

March 11, 2013
Just got my GB Pro and mate does it love the coins! 30 odd bucks at a couple of schools with plenty more to hunt! Besides that I can't wait to take it on a nugget hunt which is the whole reason I got it, just thought people should know that it is a great coin shooter and eats coins all day long. Easy to use and I'm a beginner.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

151

Super reliable machine

July 10, 2012
I am super happy with the Gold Bug Pro DP and have utmost confidence in its reading. It picks up small targets deep for a vlf machine. It is a better coin shooter and relic hunter than some of the newer multi-purpose machines on the market. It consistently registers a target at both slower and faster sweeps, not 4 out of 6 sweeps like some other detectors on the market.
Great in both discrimination and all metal modes. Fisher backs up this product with a 5 yr warranty when other big brands only offer 2 year warranty. Best bang for your buck IMHO.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

292

Gold bug pro

March 12, 2012
The best hands down on the beach 5 pieces of gold on the beach in 5 days my friend has the AT PRO nothing in the same 5 days it cant be luck (5 DAYS 5 STARS)

Overall Rating 5 stars!

1812

GB Pro

February 01, 2012
I have many metal detectors –Garrets 350, Whites, Minelab X-Terra 305 all which are superseded the Gold Bug Pro with the exception of my Garret Sea Hunter MK11 for beach searching.
I have searched a park a few times with all these other MD but now have found anything close to what the Gold Bug Pro has found.
I’m don’t care who says what I have been detecting for a while now and know how to use a MD and the Gold Bug is tops it can go deep.
Any way this is only mans opinion.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

359

F75 in sheep's clothing?

December 15, 2011
I owned an F75 for about 2 years and found many civil war relics with her but hard times broke us apart! But then things got better so I decided to buy another one. But the price was not in my budget anymore. So I took a chance and purchased a Gold Bug DP for around $400 less than a new F75. After finding many relics with it at the same depth as the F75 and the same great ID as the F75 I will be honest I can't really tell the difference! Oh yea there is a difference it's $400 cheaper. I recommend this detector if you want an F75 but can't swing the $1100 price tag.

Overall Rating 5 stars!

407

Submit your review for Fisher Gold Bug Pro

Submit your tip for Fisher Gold Bug Pro